We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We Will Come Back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pelican Shores Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We Will Come Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Clean and simple with a fabulous view! Everything about this hotel was just right, not luxurious, but comfortable and bright. Our room was a king studio and while we were in the room it served its purpose well, but the best part is the proximity of the beach. The hotel is perched on a bluff, so they have provided private steps to access the beach.
August in Lincoln City, Oregon is a very busy time, a lot of traffic and people. We felt very fortunate to find this "ocean front gem" (we booked it six months in advance) where we could quietly enjoy the beach without the hassle of a lot of people and traffic at the public beach access points.

Room Tip: No A/C, but typically not needed. We just opened our door and window for a nice cross breeze. 2nd f...
See more room tips
Green Features: I would've liked to have had a recycling container in the room.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BendKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westoverinns, Owner at Pelican Shores Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our quiet beach location. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    306
    41
    15
    1
See reviews for
316
491
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Prefect and simple - exactly what we were looking for in a beach hotel! The rooms are simple (in the best possible way), bright, and clean. They are a comfortable place to stay and highlight the reason you're there - the beach! Best value on the coast! It's right on the beach (49 steps to be exact), and the staff is very friendly. This truly feels like a hidden gem. We will be back!

Room Tip: Save money and book the queen studio room. You still get an ocean view and a hotel right on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westoverinns, Owner at Pelican Shores Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here with my family, and I wished we could have stayed longer! the staff was friendly and helpful. the room we got was like an apartment. it had a little kitchenette with dishes and pots. it has a living room. the room was separate with 2 queen beds and was quit spacious. and everything was nice and clean. there is a view of the beach and it is just gorgeous! we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamstephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westoverinns, Owner at Pelican Shores Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked two suites on the 2nd floor of the hotel (a 2-bedroom suite and a 1-bedroom) for our family group of 6 people staying 4 nights. Total cost of about $1900. Which was hugely expensive for our usual budget but this was a special occasion to celebrate my mother-in-law's 80th birthday.

The suites (especially the 2BR unit) were quite spacious, which was great for our family gathering because all of us had our own sleeping quarters but a nice big room in which to gather, and a full-size kitchen where we prepared a few meals.

Both suites had a fantastic view of the ocean. You enter the 2nd floor at street level, but it's on a bluff offering an unimpeded view of the beach and ocean. The 1st floor rooms have patios but perhaps not quite as good a view of the beach because there are some bushes on the edge of the bluff that may block part of the view. Access to the beach is a short walk to the 1st floor of the hotel and then down a relatively short staircase, and the beach is a wide sandy strip that was not at all crowded during our weekday stay (Monday-Friday). Sunset viewing is awesome.

In the back of the hotel is an indoor heated pool that we used a couple of times because it was too cold to swim in the ocean during our visit.

The hotel staff was very helpful when my husband had a problem with the WiFi connection (the router wasn't terribly Mac-friendly, but there's a hard-wired access point in the office), and the free continental breakfast in the office was better than at many hotels—with good coffee, and bananas that were actually ripe. Overall, the service was very good.

My only complaint (and it's a small one) is that there didn't seem to be any air conditioning in the rooms, only thermostats for heat. It usually doesn't get very hot at the coast, and it was fairly cool weather during our visit, but the bedrooms in the suites have only small, high windows facing the parking lot so it gets warm and stuffy in there at night. We were able to stay cool only by keeping the bedroom doors open and getting some cross breeze from the ocean-facing window in the living room. When we were in the suite during the day, we left both the living room window and our front door open. This kept us quite comfortable but wasn't ideal from a privacy point of view. There was a box fan in our closet, but we didn't give that a try.

I would definitely stay here again. If you're looking for a great view, particularly if you want a suite for a family gathering, this is the place to go. I did extensive research before I picked this place. The same company also has a hotel on Siletz Bay at the southern end of town (Looking Glass), and I would stay there if I was traveling with a pet.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor if you want best ocean views, first floor for your own seaside patio. The 2BR sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CozyCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westoverinns, Owner at Pelican Shores Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Pelican Shores Inn as your hotel when celebrating your mother-in-law's 80th birthday! We appreciate your comments about the air flow in the room. This fall we are installing new larger windows, and each room will have a deck with a sliding glass door to improve the air flow and keep the rooms cooler during warm weather. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My sisters & I took our 82 yr. old mom for a girls trip to the beach. We selected this hotel after reviewing TripAdvisor feedback - we were not disappointed! The breakfast is on the lighter side but it worked fine for our crew - bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cheese sticks. The view is amazing - after a busy day of shopping & visiting the casino we'd move the dining table close to the window to play cards and sip wine! The room was spotless and arranged nicely - bathroom isn't large but the living area is where you'd spend your time so that wasn't a problem for us. Due to dueling blow dryers we blew a fuse, called down to the office and within 5 minutes power was back up and going! Very impressed with the staff's efficiency and friendliness!

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor/corner room - bedroom window doesn't open, guessing this is due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyK-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westoverinns, Owner at Pelican Shores Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your girls weekend. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a two night reservation at Pelican Shores as our first visit to the Oregon coast, and were generally pleased with he choice. The hotel is on the beach and all units have a direct ocean view. Access to the beach requires stairs, and Pelican Shores has stairs leading to the beach. Our room was a lower level king. The lower level, of the 3 level facility, has a sliding door to a small patio. Breakfast consists of cereal, muffins, bagels, yogurt, oj, coffee, tea, etc. The facility does not have an elevator, entrance is on the second level, so rooms on level 1 or 3 require use of stairs and with luggage can be problematic for some folks. Noise from the unit above us was noticeable. The front desk people were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we were very satisfied with our visit and would love to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobster63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westoverinns, Owner at Pelican Shores Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments! This fall we are installing an elevator that will go to the upper level and adding more soundproofing to all the rooms. We hope you had a wonderful time on the Oregon Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We found this gem through TripAdvisor, and were so happy we did. It had direct access to the beach and all the amenities you would need. My kids were so happy to see a clean pool that was warm enough to swim in! And there were pool toys by the pool ready to use. Breakfast in the morning was a nice surprise as well. The only complaint was that we were on the bottom floor, and the folks upstairs were cruising around in their room very early. The floors/ceiling squeaked and woke us up. We had played so hard at the pool the night before however, that we went right back to sleep. A great little place to go :)!

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beakerbabe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westoverinns, Owner at Pelican Shores Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the pool. We try to keep it at a warm 87 degrees for families. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.9 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Shores Inn

Property: Pelican Shores Inn
Address: 2645 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Shores Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy spectacular oceanfront views, decks, suites with gas fireplaces and kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast, direct beach access, free Wi-Fi and heated indoor pool. Ideal location at the North end of Lincoln City. Discover why our guests love it here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Shores Hotel Lincoln City
Pelican Shores Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing