We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW This Place was horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palace Inn & Suites
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW This Place was horrible”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Well I Can down to the coast with my wife and 16 month old and a friend. it looked like a good place from the street once we got in our room I started to notice that there was no screen on the window (they put use on the fourth floor) with a 16 month old???? we asked to change room they said they were full really not the case I stood in the waiting area someone walked in and they gave them a room we made a reservation the night before we came. then to top it all off the beds were extra firm to come to find out after reading the tag we ask for a refund they wouldn't do anything and to top it off they didn't even offer a free night stay or anything the free breakfast the offer sucked the customer service suck even more wow the need to get shut down!!!! oh and the bathroom door had holes in it

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    20
    12
    22
See reviews for
29
42
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Park
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This hotel was listed in the travel coupon book as a AAA 3-diamond, but is really a 2. It has a microwave and fridge and a comfortable king bed. I was not able to get on the internet but they did have a computer in the conference room for me to use. There was a Burger King within walking distance but that was about it. The hotel was very close to HWY 101 with lots of traffic but I really did not hear the traffic noise from our room. The breakfast was sparse - waffle maker, cereal, bagels and juice. They had a washer and dryer that I was able to use and it worked fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I paid $77 including tax for the room and thought that was reasonable. This hotel is not on the beach side of the 101 and it IS on the 101, so some of the rooms are a little on the noisy side, although not too bad at night. I was dissapointed to with the room - not thoroughly clean or well-maintained. I have found that this is pretty typical of Lincoln City.
My room showed pealing drywall tape a sure sign of water damage. My question is this: if I could obviously see it, why hasn't the manager or housekeeping seen it? The door stop on the inside of the bathroom door had made a hole in the door and there was a small pile of sand on the carpet which begs the question, what other items have been neglected in the cleaning process. Breakfast was brief, but decent. The woman who checked me in was polite and friendly, but the man working the desk overnight and his replacement neither greeted, nor spoke to us as we departed. There was an intense gas smell throughout the hotel that was not addressed until the morning at 7:00 am. Unfortunately the maintenance and all personnel decided to fix it then - on my floor. It made for an unpleasant experience. Also, deodorize the elevator so that it keeps a more pleasant smell.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narcisse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
268 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We didn't have a room for the night and just picked one out from the AAA book. We actually drove past it and didn't even see it, because some of the lights were out on the sign.

Turns out this hotel is a family-run hotel.

So we try it, curious to see why it's priced below other 3 diamond hotels in the area.

Well, if the front desk was being managed by a family member, all I can say is they aren't a friendly family.

The brochure says their fireplace lobby shows what the rooms are like. But don't be fooled. It is just a motel room.

The room is clean and I don't have any complaints about the room.

Breakfast is included with the price. It was a very small breakfast with DIY waffles. Unfortunately, the waffle mix was sour when we were there.

We told the front desk and he went to the back and came out and said if we wanted a new waffle mix, we'd have to wait. We said it was okay, there was no need and ate the cold danishes.

He went back to the hotel lobby and did not remove the other cups of prepared batter at the breakfast room.

Because of that, we were very underwhelmed by our experience at this motel.

It may be winter and business may be slow, but my opinion is you can't drop the ball on service. It is better to shut down, than to give a half-hearted service and get poor reviews.

Based on this, I cannot recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I'm afraid I have to go against the grain here! We stayed in a "jacuzzi" spa suite. Gross! The bed linens did NOT feel or smell clean. I had a sneaking suspicion that the room had not been stayed in for awhile and they didn't really check it before we were in it. The towels were thin and there weren't really many amenities to speak of (a couple of bars of soap and a foil package of shampoo). There was only on packet of creamers, etc for the coffee as well. The "jacuzzi" tub was old, had 6 jets, one of which spit out this NASTY moldy mossy "plug" of some kind which I mistook for a big dead bumblebee as I just go into the tub! (Yes, I freaked out!).

ALSO, the furniture that's SUPPOSED to make it exotic is actually kind of dangerous! We ended up wrapping towels around the feet of the bed frame so we didn't continue to stub our toes.

This place was just not for me!! THE STAFF was the best part of all of it -- they were very nice and polite but they can have their hotel. I won't be staying again. Sorry!:-(

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cakimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln City hotels

thunder bay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Wonderful hotel...front desk clerk was very curteous. The rooms are huge - we are a family of four on a three week vacation across the country and back so we have become experts in room size and this room was by far one of the largest we have seen that had two beds.
Wireless internet connection was fast. Easy spacious parking. Conteniental breakfast was really good. Lots of space in the breakfast room and good selection of items. Only thing lacking was fresh fruit but they had a large selection of pasteries, juices, cereals and two waffle makers.
Excellent clean huge room - would definately reccommend staying here.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank savvygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2008

great hotel.. only thing it lacks in my opinion is a pool. Close to everything in lincoln city, (ie outlet mall, beach, places to eat). great value I believe due to the place not being on a beach, but best lodging in the city by far.

  • Liked — cool statues, clean rooms, service, I can go on and on..
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JHK0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Lincoln City
1.7 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Lincoln City
Inn at Lincoln City
#25 of 36 in Lincoln City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites Lincoln City
2.7 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#18 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Inn & Suites

Property: Palace Inn & Suites
Address: 550 SE Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-2779
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Palace Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest Lodging in Oregon Coast. Locate in center of Lincoln City, City Hall and Library aross from us and nearby many nice restaurants and gift shops. Beach access and shopping mall is only couple blocks away. We serve every guests as a Royal family like Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Inn And Suites
Palace Hotel Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing