We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful...”
Review of The Bay House

The Bay House
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Southwest Jetty
Description: Since 1978, The Bay House has endeavored to be the best restaurant possible, providing first-class service and creative, fresh, honest food and drink in a gorgeous coastal setting. Recently designated as one of only two AAA 4-Diamond Award restaurants in Oregon, the focus remains on world-class hospitality.
Reviewed 3 March 2007

... from start to finish - the service, the owner and the food (at $36 a plate). An incredible waste of time and money.

17  Thank Oregon-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTallGuy, Owner at The Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2007

Hello!

You may or may not have received the response I sent to you a few days back. As I mentioned then, it's always disappointing to learn that we have failed to live up to our reputation, if indeed we did have a real issue. However, I am concerned that your tone toward me personally gives me the impression that your complaint was fabricated in order for you to post something negative about my business, The Bay House. I'm not sure why, but I would be interested to have further communication with you about it.

As I also mentioned, if your complaint was genuine, then I am truly sorry to have let you down. I am also very interested to know what it would take to get you to give us another chance. We have so few dissatisfied guests that I view each one as a personal challenge to make things right.

So, that's it. If you'd like to return as my guest, all you have to do is give me a call or drop me an email. We can discuss your concerns and make arrangements to give you the kind of experience that 99.9% of our guests have. We weren't selected by Best Places Northwest as one of the 3 best restaurants in Oregon for nothing. It's not an accident, considering the fact that we spend all of our energy improving ourselves, every day! Again, we'd be delighted to welcome you back to The Bay House!

Cheers!

Stephen Wilson
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for The Bay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 470 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2006

My husband and I was vacationing in Lincoln City the day after Thanksgiving. We were driving around and decided to stop at the Bay House for dinner. We arrived not knowing they were yet to be open for the evening (I think we were there before 5pm) and was worry about not having reservations. We called the number on the door and ask about reservations. (yes, highly recommended) My husband told him we were just outside their door and the host invited us in even though they were not open.
We just had to wait a bit for them to finish setting up.

The host and the wait stuff was very friendly. Food was delicious and the wine list was long. It is spendy, but for a special treat, it's perfect.

6  Thank little_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

We ate at the Bay house on a weekend stay at Lincoln City. We were looking for a nice place to eat, and we found this driving to another establishment. Yes the dining is a little spendy, but the food is excellent. My boyfriend propsed to me there, over champagne after dinner. The best Prawns and pasta dish my fianceand I have ever tasted. If you are looking for high class, romantic place to eat, this is THE place to go. The food is beyond excellent. The wait staff was very friendly, we arrived at the time they were closing, but forgot to turn off their open sign, and they served us anyway! We were their for an hour and a half, they let us take our time and we were not rushed out of there like you feel at some places. I would highly recommend this for a romantic evening of dining at its best!

7  Thank j-and-dfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Clemens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Pek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay House also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing