We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view”
Review of Dock of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dock of the Bay
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have stayed here two times and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when going to the coast. Being able to open the back door and see the breathtaking view is priceless. The beach is right there and the property is centrally located from the various shops and restaraunts. This is a must stay when going to the coast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missvrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    4
    0
    6
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dock Of The Bay. It sounds like the negative reviews were prior to the new management. I have found them to be accommodating and personable. When we first got here, we weren't sure what to expect since the price was so good. We were pleasantly surprised. The condo is clean and well stocked. I would love to see a king bed in the "master", but the queen is just fine. The only real drawback to the kitchen is that the stove only has 2 burners and a changeable griddle/grill thing. The kitchen even has a pot large enough to cook pasta. This is something I rarely find in a beach rental. It is close to everything you could need. Be sure and meet Gypsy the talking parrot across the street at Tiki's. We will definitely consider returning to Dock of the Bay the next time we come to Lincoln City.

Room Tip: The 1st floor has direct access to the beach. I didn't see an elevator for accessibility above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbyoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

While a nice beautiful view greeted us the space was very uncomfortable and cold (not warm and homey)
The bed was like sleeping on a table it was so hard and uncomfortable, the hide-a-bed was wors,e even when we placed it on the floor to sleep. Will not be comming back to #303 again...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kig784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Have now stayed three times and this place is a gem. Great price and close to many wildlife and activities. I had a very hard time with reservations. All Seasons Resort IS NOT the authorized rental agency and I learned the hard way by trying to track them down for about a week. But they bought the website address with dockofthebay-or.com and then bait and switch you to another locaiton. Don't miss out of this great location, views, and activities just steps away. Call the onsite management company (I think it is Oregon Shores Vacation). Just ask to confirm they are onsite.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Portland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We've stayed at the Dock of the Bay several times because we love the location and we enjoy the convenience a condo affords. I booked two rooms using the online reservation system late one evening and had a few problems due to problems with their system. For some reason, it was showing availability on days that were fully booked and no availability on days that they actually had rooms available. Their office called me early the next day to resolve the problem and I did have to adjust my travel dates but our schedule was flexible so the date change did not create any problems.

We should've just eliminated the online information and started from scratch because there were a few more miscommunications as a result of the technical glitch. We needed two rooms that could accomodate four people each and my in-laws got Unit 103 which had a bed in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room. However, we got unit 101 which had a bed in the bedroom but no sleeper sofa. We didn't discover this until I called to reconfirm shortly before our arrival and, unfortunately, there were no other units available.

We were traveling with children and Dock of the Bay did bring in a rollaway bed to our unit, as well as extra blankets, sheets, and towels. One child slept on the couch, the other on a rollaway and it worked out just fine.

As for unit 101 itself, they are all individually owned and each has its own style or character. This was our first stay in this unit and it had a rather exciting color palate. The living area was a green color, the bathroom was peach, and I think the bedroom was blue. The bedding, wallhangings, etc. all carried a beach theme. I liked it but it might not be to everyone's taste.

My inlaws unit (103) had a more neutral color palate but also carried the beach theme in the decorating. The downside to their unit is that the stove top only has 2 burners. It also has a jen-air type grill that we did not want to clean and did not use.

The condos were probably built in the '80's and the formica, counters, etc. were a little dated looking.

One of the things we love about condos is being able to do our own cooking and we had everything we needed easily at hand with a dishwasher, sink, full sized refrigerator, stove, oven, and microwave. There were enough cups, dishes, pans, flatware, etc. but they did not all match.

The exterior has recently been repainted and I think the unit may have a new sliding door. Another great improvement is the new concrete steps down to the beach area.

We were on the ground level and our patio included 2 plastic chairs.

As always, we love being right on the beautiful Siletz Bay. This is the Oregen coast at its finest.

  • Liked — Great location, roomy accomodations, and kitchen.
  • Disliked — Trouble with online reservation system.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

We stayed at Dock of the Bay for two nights and were perfectly content with the accomodations.
That is not to say they are perfect: the furnishings are outdated, the kitchen is stocked by an odd and motley assortment of pans and utensils, and the front desk person we dealt with was not exactly high caliber. I also don't think the covered parking is such a bonus, since it's home to about a hundred little mess-making birds, if you know what I mean.
However, for the price, the Dock of the Bay is a great place to stay. Siletz Bay is fascinating to watch as it drains and fills throughout the day. We saw people digging for shellfish and fishing for crab, plus beautiful herons and other water birds. The seals are fun to watch, too, and morning walk along the beach out to the sea is just the thing to start the day right. Our second floor balcony was perfect for soaking up the sea air and beautiful views.
By all means, stay at this property and enjoy the surroundings. Just don't expect something fancy or classy for such a down-to-earth price.

  • Liked — views from the balcony and the price
  • Disliked — shabby furnishings and so-so cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2006

We stayed in room #207. The room looked like someone left in a hurry and didn't have enough time to clean the place. The bathroom toilet was dirty and had not been cleaned. There was no extra toilet paper in the bathroom. The shower curtain was missing a plastic liner so the water ended up all over the floor. The dishwasher was full of dishes that had not been put away. The kitchen was stocked with dishes and pots and pans but they were old and some of the pots and pans needed to be replaced. There was no pan for example to fry bacon in order to have eggs and bacon for breakfast. There appeared to be a set of dishes that went together at one time but due to use and breakage they had not been replaced. The bed was dreadful! No other way could describe it, a double bed with a plywood board that was larger then the mattress so that if you weren't careful getting into bed you might hurt your shin. The whole condo needs to be done over new bed dishes, pots and pans etc...

  • Liked — Walking distance to restaurants and food store.
  • Disliked — Dirty room and uncomfortable bed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid Dock of the Bay.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnMoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OregonShores, Manager at Dock of the Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Unit #207 has been remodeled and is under new ownership since your stay in 2006. The owner has made sure that there is a complete set of pots & pans and has made many improvements to the room, including updating the bedroom and bathroom. Oregon Shores is the new on-site management company at Dock of the Bay. We invite you to come back and see the improvements the property has made since we started managing it. We have excellent housekeeping and office staff that can answer any questions you may have. You can also look thru the unit before booking to make sure you would like to stay there before renting. Thanks again for your review, and we hope you will return to the Dock of the Bay now that is has been improved since your stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
4.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
769 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siletz Bay Lodge
Siletz Bay Lodge
#24 of 35 in Lincoln City
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,338 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn At Spanish Head
Inn At Spanish Head
#12 of 35 in Lincoln City
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock of the Bay

Property: Dock of the Bay
Address: 1116 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1324
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dock of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Dock of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock Of The Bay Hotel Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing