We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lincoln City Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay House

The Bay House
Ranked #1 of 105 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$72
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Southwest Jetty
Description: Since 1978, The Bay House has endeavored to be the best restaurant possible, providing first-class service and creative, fresh, honest food and drink in a gorgeous coastal setting. Recently designated as one of only two AAA 4-Diamond Award restaurants in Oregon, the focus remains on world-class hospitality.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lincoln City Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Seven years ago my wife and I discovered this little gem of a restaurant for ourselves almost as an accident, while staying in Depoe Bay. We were so knocked out by the place we came back the next night. Couldn't say "no" to the food, especially a crab appetizer with a honey-wasabe sorbet. Nirvana on a plate!
Fast forward to this last Saturday. Would the experience even be an echo of what we fondly recalled of the one before? Were we surprised!

Steve, the owner/host greeted us at the door and guided us to our seats. It was as if we had been guests only a week before. Both he and our server Mack remembered us after all those years! Impressive, but it got better. While Mack searched for a certain bottle of wine we wanted for our special weekend, we enjoyed some fine sherry and looked around. The view of the bay at high tide was great. The room was spare and done in restful blue-grey with indirect lighting. The table service featured crisp linens and nice glassware. An ambience restful and perfect for the murmurings of couples and the contemplation of wonderful food.
We ordered the prix fixe dinner paired with our own wine choice, eager to sample the latest rendition of their menu. We were not diappointed! The courses were elegantly presented, perfectly prepared, and accompanied by to-die-for reduction sauces. My God, it was even better than we recalled.

Mack's kind attentions brought all this to us in a superbly-paced manner. Attentive but not hovering, friendly and informative; he exemplifies the very best of his craft. Thank you, Mack. Thanks to him we had the opprtunity to meet our chef at the table. He is a very self-effacing man with clearly world-class feel for and skills with foods.

If you have the means (it's not McDonald's), give the Bay House a try. It's what fine dining is all about. Thanks, Steve. We'll be back a little sooner next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evilmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    52
    25
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, food and view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Initially we were sad to not get a table in the dining room last night since they were all booked. Then we saw the view and 3-course options on the menu in the bar and were thrilled. The cocktails were delicious, the food incredible, the service top notch, and you can't beat the view. We will definitely be back, have to believe this is the best restaurant in all of Lincoln City!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always a solid dining experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Gorgeous views, fantastic food, good service. We've been coming here for a few years and the meal has never disappointed. We ate here a few weeks ago and had another great experience.

The appetizers (steamed clams), salad course, and main courses (crab cakes & duck), were all delicious and well executed. The accompanying wine was excellent. The only miss was the dessert; a crumble that wasn't cooked fully. The crumble topping was a few chewy oats, and the fruit inside was crunchy. (I've enjoyed many a crumble as well as cooking them.) However, the flavors were good, just a small oversight.

The service was great again, and our server was friendly and accommodating.

We would recommend this restaurant to friends for any special occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Newlywed Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We absolutely loved the Bay House for our special newlywed dinner!!!!!!!! Even setting up the reservation you could tell how great a place this was. When we got there our table wasn't quite ready so they seated us at the bar for a drink. Which were fantastic!!! Taste & serving size was the best we've ever had. The ones I really enjoyed had coconut :) We then had a pork belly appetizer that was delicious! We decided to have the Tasting Menu. It was so good!!! A Salad, Then a Salmon, Duck & Beef Course, then a dessert trio all for only $69 per person. We were only able to make it part way through the beef course though and had to take the rest to go. The view was absolutely amazing as well. Right on the bay. The sky was beautiful. Our table was candlelit complete with a rose. It couldn't have been bettter :) After dinner we went back to the bar to finish our drinks and the bartender called our cab for us and we just got to relax. Wonderful Dinner, Service & Drinks!!!!!!!! The people there are the Best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Neighbor to Neighbor excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have been wanting to try the Bay House for the last several years and finally had the opportunity last night. We came in on a Sunday evening at 5:45 and the dining room was booked. I had heard about the Neighbor to Neighbor menu available in the bar which offers a three course dinner for $25. The bar still had nice tables at the window available so we were quite pleased. We were offered soup or salad and we both had the carmelized onion soup which was rich and very good. Perfect to warm you up when the marine layer had come in. My husband had the pork chop which was very juicy and flavorful and I had the flat iron steak which was cooked perfectly and was also delicious. They were out of the bread pudding that was set for the menu so they allowed us to choose the other desserts from the regular menu. I had the dulce de leche cheesecake and it was outstanding. One of my favorite desserts ever. My husband had the trifle and it was perfect in that it was sweet but not too sweet.

Overall, we felt that the Neighbor to Neighbor menu is an outstanding value for really well executed food. With several glasses of wine for each of us we came in at $100 before tip. This meal would have easily cost $150 in similar establishments. Plus you have an outstanding view, excellent and friendly service (seriously everyone here is so nice you can't help but feel good here), and it's a winning combination. We spend 5 weeks on the Oregon coast in the summer and will definitely return to the Bay House.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noodle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay House also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing