We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“41 year old hotel with great views, but need to set your expectations first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn At Spanish Head
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Spanish Head recently on a whim during a road trip up the Oregon coast. The last time we stayed there was over 20 years ago, so we were excited to see how the place had changed. Of course, over the years we had changed too, our tastes in food/wine and hotels.

Before you book a room at this hotel, you must realize that it still has great views of the ocean, but given that the hotel was built in the late 1960s, it won't be on par with some newer hotels built with better amenities. Yes, the rooms are looking a bit dated and the balconies are made of poured concrete. But, the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the staff very helpful.

The restaurant really isn't very good, the food is expensive and is not what I would consider healthy cuisine. A lot of heavy sauces, meat and nothing really that good for you. An example dish was a seafood "medley" with pasta and cream sauce. For the price, I would expect some fettucine (or equivalent) to be lightly coated with cream sauce, formed into a nest for the fresh seafood. Instead, the huge bowl was full of a "soup" of cream sauce, pasta and some type of seafood. Everything tasted like cream sauce. The grilled salmon with a chipotle-fruit sauce came with roasted red potatoes and asparagus, but the sauce drenched everything on the plate, so it all tasted the same. The wine list is usable, with a private hotel bottling from Eola Hills winery actually quite good and priced reasonably.

In our one night at the hotel, we were kept up most of the night by noisy neighbors all around us, even after I asked many times for a quiet room. We probably just had bad timing since graduations were happening and I think the kids thought it would be great to party at the Inn. Hotel security got things quieted down at 2am. The hotel manager apologized in the morning and gave us a gift certificate for a future stay.

On a stormy Oregon day, this hotel cannot be beat. You can sit out on the balcony and watch the ocean below you, wrapped in a blanket, sipping a beverage. Just make sure to set your expectations about everything else so you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauloregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2009

This was our second visit and we had asked to be in the same room as the year before. They accommodated the request and even put a bottle of apple cider in the room welcoming back my friends 7 year old daughter by name. She was thrilled! not only did we get the same "princess" apartment, but "how did they know I was coming?" Was very impressed with this touch.

The room was very clean and kept up nicely. The view can not be beat. We missed brunch this year but last year it was phenomenal. The staff at the front desk is acceptable. Nothing to rock your world, but no complaints either. I think that after the service I received over the phone and the extra added touch with the cider, i was expecting more from the desk. The dining room and maintenance staff are very pleasant and helpful.

We would return this year but they do not have the same rate special as last year so are trying a new place up the road. If you can get the right price, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I booked directly with the Inn at Spanish Head after reading mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. I told the clerk precisely what I was interested in (one of the suites shown on their website) and we were booked into exactly the suite requested (room 533). Our four days and three nights on the ocean couldn't have been better. The suite was spacious, clean & charming. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, rather we cooked dinner in the well-stocked kitchen. The staff was helpful and friendly, the bellman wouldn't hear of us carrying our own luggage. The valet parking is complimentary but there is safe passage under the highway for those who choose to park their own cars.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BG_Traveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

I booked online last week and then read the shaky reviews so worried what it would be like! There were things in the review like mildewy room, poor service at the restaurant, etc. Well, I was so pleasantly surprised and relieved. It was a great room with a fabulous view and quiet and peaceful...just what I needed for this week. The service at Fathoms both in the bar with the appetizers and a lovely view of the ocean and at the restaurant for breakfast was perfect. Everyone was friendly and prompt and lighthearted. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonetraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We had won a free night's stay in (per the certificate) "a Deluxe Oceanfront Bedroom with balcony ... champagne upon arrival ...and two free breakfasts." Sounds great, doesn't it? And their website and pictures all look oh-so-romantic. So we booked our free night and also decided to splurge (since even with the mid-week 50% off rate, the room was by no means inexpensive) and stay another night as well. After all, the place looked so nice, right? NOT! The first thing we found upon arrival is that you can't even park near the hotel (yes, they offer valet parking, but all the parking spaces are across the highway from the hotel) We got the key to our DELUXE room and took the elevator to the fifth floor. We then had to walk through a bunch of remodeling going on (including a nasueating smell of glue and old carpet), walk walk walk to get to our room. We opened the door, expecting a beautiful, romantic, spacious room. Surprise! Nothing beautiful, romantic or spacious about it. The room was really small, cramped, with a small television propped on a table in a location where a person could not possibly see it from the bed at all. There was a balcony as advertised, but it looked very diry and had dirty white plastic chais on it. The room didn't face the main part of the ocean but faced to the side, with a side view of the ocean, but mostly of huge piles of driftwood. Not attractive at all. There was barely enough room to even get around the bed to get to the balcony, not that I would have wanted to go out on it anyway. Yes, there was a bottle of champagne in the room - warm, sitting out on the counter.

We were so shocked, we couldn't believe this was any sort of "deluxe" room. We went back to the front desk and asked. Sure enough, the associate pulled out a card and showed us that our room was the more "basic" of the three types they have. We asked to look at a room that was a step up from ours. It was a Wednesday so they weren't too busy, so we got keys to two of the "studio" rooms and went to look at them. Not a lot better, but at least we got a room with enough space to move around without running into each other. Of course we had to pay an extra $20 a night for that. Oh well.

once in our new improved (?) room, we found that: the TV remote didn't work; the bed was way too soft; they use the "cheap" facial and toilet tissue (that's scratchy), and I almost through they didn't even have a blow dryer, but I finally found one hidden in a drawer. The bathroom vanity was so small we couldn't put out more than a few things there, so had to put toiletries on the counter in the main room and then go back and forth to get what we needed. They didn't even have any tourist guides (or tv listings) in the room. The sofa was really worn, the kind that if you sat on it for more than a few minutes, you'd have trouble getting up out of it. The cleaning was not good either, as evidenced by the fact that they clearly didn't clean well in the bathroom and left trash sitting on the bathtub rim.

I will say on the positive side that the mini-kitchen seemed nicely stocked with glasses, pots, pans, etc. - but we weren't planning to prepare meals and eat in the room, so that wasn't of any value to us.

The restaurant, although it looks a little old, does have a very nice view of the ocean. And our free breakfasts were very tasty. I had the "Inn's Omelet" and enjoyed it a lot.

I would definitely not recommend this place to others. And I can only imagine how much more disappointing it would have been if we had not had the one "free" night and been getting the mid-week speical on the other night. Their regular rates are outrageous for such old, tacky rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeenaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We have been coming to the inn at spanish head for about 6-7 years, and the last two visits we were so disappointed with the restaurant that next time we won't eat there at all. The menu has been changed and is now very limited, and the food is just average to poor quality at high end prices. The first time we came here we didn't have expectations of great food and were so pleasantly surprised that we ate there both nights! Not the case anymore.

Rooms are individually owned, so if you are very disappointed ask to see another room. They do vary by owners taste. We have stayed in four different ones and only had one we didn't like. It was clean, but dated and the decor was pretty ugh.

This is an amazing spot in the world though, and the ocean in every room. That is why I still rate it 5 stars, just hope they get the restaurant back up to snuff!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

it was not what we exspected and the serives in the reserant was bad also the food should not have been served

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.5 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
889 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,191 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
0.6 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#11 of 35 in Lincoln City
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Spanish Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Spanish Head

Address: 4009 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#12 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: £198 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn At Spanish Head, Lincoln City, is Oregon's only resort hotel built right on the beach. All guest and meeting rooms are oceanfront with floor-to-ceiling windows for spectacular views. Our 10th floor oceanfront restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a seasonal Sunday champagne brunch. Room service is also available. While visiting, enjoy our outdoor heated pool, indoor Jacuzzi spa and recreation room. There is easy access to miles of Oregon's beautiful, public beaches and fascinating tide pools are close by. We are located on the central Oregon coast where you will find a world-class aquarium, numerous golf course, hiking, deep-sea fishing, whale watching, birding, galleries, museums, shopping, surfing, live theatre and many more attractions and activities. Come stay in the middle of it all at the Inn At Spanish Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Expedia so you can book your Inn At Spanish Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Spanish Head Hotel Lincoln City
Hotel At Spanish Head
The Inn At Spanish Head
Spanish Head Inn
At Spanish Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing