We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It could not have been worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Gresham, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It could not have been worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

First of all, the room had a terrible odor coming from the curtains (which were also falling off of the wall). The room was freezing when we got there, and when we went to use the heat it didn't work. The staff was not apologetic for any of the issues we had. Finally my husband went to brush his teeth and could only get hot water from the tap. We gave up and asked for another room and had to move to another one of the hotels owned by starfish manor and we had to drive there. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but they only had one night available and we had already lost our dinner reservations after the mess of dealing with the issues in our room. We decided to stay the one night (and had to pay an additional $87 to get a clean, warm room) and when we went to check out the person checking out next to my husband went on about a huge leak they had in their room overnight that they had been cleaning up themselves with towels. The maid said, "oh yeah I know that room" to them. Clearly they know of issues in their hotel and have no problem taking your money and not concerning themselves with the quality of your stay. Next time I would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Candypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachfrontdianna, Owner at Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
This person did NOT stay at the Starfish Manor Hotel. I have requested it be removed as they did not stay at the Starfish Manor Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    127
    33
    24
    21
See reviews for
24
600
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Was a very nice and wonderful stay. Room was just as it is advertised and the view was better than expected. Beach access is just down the block. Every thing was great and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms offer more privacy and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samwise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

After reading the revision my husband and I were really excited about a romantic getaway. The room was really nice as was the check-in staff. The bed was extremely comfortable. Now the not so good - First, the Internet service was virtually non existent unless you stand out in the hallway. I did talk to the desk clerk and she informed me that wifi was going to be updated soon. Second, on the morning of our departure we found old moldy coffee in our coffee pot. I mentioned it to the desk staff on departure and I received an 'oops'. Lastly, I left a night gown behind the door in the bathroom. I called within hours and they said they didn't see but would ask a housekeeper that had gone for the day. No call back. Oh, and cleaning your carpet would be a good idea. Attention to details like basic cleanliness is very important to me. In the end Starfish Manor was ok. Priced a good deal higher than similar places on the coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The room was comfortable and spacious, the amenities were upscale and smelled AMAZING! The linen was clean and beautiful. LOVE the fireplace!!! So nice on a cold stormy night. SUPER close to the beach with amazing views!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPappasAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Visited the Oregon coast for the first time, and stayed at this small hotel. Checked in late, with easy to follow instructions. After a long 11 hour drive, it was awesome to arrive to an amazing room with rose petals on the bed, chocolates on the pillows, robes nicely arranged on the bed. The next morning, once the sun was up, we really got our first glance of the ocean. It was stormy the whole visit, but it was incredible nonetheless. The room balcony had 2 chairs on it, though it was raining so hard, the patio was soaked. The ocean view 2 person jacuzzi ( with rubber duck) was special. The room also had a fireplace, and small kitchen with a few supplies. We had to ask 2 days in a row to get an extra spoon for the kitchen. The wifi in room 9 did not work ( couldn't detect the signal) the whole time we were there. We inquired about this 3 times, the first 2 times we were asked to make sure we had the laptop and iPhones trying to connect ( we did) , and the third time, the front desk clerk was going to have the maintenance man go reset the router, which didn't help either. So, essentially nothing was done. One of the windows was also leaking a lot due to the rain, and we were given an extra towel to put near the leaking window... Hope that is fixed. The housekeeping service left chocolates on the pillows, personalized notes, and the couch was even vacuumed with a pattern, and special messages were written on the couch. Amazing service!!! We have travelled extensively all over the world, and this was definitely the most memorable housekeeping service we have ever experienced. The room was quite hot. Leave the patio window open at night to hear the crashing waves... Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at a starfish property. Last time we stayed at the Nantucket inn and loved it. Great views and room and easy access to the beach. This time we stayed in the main building and loved our room! Having the tub by this window was beautiful and romantic! My only complaint was the distant to get to the beach but 2 blocks didn't kill us. Can't wait to go back for the penny rates!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pt57star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This review is long overdue but am finally getting to it. We went with another couple for a couple of nights on the beautiful Oregon Coast. Check in was smooth. Rooms were a bit small but the view is beautiful and the rooms were clean. We had a fireplace suite and a jetted tub in the room. Beach access is down the road. You can NOT access the beach directly from the hotel. Again it was clean but I thought it would be a bit bigger for the price we had to pay.

Last day there we were told by the receptionist that someone had hit our car in the parking lot. We went to check it out as we were the only car in the lot. Sure enough someone had hit our car and left. Absolutely understand it is NOT their fault but her attitude was more ho hum then anything else. I get that she couldn't do anything about it but I sure wasn't impressed with her empathy. Still had a nice time and it is a nice place.
Two days ago I get a phone call from the Starfish Manor that it has been 3 months since we visited and I haven't collected my headset from their lost and found. They are now going to "donate" it as they don't hold things for more than 3 months. That's where it was! I was so glad to finally get my headset back. I called right away only to be told that they had already got rid of the headset. What the heck? Apparently they called me when they were first found. This is a phone call that I didn't receive! So I was shocked and not too thrilled to find out it was gone. Why in the heck do you call only to tell me you are getting rid of them?? Huh? I was upset and asked if she could please check again with the lady that had called. At this point Shannon laughs and says she will check but she is sure I am out of luck! No apology just a laugh. Nice- NO WAY is it their fault that I left the headphones there and I get that BUT this place could sure use some helpful tips on how to treat their customers. This is a nice place but you can do MUCH better heading a bit down the beach to the Coho or the Nordic where you will be appreciated and treated like a guest. As for us we won't be back. Sorry Starfish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
4.0 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 2735 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#15 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel right on the ocean. All rooms and suites offer 2 person jetted tubs overlooking the Pacific Ocean and cozy gas fireplaces. Perfect for your romantic getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Starfish Manor Oceanfront
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing