We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whistling Winds Motel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
West Linn, Oregon
1 review
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Talk about a family favorite! This is a wonderful little mom and pop get away. A friend and I took our four little ones here over spring break. The rooms were quiet and clean. There is a wonderful little park a block up the street and then a block in the other direction is beach access. The rooms were remodeled perfectly, keeping in the small town beach feel. This will be a place our family will come for years! I can't wait for next year!
-Scales Family Portland, Oregon

Room Tip: The Gambler's cottage #15 is great for a family with kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    61
    10
    10
    3
See reviews for
60
108
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This place is a tiny little hole in the wall. Nice people but very outdated, small, dirty rooms. The office isn't open 24 hours. They honestly should NOT be #2 in Lincoln City. I've stayed at much nicer places on the coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bj1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
historicgetaway, Owner at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
So sad for these guests finding their motel room to be dirty. Super clean rooms is our biggest goal. I would like these guests to try us again and I'll be happy to give them a Free night, any room of their choice. Some are small and some are large. Some have big huge hot tubs in the rooms or how about a cozy vintage cottage with river rock fireplace. That might be nice for them. All but 1 room have been thoughtfully renovated. Whistling Winds was originally built in the 1920's . Wicked , Cool & Historical Outdated is the goal with comfort & unique experience for the guest . When you have lots of pretty woodwork cleaning is more important than ever. We can make arrangements to leave a key for this guest if they are checking in late (after 10pm on wknds). Happy to help with a fun trip to the beach if they would please give us another chance. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our family has spent the last two decades staying at various houses and motels in Lincoln City, but we have found our new favorite!! This family run motel was so clean and inviting! It is very obvious the owners are committed to making this hotel a return destination. The hotel was completely booked some of the nights we stayed, but the layout of the rooms eliminated any noise from the other guests. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: The rooster room was very cozy yet spacious enough for our whole family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We LOVED our stay here. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, everything was very clean - couldn't have been better. Also, super close drive / moderate walk to casino. Will definately stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackamas, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I went in during December, and there was snow! This was my second time coming to whistling winds. It is a very cozy place. It is only a block away from beach access, and you don't have to go far to get into town. (walking distance on a warm day) The management are great also, very friendly. The fact that the rooms all have different themes makes it fun for each time you want to go. The beds are also very comfortable. any time I need a place to go in Lincoln city I will be coming here, with pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Overall we enjoyed the spotless pixy kitchen room .
We did notice a few things that could be tuned up in the newly remodelled room-the hot air vent blasts out is just above the pillow area on the beds (we turned the heating off the second night) , the large clock had rather a loud tick, and we had to turn the fridge off at nighttime.
Note that there is no phone in the room and our t mobile phone would only work out front of the office. The staff were very helpful in getting the wi fi to work in the room. The kitchen is really well equipped in case you get the urge to prepare dinner.
Don't forget a walk on the beach, 1 block to the right as you leave the motel.

Room Tip: Try a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our first visit to Whistling Winds Motel. Check in was a breeze with the helpful and friendly management. Our room was beautiful. With stained woodwork from ceiling to floor, cozy and appealing decor, and the bed was so comfortable! No cookie cutter sterile feeling of a cheap chain motel here. There's convenient parking right out side the rooms and no street noise. The casino is a short walk and this cute, clean, comfortable motel has so much to offer at a great price. It's full of pleasant little surprises. All the rooms are unique and beautiful and Java Depot is right down the street!. We will definitely be staying here again, and telling our friends all about it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.2 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
4.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Winds Motel

Property: Whistling Winds Motel
Address: 3264 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Winds is a restored 1930's Motor Coach Motel. This sixteen unit motel is nestled quietly in Lincoln City's residential neighborhood across street and 1/2 block to low beach access. Only 6 blocks to casino. On casino shuttle route. Prices Subject To Change Enjoy the sound of the ocean waves in our fireplace suite. Vaulted ceilings, warm rich wood and walls, hand built river rock fireplace and fully equipped kitchen adorn this beautifully restored cottage. Other units and cottages include: 3 jacuzzi rooms, 5 full kitchen rooms, 3 family units, 3 studios, 2 vintage studios and 3 vintage cottages. We are now No Smoking. For our Friends who Smoke there are Covered Porches and a Covered Tent Area. No Pets Please. We now have WIFI available for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Winds Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing