We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistling Winds Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whistling Winds Motel
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for a motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Room was nice, wood on the floor - so easier to keep clean. Bathroom was good and the little kitchenette was a bonus. Was a nice and unexpected stay in Lincoln city. The owner upgraded the place and that was a good idea, we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Hi Daniela,
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The owner put a lot of work into remodeling the motel, and it's much appreciated when somebody notices.

We hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    61
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
60
107
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I’ve never wrote a bad review of a motel before, but in this case, I really felt that it was necessary to let people know about the items and services missing at this Motel. And at $300 for a two night stay, these are things that should be supplied.
First, let me start by saying that the Motel itself is nice looking, clean, and the staff was friendly, but after we got into our room we noticed NO refrigerator, but there was a cute little Coca Cola ice chest. But it did us no good, being that there is no ice machine at the motel, you have to drive to a grocery store to get ice. We also noticed NO coffee maker, but instead a couple of vouchers for a free coffee at a place in town. We figured no problem; we will get coffee at the office in the morning. Wrong, no coffee at the motel period. We had the “Jacuzzi” room which was nice and clean, but the Fan (noisy) in the bathroom ran all night long. When we inquired into that, we were told it is automatic because of the tub. But obviously it doesn’t work well, because it wasn’t off more than a couple minutes, our entire stay. We tried to shut the bathroom door so that we could sleep, but the door is warped, and does not shut. The following day, we went out for the day, and arrived back at 2:30 PM, and the room had not been made up. Being on the beach, our towels were damp, and sandy, so we asked at the office about it and were told that “they are not like most motels, and do not make up the rooms” Really? for that much money?, That was a first for us! And no mention of this at booking, or even when we checked in. I did find it in the small print in the book in the room with info about the city. So we had to get more towels, and when we left, the little garbage can in the room was overflowing. And being that they do not “make up the rooms”, the following morning we did not even have vouchers for coffee, so we had to get dressed and drive into town to get a simple cup of coffee.
These seem like such easy, inexpensive, and standard things to supply at a motel, and at any price, let alone the money that we paid. The price we paid for one weekend would buy a small coffee maker for every room. And not making up the rooms, how can that not even be standard?
So this Motel is OFF our list of places to stay on the Oregon Coast, until we hear that it has the services and items of every other motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Hi Denny.
We are under new management, and our rooms now have coffee makers. (Except the Jaccuzzi rooms, which still have the coffee shop vouchers.) The jaccuzzi rooms are the only rooms without fridges. Unfortunately, since those rooms are limited in space, it would be crammed, if we added too many things. There is the coke cooler, and a very small coke fridge. We do, however provide ice now, in the office.

For stay over guest, we do not service the rooms, to save on power and water. We are always happy to provide you with fresh towels, upon request. I am terribly sorry nobody informed you. Will will make sure we always let you know, in the future.

We hope you will give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in Oceans 11 and we loved it! It had a very cozy feel to it, making it feel like home. We decided to cook our dinners to save money but I wasn't sure how stocked their "stocked kitchen" would be but they had everything! Checking in and out was super easy. And the couple in charge were so friendly! We will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We loved staying at this little motel. It is absolutely adorable, perfectly clean, and the staff are very accommodating. We stayed in the Inn Keeper's Room. It was comfortable. There is no AC at this motel, so we got a little warm in our room. They provided a fan, which was great.

The adirondack chairs outside are really nice for taking coffee outside and ejoying the ocean breeze. This place is only a block from the beach, so getting to the beach was a breeze. Whistling Winds is truly a hidden gem. We will go back!

Our cell service, Verizon, didn't work well in the rooms, and the WiFi wasn't good at all. We were there to vacation, so life wasn't over. I got plenty of FB time while sitting in the chairs outside.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank resaridg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I travel on a budget so am always looking at less - expensive hotels. This was highly recommended on here so I checked this remodeled motor inn out. It was last minute, and the front desk was friendly and helpful. I took their smallest room, and he warned me more than once how small it was.

I loved it. Cozy and completely remodeled, the room I was in, "the back porch," was wonderful. Taffy in the room and real glasses on the dresser were nice touches. The only fault I found was that the windows were screenless and at ground level so I didn't feel comfortable opening them.

It is a short walk to the beach and a short drive to a good coffee shop.

I highly recommend this little gem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had online reservations for the Rooster Room, but after seeing and smelling it we stayed in the Pixie Kitchen instead. There was only one window in the room that opened out to the street with no screen or security. The room was stuffy and smelled like cigarette smoke. The gas exhaust from the facility washroom vented in front of our entry door which was not properly sealed and may have been the cause of the smell. There was no chest in the room to store clothing and no storage or counter top in the bathroom for personal items. The tub was stained and unappealing. We felt like we were in a cave. We could not hear, smell or see the ocean.

Staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a full-size refrigerator, no dishwasher, but we were required to clean our dishes or be charged $25. There were little extras in the room like taffy, coffee, creamer, etc. The location is good with close by beach access. I think this is a good value motel, but we will not return.

Room Tip: Look before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
historicgetaway, Owner at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I 'm sorry the guests did not like the Pixie Kitchen. I would like them to come back and try another night on me (Karen the owner). Some rooms have giant hot tubs, & fireplaces. There is also an accommodation with 2 bedrooms and small living room for larger groups. Hope they will give the Whistling Winds another try. Happy to have them stay. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our room, Gathering Place, was as the newer pics showed. It's a very well maintained property. Unfortunately, when traveling with a mother who suffers with Dementia, unfamiliar places makes it worse for them & the caregiver. We had to checkout earlier than expected. We would like to go back because it is a clean place & the beach access is very close. Hopefully, the owners will credit us for our 2nd nite paid but did not use, for a future stay. Thank you WWM.

Room Tip: Very generous in their amenities. Clean all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r3hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
historicgetaway, Owner at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
These guests are welcome to come back and enjoy another night at the Whistling Winds. Hopefully their Mom can come back also. Honored to have them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.2 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Winds Motel

Property: Whistling Winds Motel
Address: 3264 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Winds is a restored 1930's Motor Coach Motel. This sixteen unit motel is nestled quietly in Lincoln City's residential neighborhood across street and 1/2 block to low beach access. Only 6 blocks to casino. On casino shuttle route. Prices Subject To Change Enjoy the sound of the ocean waves in our fireplace suite. Vaulted ceilings, warm rich wood and walls, hand built river rock fireplace and fully equipped kitchen adorn this beautifully restored cottage. Other units and cottages include: 3 jacuzzi rooms, 5 full kitchen rooms, 3 family units, 3 studios, 2 vintage studios and 3 vintage cottages. We are now No Smoking. For our Friends who Smoke there are Covered Porches and a Covered Tent Area. No Pets Please. We now have WIFI available for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Winds Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing