We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We always stay at the Shearwater Inn when in Lincoln City. They really treat you as personal guests. From the front desk staff to the service staff. Several we recognize from years past and they are always very friendly.

The Shearwater Inn is in a great location, right on the "D" River, next to Kyllo's Restaurant, just blocks from the town area, and the beach is accessible right out the front door.

While the Shearwater Inn has seasonal rates, just like other hotels, the value you will receive for the price is well worth it.

They also go out of their way to welcome pets in select rooms. And our pup got her own basket with towels, furniture cover, water bowl, and food bowl.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    168
    22
    12
    11
See reviews for
129
504
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The Shearwater has some very nice features, a wine social between 5:30 and 6:30 pm and it is only about a 100 yard walk to the beach, but through a parking lot. Also, another hotel directly in front of you interferes with the ocean view just enough to be annoying. Our room was not very large, but was comfortable. The staff was helpful; the breakfast that is delivered to your room is basic, but tasty. The beach is plenty wide enough and stretches well to the north. There is a descent restaurant across the parking lot just above the beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a high up room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our stay was wonderful. We stayed on a much needed weekend getaway. We also brought our 6 month old puppy. All of the staff was absolutely amazing, very friendly. We were greeted with a very warm welcome. There was a basket in our room for our puppy. We brought my husbands truck, it's quite big, and had a bit of a hard time finding somewhere to park it. Next time we will bring my, smaller, car. The parking lot is not very big and really meant for smaller cars. I was surprised when we entered the room how stuffy it was. This is an older building so there was no air conditioner in the room. At first I was disappointed by this but after opening the sliding door the breeze from the beach quickly filled the room. We left the sliding door open all night partly for the fresh air but also to listen to the ocean. It really was a wonderful stay for us. I have read other reviews complaining that it isn't right on the beach. There is a building behind this building, but we did have a view of the beach and it is a short walk to get to the sand. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our stay was very nice. We stayed for our anniversary and we had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room when we arrived. Nice touch. We stayed on the top floor, so the view was awesome. They had a new TV system, so there were some troubles with getting the TV to work, but she came up right away to fix the problem. I imagine once they get more familiar with their new TV provider, this won't be a problem. It was clean, nice convenient in location to shops in town, the beach and places to eat, including Kyllo's which is next door, however, I felt it was a bit spendy. Good, but spendy.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor so you can't go wrong with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A group of us were traveling across the US recently and happened upon the Lincoln City area by day's end. Being that it was the high tourism period, and this area was obviously bustling with tourists, we were skeptical about finding a room on the beach as we had hoped. We decided to check the price/availability at this hotel, and WOW! am I glad we did!

There were 4 of us, and we were offered quite literally the last room available. The desk clerk almost seemed apologetic when she said the last room had 2 separate bedrooms with a common area for which she offered at a substantially lower price than normal. It was located within about 30 steps to the beach sand, so we accepted without hesitation. We were then offered complimentary glasses of wine as they do wine tasting each evening (nice touch).

Upon walking in the room we were just blown away! This wasn't a hotel room, it was more like a 2 bedroom condo! The rooms were split at opposite ends with a FULL kitchen and a living room w/fireplace in the middle. Each room had a king bed and there was a separate full bathroom at one end. The master room had its own bathroom and stand-a-lone jacuzzi bathtub as well as a private balcony. There was a second balcony attached to the living room which provided an outstanding ocean view.

Everything was immaculately clean and there were even complimentary bath robes. There were gas stations and a grocery store within 2 miles, and there was a very nice restaurant literally next door to the hotel. The parking was mostly covered beneath the hotel's entrance which made for good wind/ocean spray protection overnight.

During our 15 days of travel, this was perhaps the nicest hotel stay we experienced! If your budget allows and your travel group calls for it, request one of the 2 bedroom rooms at the end of each floor- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony&Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

After my wife's successful bone marrow transplant, we wanted to celebrate her challenging recovery, as well as our 26th year anniversary and her 60th birthday at our favorite hotel in Lincoln City. Our great stay began with making the reservation with Cindy who was determined to make our stay special, which she did. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne and a basket of treats with a Happy Anniversary note in our room. Room was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was delivered on time and delightful. We are looking forward to or next stay at the Shearwater Inn. Thank you, Cindy, for remembering us and taking care of us and making our stay special, again!

Room Tip: Top floor, south end has best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMurak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Shearwater Inn is one of our favorite places to get away from it all. We've been coming here since it was the Odyssius. Lovely continental breakfast delivered to your door, fun wine social, and a really comfortable king bed!! Staff is great -- we enjoy seeing Danny whenever we are staying there.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean. We love the two bedroom, two bath units when we have the whole f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emjbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
2.8 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Property: Shearwater Inn
Address: 120 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3131 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shearwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious suites, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing