We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on the Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D Sands Condominium Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
D Sands Condominium Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stopped here on our way up the Oregon Coast and what a great place. It is on the beach and we had one of the best evenings of our trip. The room had a balcony and we had the sunset ever. You can sleep with the door open. Great value for money and good service. The staff was really helpful and friendly (and fast)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audreynoltepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    58
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
85
67
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the D Sands based on a friend's recommendation. I completely agree with them, this place is a jewel. Located right on 101, nothing fancy. But you can't get a better view for the money. EVERY room has a balcony facing the beach. You are literally just steps from the sand. The room had recently been remodeled, new paint, new countertops, new windows. The kitchen was immaculate. Nice balcony with chairs provided. Plenty of room, with plenty of sleeping arrangements possible. There was a fold down Murphy bed, which we didn't even need since we had a king size bed in a separate bedroom. This is a great place for families. Lots of room, a kitchen, and steps to the beach. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this place is you want a nice clean room, with fantastic views.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room with views facing the ocean. Caution, there isn't an elevator so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for a week during a family reunion. Because we were out all day every day, we just wanted a place that was simple and clean, right on the ocean. We had a third floor room with a balcony and the view was perfect--nothing but sandy beach and ocean. We kept the balcony door ajar to hear the crashing of the waves at night.

The kitchen has paper towels and dish towels, cups, plates, bowls, silverware, glasses, mugs, a few cooking utensils, a coffee maker, dishsoap, and a sponge. There's a full size refrigerator, a microwave, and an oven/range.

The one downside to D Sands is the service, which was pretty disinterested. We asked for an additional chair for the balcony so that we could all sit out there together and after three requests over the course of the week, the chair showed up the day before we were to leave. And one day when we were in the unit when the cleaning crew arrived to straighten up the room, they kept coming back every few minutes wanting us to leave so they could clean. Other than that, we found them to be efficient, just not personable. A few days after we checked out, they called to let me know they'd found a couple of things we'd accidentally left and then mailed them to us.

The indoor pool is very small but a good way for kids to splash around, especially if the weather isn't good.

Access to the beach is super-easy: walk down the steps and around the back of the building and you're there. Great for a big group when some want to spend more time walking along the surf and others would rather watch from the balcony. If you have less mobile members of your group, you can walk down to the shorter steps at the public beach access next to the building. There's also a foot washing station behind the hotel.

Parking was easy the week we were there but it was a little off season. Don't know what it's like in the height of summer.

Make sure to visit the Pirate Coffee Company next door (across a small side street). It's a family-owned business and they care very much about their coffee and the customer experience. When we asked for a certain type of coffee drink, the barista didn't know how to make it but followed our instructions and did a great job. He also offered to find out the best place to buy fresh fish and told me he'd have an answer for me the next day. When I cam e back, he did. Awesome little shop.

Room Tip: All of the balconies face the ocean but the 3rd (top) floor balconies offer a really nice view. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZukiMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

have taken my children here for years. Right on the beach and right next to shortest river in the world. Has a indoor swimming pool which the kids love, Rooms are clean and staff are always helpful. The condominiums located close to shopping. dining, grocery store and not too far from the casino.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBezor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I and our three adult kids recently stayed at the D'Sands Condominium Motel in Lincoln City in a deluxe family suite. The room had a separate bedroom with a king bed. They living room had a Murphy bed and a sofa hide-o-bed. The room was very clean and came with plenty of towels. It had a full kitchen with cups, plates, silverware etc. There is a pool and a jacuzzi and it is not far down the road from the outlet mall. If you want to spend more money shopping and less eating out then this room is perfect for you, just buy groceries at the one of the markets and fix your food in the room. The best thing about it is literally steps away out your Backdoor, the beach is a single flight of stairs away!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melhug68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Right on the beach, with a great view and very easy access to the water.

Plenty of free parking, with lots to do in town.

Great for a weekend getaway, or a week-plus long time away from home.

Get a room on the beach side, up high.

Room Tip: Oceanview is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Udoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackamas County, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The room was very nice and clean. I rented a studio apartment which was the perfect size room for my husband and I. House keeping was extremely friendly and very helpful. We came to the beach to hear the ocean and get fresh air so we were very disappointed that other people would smoke on their balcony and the smoke would end up in our room. This is a non smoking facility however they have a smoking area not far from their room so my husband asked them to please use it because their smoke keeps coming into our room. One person was very sorry and friendly about it. However the people a few doors down were not so nice. I had to call the front desk on several occasions because it was aggravating my medical condition and there are "no smoking" stickers posted on the balcony. I'm not attacking smokers. I used to be a heavy smoker up until a year and 2 months ago. I quit because it made my medical condition worse now I'm extremely sensitive to the smoke. Smokers please be respectful and use the smoking area provided. Everyone deserves to be able to have their back door and window open to cool the room off,enjoy the sounds of the ocean and the fresh air from their hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieM655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
0.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
2.6 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Sands Condominium Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Sands Condominium Motel

Property: D Sands Condominium Motel
Address: 171 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-2757
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'D' Sands Condominium Motel is an Oceanfront motel with Suites and Studio Suites, located in the heart of Lincoln City. All rooms are Oceanfront and have full-sized equipped kitchens. Some rooms also come with gas-lit fireplaces. We also have an indoor heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your D Sands Condominium Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
`d` Sands Condominium Hotel Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing