We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn At Spanish Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn At Spanish Head
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon City, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Breathtaking view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

We had a great time. We stayed on the 9th floor and walking in to the room the view was breathtaking! I think the 9th floor might be the best because you don't have to get on the elevator with your bags. One floor up to the restaurant and the elevator down to walk on the beach--or sit in the hot tub. The only complaint I can come up with is that the restaurant needs a good Shrimp Louie or Crab Louie. We didn't leave the complex the whole weekend, just parked the car and stayed.

  • Liked — the spectacular view
  • Disliked — No crab louie
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PetuniaOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    109
    30
    34
    25
See reviews for
86
199
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

All the rooms have beautiful oceanfront views with access to the beach, and if the beach alone is why you come to Lincoln City, it's great. The room is set up with all intentions to be like a timeshare; however, the furniture was from the 70's, the lamp was broken, and the kitchen didn't have the usual amenities and was understocked. The setup of furniture was a little odd, and perhaps due to its proximity to the ocean it was a little musty smelling. With young kids, there isn't much within walking distance and the parking is difficult enough that you wish you could have just walked to town. The restaurant is straight from the 70's, but we had a great waiter who was very considerate and gracious.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peili2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

I booked the room based on reputation and the outstanding beach location of this hotel. And yes, the location is tremendous. The hotel is literally on the beach, backed up against and build up the sea cliff.

For the price paid, the experience was very dissapointing. The room had a smell to it. Not a good one either. It appears that apart from a curved shower rod in the bathroom, no upgrades have taken place in 10-15 years. The carpet was gross. Everything was dated.

The "not kept up" appearance extended to all areas. The restaurant and lounge were like stepping back into the 80's.

The most I would pay to stay here again would be $90/night. Anything beyond that is a rip-off.

  • Liked — Great ocean view from balcony. Quite possibly the best you'll find on the Oregon coast.
  • Disliked — Dated, kind of dirty, and run down.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

We had big expectations for this hotel: it's on the beach, rooms are 2 room suites with a kitchen, and it has great photos on its website. Be aware: the units are individually owned and no 2 are the same. Ours had very dated furniture and a mildewy smell that my husband blamed on the oceanfront location. I think the room was just poorly maintained.

This was our first hotel stop after 3 nights of camping so we were looking forward to using the laundry room that I had researched on the website. Unfortunately it was closed for repairs, as was the exercise room. This was never mentioned when we booked the hotel.

The restaurant was okay, although it seemed like a dolled up Denny's. The view is wonderful though. Also, the view from the rooms and the beach access are great. That aside, we'll never stay here again.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVRam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

My wife and I stayed there for a night after as a treat after visiting her Mom, who lives on the coast. When I stepped into the lobby I was taken aback at the great view of the coast. The whole hotel has a really bright and clean look to it.

We were very impressed with the room we stayed in. It was much better than many of the older (furnished and decorated in the early 80's) look that many of the inns on the Oregon Coast have.

The rooms are really expensive during the summer, but they really drop their prices down for the fall and winter. Great weekend get away.

  • Liked — I had no complaints at all
  • Disliked — Great view, and a new, clean room.
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Oregonian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
My Own Private Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We were not sure what to expect from this Inn after reading reviews that said it was like playing Russian roullette to get a good room here, because its privately owned units. We also had to pay for the room immediatly because thats the policy for one night stays. It was a lot more money than we usually pay but from the description we thought it would be worth it.
Well we had a wonderful room on the 7th floor 722& 723. It was clean, nicely decorated. Had recently been updated too. We rented a studio and a suite. They were connected with a beautiful kitchenette and sitting area inbetween. The view was amazing! Since it was the fourth of July we also got to watch the fireworks from our balcony and in my 7 years olds case the living room. The beach was filled with people who had come to watch the fireworks and they all lit campfires and a few minutes before the big show there was a singing of the National Anthem all down the beach! I wish we could have spent more time there it was wonderful to fall asleep with the ocean waves in our ears.

the only downside I should mention is the staff at the bar a resturant didnt treat us well. Room service closes early, 9:00 P.M. but the lady at the front desk said if we went up to the lounge they would let us order food to go to take back to our room. The lounge staff didnt agree with this and the bartender and hostess got rude with my sister in Law especially when he saw she had the coupon for a free appetizer in her hand. I think maybe they were cranky because they had to work on the 4th. They claimed to not even have "to go" containers in their resturant!

  • Liked — The Veiw
  • Disliked — The Price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy2U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

We were staying at a timeshare down the coast and decided to celebrate our anniversary with dinner and wine in Lincoln City . Since we did not want to drive back to the timeshare late that night, I booked a mid-week internet rate at the Inn at Spanish Head for one night. It turned out to be a real treat.
While chatting with the desk clerk at check-in, the subject of our anniversary came up and she immediately said"let me see if I can find you and better room and I would love to send you a complimentary bottle of champagne."
The upgraded room was perfect. Dead center facing the ocean.
The bedding and linens were great as well as the bath products.
I would definitely stay here again even at a non-mid week rate.

  • Liked — ocean front location
  • Disliked — nothing to speak of
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.6 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
3.4 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#10 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Spanish Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Spanish Head

Property: Inn At Spanish Head
Address: 4009 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#12 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn At Spanish Head, Lincoln City, is Oregon's only resort hotel built right on the beach. All guest and meeting rooms are oceanfront with floor-to-ceiling windows for spectacular views. Our 10th floor oceanfront restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a seasonal Sunday champagne brunch. Room service is also available. While visiting, enjoy our outdoor heated pool, indoor Jacuzzi spa and recreation room. There is easy access to miles of Oregon's beautiful, public beaches and fascinating tide pools are close by. We are located on the central Oregon coast where you will find a world-class aquarium, numerous golf course, hiking, deep-sea fishing, whale watching, birding, galleries, museums, shopping, surfing, live theatre and many more attractions and activities. Come stay in the middle of it all at the Inn At Spanish Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn At Spanish Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Spanish Head Hotel Lincoln City
Hotel At Spanish Head
The Inn At Spanish Head
Spanish Head Inn
At Spanish Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing