We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Weekend Getaway!”
Review of Nelscott Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nelscott Manor
Ranked #5 of 8 Lincoln City B&B and Inns
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We came to Nelscott Manor to celebrate our 5th Wedding Anniversary and it was PERFECT! From the room to the view everything was wonderful! We arrived early and were allowed to check in due to a cancellation the night before. The check in is at a different site but it is less then 3 miles down the highway and really no big deal. The room was beautiful, jacuzzi amazing, and the view from our very private balcony was breath-taking. We will be back and recommend to all looking for a romantic ocean front getaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethowen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    13
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant hill
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2009

The stay was very nice. we enjoyed every minute we were there. The people at the front desk were very nice. over all the trip was awsome. We will be coming back in a few months. We told all our friends and family about the place . My parents are making plans to go sometime soon, with us. Thanks Lonnie

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayrock346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I recently stayed at the Nelscott Manor with my boyfriend. We wanted a place to go to get away from both of our fast paced work environments. It was wonderful! I enjoyed the special little touches like rose petals on the Jacuzzi. The linens on the bed were so very cozy. It was nice to get away from it all and just relax. I would definately recommend this to any traveler looking for peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ssalem37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Just returned from a fantastic 5 night stay at Nelscott Manor in Lincoln City. I'll get the one rather large negative out of the way first. The stairs. There are a LOT of stairs. We stayed in the Bella Suite on the top floor, and you really know you are on the top floor after climbing stairs with luggage, grocery bags, etc.!

But... once you get to the top. Wow... this place is WONDERFUL. I already want to go back. The location is very quiet, very private. I can't remember when I have ever had an oceanfront room when there weren't people all around. Not here. There were times when barely anyone was even on the beach in front of the place! And the weather was beautiful! Nice sliders onto deck that you could leave open - I can still hear the sound of the waves...and see the fireplace on, feel the cool breeze, and taste a nice glass of Oregon wine. Like I said, I really want to go back.

Private hot tub on the deck, LOVED IT! How wonderful to relax in the hot tub and watch the sunset. Full kitchen with really nice full-size refrigerator and a flat-top stove with oven. Good sized living room and dining area. Fireplace lent nice ambiance in the evening. Everything was very, very clean. Beds were extremely comfortable.

The master bedroom is large with a jacuzzi tub overlooking the ocean. Oddly, there are no dressers to put clothes in and very little shelving or storage in the bathrooms. Only two hangers in the closet. Lived mostly out of suitcases on the floor and a shelf in the closet. Most people probably don't stay as long as we did. It's probably more of a weekend place.

The second bedroom was small. If you are sharing the suite with another couple, you will definitely need to draw straws. The back bedroom has a nice view of ocean - but no TV, no dresser, small closet. Bathroom is off the hall - not the room.

But, all of this is really insignificant because the suite is SO comfortable, so relaxing,so clean, the view so beautiful, the kitchen so convenient, the deck so wonderful.. that once you get you and your groceries in... there's really no need to leave! The stairs may be tire you out, but the place got an overall huge thumbs up from everyone in our party. We LOVED it and would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The view, the deck, the hot tub, the kitchen
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2008

The room was laid out perfectly, I couldn't have asked for anything more romantic. Everything was better then what I expected. I have been too a lot of hotels in my lifetime but I have never had anything even close to the romantic, cozy room that we stayed at. The view was spectacular, the room was fantastic and the staff was just great, friendly and helpful. I certainly plan on coming back and recommending you to anyone that wants a fantastic experience at the coast.

  • Liked — The romantic detail, robes laid out with rose petals, perfect.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmclarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Read reviews hear of Nelscott Manor, decided to give it a try despite it costing $250/nite. There are pluses and minuses.

Pluses: nice view high on a bluff above ocean with steep steps down to nice beach. Privacy since only a small # of units in building. Nice decor in room, nice jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed, clean.

Minuses: no blinds at all on one of the windows had sun blaring in at 5 a.m. and no easy way to drape a towel or anything to block it. The windows facing the ocean only have tiny windows at the bottom and this mutes the majority of the great sound of the waves -- should have had much larger opening windows to allow sound of waves to come inside.

Room was SMALL for $250/nite and bathroom was even smaller, absolutely tiny with zero counter space literally as it only had a pedestal sink due to lack of space. TV was tiny, not at all in line with $250/nite. Parking spots are TINY even for my small Nissan Maxima so I hate to think if an SUV were to park next to you how many door dings you'd get and parking is setup with one car per unit so you know the lot is full.

At check-in lady couldn't find keys to room, kept calling people and could never figure out where keys were, told us code to type in instead. Check-in is inconvenient as it's 3 miles down the road from where the property is.

SILK rose petals were spread all over the bed/jacuzzi when we got there. I thought this was beyond tacky and at this time of year roses are blooming everywhere in area so there's no excuse at $250/nite not to have real rose petals. Very tacky and I would have preferred nothing if it's going to be silk!

Fireplace pilot light was turned off when got there, tried to start it but couldn't, had to call main desk at other hotel you check-in at to have someone come down who got it started after many problems trying to.

Way overpriced at $250/nite would stay elsewhere in next time. Do love Lincoln City though.

  • Liked — Sound of ocean when outside/access to beach
  • Disliked — See review, many things
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WynsWrld98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachfrontdianna, Owner at Nelscott Manor, responded to this review, 10 July 2008
As you will see - most people love the Nelscott Manor. But staying at a small place with no lobby is not for everyone.

I would like to address this guest's items to help anyone who might be considering us for their stay to see if we are the right property for them.

The jacuzzi rooms at the Nelscott Manor range from $139 to $259 depending on season and day of the week. Oceanfront with fireplace, oceanfront jacuzzi for 2, pillow top mattress, robes, TV, DVD player, kitchenette, etc. Whether this is over priced - is a personal budget opinion.

All of our rooms have opening windows on the oceanfront. The opening part is smaller - so a guest can leave it open at night and not worry about safety. The upper floors have the same smaller openings & have sliding glass doors on the oceanfront which could be left open at night too. So plenty of ways to hear the ocean.

We have 1 parking spot per room. Each space is 10 feet wide. Full size are 9 feet. Compacts spaces only have to be 8 feet. All of ours are 10 feet wide.

There is one small room at the Nelscott Manor - the other 4 are either 2 full bedroom, livingroom, & full kitchen units or oversized studio suites with full dining tables, private decks, kitchenettes, etc. So I am assuming they were in the Manhattan room - which is smaller - but cost less to rent (but still offers all the same amenitities - Jacuzzi tub, Fireplace, Oceanfront, kitchenette, etc.).

The silk rose pedals - I have to agree I don't like them as much. We ONLY use them when we have to. Because of a late check in (real redals wilt very quickly) - and since we don't charge for the rose pedal check in goodie - may discontinue doing it unless we can use only real ones.

Hopefully this answers any questions anyone might have about our place after reading this guests review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2007

We stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed more. It was so nice to watch the ocean from the whirlpool tub. The direct beach access was a must when we were looking for a place to stay. The management was friendly. Check in was fast and smooth. Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Liked — beach access and jacuzzi tub overlooking the beach
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
2.9 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
741 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,663 reviews
2.8 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,302 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
0.6 mi away
Inn At Spanish Head
Inn At Spanish Head
#12 of 36 in Lincoln City
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelscott Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelscott Manor

Property: Nelscott Manor
Address: 3037 SW Anchor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1819
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nelscott Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelscott Manor offers just 5 private suites on the oceanfront in a quiet residential area. All suites have either a Jacuzzi tub or private hot tub, overlooking the ocean, gas fireplace, luxury linens, robes, and much more to pamper you! Direct Beach Access! VERY Romantic - perfect for special get-a-ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Nelscott Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing