We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location but needs attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great location but needs attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Let me say that the location is great. The view is great and the room is also very nice however during our two stay (42) anniversary we opened the door and room was very hot. After some investigation we found that because of the great insulation in the room it stays warm unless you open the sliding door. The room did cool down in about an hour. The problem is that the only way to vent the room is to leave the door open. There is no security screen and you cannot leave it open when you leave or at night because it is on the ground floor. We chose to use the two person jacuzzi tub but it would not hold water. The management fixed the problem but we lost the first day of using this romantic ammenity. Also because we were on the first floor you cannot leave the drapes open during bathing for the ocean view.
Our temperature was a little uncomfortable the first night but the second night was little a better. One other issue I brought to the attention of the desk clerk was that we would have liked to use the lounge chairs on the patio to view the ocean the first morning but someone had turned on the sprinkler for the lawn and water sprayed over the chairs and patio. It would have been better if they had wet the lawn at night or very early in the morning. I brought this information to the attention of the desk clerk and on-line to the company. It has been over three weeks and I yet to have received a response of apology or offer of rate adjustment. One other thing you cannot use the fireplace as a romantic feature because it is the only heat source and since you cannot safely leave the slinding door open it gets too hot. The one window also does not open for venting. If you book this location request an upper room. NO security problem and there are privacy barriers.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnRenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    127
    33
    24
    21
See reviews for
24
600
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

First off, don't show a room with rose petals on the bed if you're not going to provide them.
The room was quiet and the views outstanding but we did not feel the Starfish Manor lived up to our expectations. We could not use the DVD player as there was a problem with the connection, which the front desk said was out of their control. It was nice not being bothered by housekeeping, however a discount could be offered.
We also found a used condom package under the bed which made us wonder about the housekeeping service.
There was not a dresser unit for our clothes which made us live out of our suitcases for 3 days.
Unfortunately, this room was not worth the money they charge.
I wrote a letter to the management explaining all this and they have not responded after 4 weeks.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank langleybott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

This is the first time visiting Lincoln City and we sure picked the perfect place to stay. We were looking for a beachfront property that was quiet and offered us a wonderful view of the beach. We had a hot tub suite on the fifth floor that overlooked the ocean and provided us with awesome sunrises and sunsets. Being able to hear the ocean roar at night was also a plus. I was sitting on the deck one morning having coffee looking at the ocean and three sea lions were out playing in the surf! There is plenty of restaurants within walking distance and you are nearby any attractions that you want to see. (i.e. the aquarium, lighthouse, tillamook, depoe bay. The rooms are nice and clean and newly renovated. The whole staff there was very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiespokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a relaxing getaway..we were in room 14 . Very nice room not exceptionally big but perfect for what we wanted.
Views from the balcony were fantastic (see pics) We saw whales one morning a pleasent surprise, we used the hot tub often at sunset (awesome)Staff was very friendly and helpful.
We did have a TV issue (it blew up) not literally but it did break ....but they sent someone right up with a brand new flat screen TV no problem.Bed was very compfy ...the no air conditioner scared me at first but we never needed it we slept with the door and windows wide open it was perfect (especially for august) if we were on a first floor that may have been an issue but being on the the fourth floor it was fine.
We met alot of nice people in Licoln City and would definately return to this location.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank orcus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I made a reservation for arrival 3/28/09 with a checkout of 3/30/09 and guaranteed the payment with my VISA card ending in 2722. My children and family became ill on 3/27/09 and we notified the manager at Starfish Manor that we would not be staying. They informed us that they were sorry but it was too late to cancel the reservation and that we would be charged the full amount of $495.05. We felt this was very unfair and not good customer service so we spoke to the manager but she refused to negotiate. On 3/28/09 Starfish Manor attempted to charge our VISA ending in 2722 for the full amount of $495.05. The transaction was denied. They did not call us regarding the issue; but instead, looked in their past records for a reservation that we had previously made, found the credit card that was used at that time, and charged that MasterCard for the $495.05. This charge to my MasterCard was NOT authorized. The Starfish Manor committed fraud!! I have reported them to the Better Business Bureau without satisfaction. The management refuses to acknowledge their FRAUD and will not budge on having charged our unauthorized credit card for almost $500 for nothing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Tootles46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

We picked the Starfish based on their website and pictures and descriptions of the rooms, views, location, etc. We looked at their other properties on line as well and thought this one seemed to be the nicest of them for the price (which was, we felt, very expensive, but we decided to splurge and try a different place for this trip to Lincoln City.
Boy, were we sorry we hadn't just gone back to one of hte places we'd stayed in the past.

The first room they gave us was supposed to be a suite, oceanfront, with a jacuzzi. The room was so cramped it was ridiculous. The door opened right into the only real room there, the bed was right there in front of us, with the tub crammed up across from the bed and barely enough room to walk through to the bathroom. There was a tiny TV mounted ont he wall, and a little loveseat/sofa pushed up right against the tub. There was a tiny table and two chairs. A person could not have sat at the table and watched TV because you'd be looking almost straight up at it. There was a patio door, but you could barely get to it because of the loveseat crammed nearly in front of it. It was really sad. Everything looked clean, but horrible how they had crammed so much into a way-too-small room. No suirt to that at all. Oh, I almost forgot to mention that the room was right next to the big, noisy laundry room.

We went back to the front desk and asked them if they'd given us the right room, because it sure didn't seem like what we woudl have expected for that price. They said we could "upgrade" to a larger room, because they had one with two bedrooms and an outside hot tub available. Of course that room would cost considerably more. We paid the difference and got the other room.

At least there was room to move around in the new room. But the front door opened right into the second bedroom - very tacky. The sofa looked and felt totally worn. The small TV in the living room was sitting on top of the fireplace mantle - again, very difficult to watch TV that way. The room was posted with all sorts of "rules" -- especially for the use of the hot tub on the deck. Don't do this, no that, and so on. No alcohol, no candles, and if we catch you breaking any of our rules we will fine you (a very hefty amount).

We did go out the first night to try the hot tub. Just getting the cover off it was a major chore - I would never have been able to remove it if I had been by myself, as it was very heavy and hefty, and there wasn't really any place to put it either. There were not steps or step-stool, and although we are not all that old or decrepid, we both had trouble just managing to get into the jacuzzi. I slipped right as I got both legs in and ended up with a huge, painful bruise. Getting out was even harder, as it was very slippery.

Also, parking was free, but at a minium. Very few spaces in the lot in front of the place, so unless you got there at the right time, you had to park in another lot and walk a ways.

We mentioned our unhappiness again at check-out time, and on the feedback form. Never heard anything back from management at all.

We would never stay at this place again .

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GeenaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom suite (#4) for ten days. (My mother joined us later and stayed in the second bedroom.) The suite was nice and comfortable, but the first thing we noticed was that the room was not stocked with supplies for a ten-day stay, which was disappointing because we had not planned on asking for maid service because we did not want to be bothered. In fact, we had no kitchen towel and had to ask for one five minutes after we arrived. Since we did not want to keep asking for items such as toilet paper and soap, we bought hand soap (in pumps) for the kitchen and bathroom, and plenty of toilet paper and paper towels for our stay. After three days, we decided to ask for maid service for one day so we could get new bath towels and a bath mat and have the room vacuumed. (It would have been nice to have a vacuum in the room.) The problem was that once we asked for maid service, the maids kept returning each day to replenish towels etc. There was no chain on the door or bolt lock that could not be unlocked from the outside with a key , so the maids just came on in. Several times we were in the room, and it felt strange to have someone come on in like that with no way for us to lock them out when we were there. (I really didn't care if they came in when we were out of the room.) The only other negative comments that I have are that the toilet seat did not fit well and the barbecue on the deck had little bits of old meat stuck to the grill, which turned me off from using it. (I could have cleaned it myself with a brush that was provided, but I had already lost my appetite for barbecuing.) Also, The pipes in the walls and below our bedroom were very noisy. Even though the office staff had warned us about this noise when we made reservations, we had no idea it would be as loud as it was, and after ten days, it became quite irritating. Now for the positive comments: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even when I had to ask for kitchen towels, they were very pleasant. The bed was extremely comfortable as well as the sofas. The dining area and kitchen were nice and spacious, and when we weren't eating at this cute little place called Punk-n-Barry's that served excellent breakfasts and lunches, we enjoyed eating in our suite. The hot tub on the deck was awesome with an amazing view of the ocean. Our suite had its own outside door, which was nice, and I loved the fact that no children, pets, or smoking were allowed. I would recommend the Starfish for a nice beach getaway, but maybe not for ten days.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank milojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
4.0 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 2735 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#15 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel right on the ocean. All rooms and suites offer 2 person jetted tubs overlooking the Pacific Ocean and cozy gas fireplaces. Perfect for your romantic getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Starfish Manor Oceanfront
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing