We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Aching Back!”
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Although the hotel, lobby and social areas are nicely appointed, the rooms do not warrant the prices charged. My wife and I travel many times yearly and we have seldom if ever encountered a worse bed. The double bed, with fine linens to be fair, consisted of a wire frame mattress thinly covered by cotton padding. We are not large people (300 lbs combined weight) but we awoke both mornings miserable from a tortured night sleep, trying to get comfortable on this medieval torture device! My wife thinks every room comes with a jetted tub, so that you can try to soak away your miserable backs, shoulders and hips. If you advertise yourself as a "luxury" hotel, shouldn't that include a decent bed? Advice: stay elsewhere for less and get some real rest.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwirlPortland_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindiTaylor, General Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2010

The value of a guest's comments on their experience is invaluable!! And so very much appreciated. Thank you!!! After receiving the Comment Card left behind, I checked the bed myself and sure enough, not up to our standards. The bed has been replaced with the Top of the Line Serta (not available at the retail level). These are the mattresses used throughout the property. We constantly purchase new furniture as necessary. My parents built the hotel and maintain the philosophy that if you need it, get it. And, while I attempt to spend a night in each of our guest rooms myself, it isn't always accomplished. THANK YOU for your comments and for your help in making certain that we remain Lincoln City's luxury hotel. Most Sincerely, Cindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night and found our room to be very relaxing! The bed was so comfortable. It faced the balcony and it was so nice to have our sliding door open to hear the ocean, as well as have our fireplace going. My wife was so relaxed so slept for 10 hours! The continental breakfast delivered to your room was a very nice touch! They also have a wine social in the evenings which we missed but when we arrived the host graciously offered us a few glasses of wine upon our arrival. It was very sweet! I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymanseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This is a lovely, pet friendly hotel. I was especially impressed at the welcome we, and our pet, received upon check-in and during the entire stay. The staff was so personable and accommodating, the room was very nice,comfortable and clean. The building was well constructed and we heard very little of our neighbors. The only drawback is the location.....although there is a wonderful ocean view, the nearby properties are very close and at night there was much noise from the beach......sporadic fireworks (sounded like gunshots) every night. Still, this is a place that stands out......feels more like a B&B than a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We found this hotel based on Tripadvisor recommendation and were not disappointed. The staff was marvelous and went over and above in making us feel comfortable. The room as very comfortable and homey. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank molson30324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to the coast for 2 nights and would defintely recommend this hotel to others. The turn down service, robes and slippers were a nice touch that you would only expect from a more upscale hotel. The room was clean and spacious with a fireplace and even though we were only on the 2nd floor, we still had a view of the ocean. When we asked for a recommenation on a good restaurant, several options were given to us and they made the reservation for us as well. They also have a binder with menus of many restaurants in town to help you decide. This is a great little hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Djones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Got a great rate $130 midweek for a $225 room. Family owned so they can deal. Children under 12 not allowed. No pool or work out room.

Hotel very nice and very clean. Room was a bit small - only a queen bed. No refrigerator or microwave. Good ocean view from upper floors (3 to 5). Turn down service, robes, and slippers. Nightly wine reception in lobby. I think they are trying to be upscale and are succeeding somewhat. Bed was very noisy - creaked whenever you turned over - made sleeping difficult. TV was not good as some channels (HBO for example) were very snowy - desk clerk said that's just the way they are in the hotel. I would think this was unacceptable for a hotel. Breakfast is delivered to your room but is pretty sparse and only three options. Room was quiet but the hotel was very empty so can't say how it will be when busy. No air conditioning in rooms so mid summer could be a problem.

I would probably stay there again if I got a good rate. The staff was exceptionally courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upperlimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

Odysius Hotel, Lincoln City

We loved our stay at the Odysius in Lincoln City!!! They pamper you with ocean view rooms (although you do see a parking lot, the run down hotel next door, and the roof of a restaurant) and several other special amenities for a small boutique hotel. We got a room w/ balcony for $195. They have an early evening social hour with complimentary wine and hor'd'euvres, and they bring you breakfast in bed (also included in the room price). The staff were so nice to us (and not snobby), and really made it a relaxing stay.

We met some guests at the social hour that normally stay at other places across the street, and they said the prices had gone up plenty at the other places to be comparable to the Odysius...yet Odysius has so many more niceties. This hotel was definitely a worthwhile treat! Highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midwestcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
1.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,190 reviews
2.8 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,415 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
1.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Address: 120 Inlet Court, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3131 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range: £78 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shearwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious rooms, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing