We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At Home with Whistling Winds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistling Winds Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whistling Winds Motel
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“At Home with Whistling Winds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Room #16 is called "The Sleeper" with a single bed and a Queen. It has the feel of a "ships cabin" with natural wood everywhere. The coffee pot sits on a dresser with a glass jar of ground coffee and a candy dish full of salt water taffy ready for enjoyment. On the bedside table is a guest book going back to 2006 where folks have left their stories about staying at the motel. It was great fun to read them. Yes, this is a Mom and Pop place, but it's clean and nice. Every room is different, so check out their website and look at the photos. You can walk to the beach or a casino.
I will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: Please check out the website to select a room because each one is different and a lot depends on who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    61
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
60
107
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful wood cabin cottages. Full kitchens available. Beds were cozy and warm. Stone fireplaces. Beach access (no stairs!) across the street a few yards away. Casino walking distance. A well-kept secret! It's not a fancy place but sure works for cozy getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elindberg993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I was surprised when I opened my motel room door, inside was a cute little cottage! I gave the room rating a 4 simply because the shower was extremely small!! Other than that, the room was very clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Talk about a family favorite! This is a wonderful little mom and pop get away. A friend and I took our four little ones here over spring break. The rooms were quiet and clean. There is a wonderful little park a block up the street and then a block in the other direction is beach access. The rooms were remodeled perfectly, keeping in the small town beach feel. This will be a place our family will come for years! I can't wait for next year!
-Scales Family Portland, Oregon

Room Tip: The Gambler's cottage #15 is great for a family with kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This place is a tiny little hole in the wall. Nice people but very outdated, small, dirty rooms. The office isn't open 24 hours. They honestly should NOT be #2 in Lincoln City. I've stayed at much nicer places on the coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bj1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
historicgetaway, Owner at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
So sad for these guests finding their motel room to be dirty. Super clean rooms is our biggest goal. I would like these guests to try us again and I'll be happy to give them a Free night, any room of their choice. Some are small and some are large. Some have big huge hot tubs in the rooms or how about a cozy vintage cottage with river rock fireplace. That might be nice for them. All but 1 room have been thoughtfully renovated. Whistling Winds was originally built in the 1920's . Wicked , Cool & Historical Outdated is the goal with comfort & unique experience for the guest . When you have lots of pretty woodwork cleaning is more important than ever. We can make arrangements to leave a key for this guest if they are checking in late (after 10pm on wknds). Happy to help with a fun trip to the beach if they would please give us another chance. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our family has spent the last two decades staying at various houses and motels in Lincoln City, but we have found our new favorite!! This family run motel was so clean and inviting! It is very obvious the owners are committed to making this hotel a return destination. The hotel was completely booked some of the nights we stayed, but the layout of the rooms eliminated any noise from the other guests. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: The rooster room was very cozy yet spacious enough for our whole family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We LOVED our stay here. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, everything was very clean - couldn't have been better. Also, super close drive / moderate walk to casino. Will definately stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Winds Motel

Property: Whistling Winds Motel
Address: 3264 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Winds is a restored 1930's Motor Coach Motel. This sixteen unit motel is nestled quietly in Lincoln City's residential neighborhood across street and 1/2 block to low beach access. Only 6 blocks to casino. On casino shuttle route. Prices Subject To Change Enjoy the sound of the ocean waves in our fireplace suite. Vaulted ceilings, warm rich wood and walls, hand built river rock fireplace and fully equipped kitchen adorn this beautifully restored cottage. Other units and cottages include: 3 jacuzzi rooms, 5 full kitchen rooms, 3 family units, 3 studios, 2 vintage studios and 3 vintage cottages. We are now No Smoking. For our Friends who Smoke there are Covered Porches and a Covered Tent Area. No Pets Please. We now have WIFI available for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Winds Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing