We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View but Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What you really pay for is the view. It is fantastic even though I do not have a balcony. Housekeeping was quick to react when we asked for extra pillows and towels. I am surprised at how clean the place is considering all the sand and water. The place is very well maintained though the building is older.

My King Studio was small but updated and lots of drawer/closet/shelf space. I like that it has 2 sofas that we can use to enjoy the view. The bathroom is very small. The extra amenities like the French Press Coffee, water kettle and wine opener were nice touches. The open fireplace outside facing the beach in the evenings were also very nice.

Continental breakfast was as expected and is the same every morning. I stayed for 5 nights, so breakfast got boring after the 2nd morning.

I am not sure if I would recommend this hotel because of its price and also I have nothing else to compare it to. It was a pleasant stay, no doubt, but I might look into other oceanfront properties next time.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors. Ground floor, I observed, have people walking in front of your porch. For p...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSmart10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello TravelSmart10,

Thank you a great review at The Coho. Our views are breathtaking and our guests really enjoy opening the windows and doors to see and hear the soothing waves. We try to provide the best choices for our breakfast options. We hope to see you back soon at The Coho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
There are newer reviews for The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in the Sunset Suite and it was so worth it!! The room is exactly like the pictures on-line. The view is spectacular. I recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing, romantic evening on the Oregon Coast. Hoping to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel19942014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello travel19942014,

Thank you for an amazing review of The Coho. We're happy we were part of your anniversary plans. We hope to see you for more special memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

For what we paid we could have stayed at the Ritz in Sarasota. No iron in the room. No air conditioning, just a loud floor fan,a shower with no door the size of a shower on a cruise ship, on an inside cabin.the bed actually squeaked when you star on it. The elevator only went to a landing so you still had to drag suit cases upstairs. No room service for food. the worst stay for the money on our drive up the coast. Told the hotel clerk at deck out to have owners contact us about our concerns since there was no manager available during our two day stay. Never got any call or email. Hotels near by shade much more for much less

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mchael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello Michael,

I am writing to apologize that your visit to The Coho did not meet your expectations. We have definitely tried to model our customer service to the Ritz hotels. We try to eliminate the clutter in the rooms by removing the irons so there is more space for our guests and available upon request which is delivered complimentary to our guests. Unfortunately, most hotels on the Oregon Coast do not have A/C units in their rooms since there is cool ocean breeze and only some instances will get warm. We also provide portable A/C upon requests that is set up by our great customer service staff. Your guest room was room 54 so it was close to the elevator and just a short trip down the hallway. We also provide luggage assistance for all our guests when assistance is requested. There are so many great restaurant within a short distance of the hotel and our guest attendants could have suggested some local eateries and provide more information.

We would certainly have tried to speak to you upon check out or on your first night if these were your concerns to provide you with better accommodations to better suit your needs. We want our guests to have 100% guest satisfaction. Again, I apologize that these issues were not discussed during your visit and we could have provided a quick resolution with a room move. Thank you again for your comments and we will address them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just spent 4 nights there and truly enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful too. We were on the 3rd floor with our balcony overlooking the ocean which was wonderful. We enjoyed listening to the ocean waves each night with our door open. Our room was clean and nice to have the small kitchenette. It was nice to have a separate bedroom as well. A few things in the room that could have made it better would be another mirror . Also the towels were big yet could have been softer. It was nice to have the fireplace in the room as well. We enjoyed the firepits each night we were there. The breakfast is available each morning but could use some variety ~ there was Biscuits & gravy each morning ~ and the breakfast room can be congested at certain times. We also enjoyed a wine social on Friday night which was a nice touch. The ocean access is very close with the most wonderful tide pools I've ever seen ~ lots of starfish!! Thanks Coho ~ We enjoyed our stay & would return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Conraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello Conraff,

Thank you for a great review of The Coho. Our guests love the amazing views from our balconies. We will address the issues to have mirrors installed in the room and plusher pillows. Our fire pits are a great crowd pleaser to get warm and cozy. We will try to include more variety in our breakfast in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our stay was a gift from my daughter. She could not have picked a better place. The people at the front desk were so nice. The facility all around was clean and well kept. Our room was wonderful, Very clean and well stock with anything we could have wanted. The view was awesome from the 3rd floor balcony. Would definitely recommend to everyone. Oh, and the continental breakfast was average and very nice.

Room Tip: Since this was my first stay here I have nothing to compare to. We did like being on the 3rd level...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sillytwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WecomaManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello Sillytwitt,

Thank you for a raving review of The Coho. We're delighted that your daughter chose us for as your gift. We are very proud of our staff and amenities with a breathtaking room ocean view is a great retreat. We hope to see you again soon and hope there is no comparison to us in Lincoln City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We came here to anchor a few days on the Oregon coast for the family.

Great balance overall here. Nice clean rooms. Spacious. Comfortable beds - on the softer side. Good array of pillows - soft to firm. Separate 'bedroom' in suite a great way for the kids to have their place and allow for some relaxation in the main room before turning in for the night. Pleasant and helpful front desk staff. Cookies at check-in a nice touch. Very spartan continental breakfast, however.

3 minute walk to the waterfront is convenient for families not seeking the 'perfect' spot on the coast. Kids spent hours playing in the tide pools nearby... Only the incoming tide could pull them away.

WIFI slower than most establishments and intermittently cuts out every 5-8 minutes -- somewhat aggravating in 2014.

Overall, would come back if Lincoln City was the chosen destination on the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WecomaManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello, BurnabyMan

Thank you for a great review of The Coho. We feel that we are a great anchor on the Oregon Coast with this hotel in the family for generations to come. Guests love our rooms and afternoon cookies at check-in. We have installed some new WI-FI hot spots that will help with better internet connection. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Room 10 is down a very narrow hallway with a tight 90 degree turn into the doorway. The room is very small making it difficult for the second person walk around the person in the Power or wheel chair. There is a roll under sink and roll in shower. The hand held shower head does not reach the fold down bench at the back of the shower. Staff provided us with a portable bench. While there are bars on the toliet they are not at a height needed for everyone to lift themselves. A wedge at the bottom of the sliding door would have made it easier for a person in a chair to access the patio. The staff were very helpful in our requests. My records show that this hotel was built in the 1960's. This is the high season but $300.00 for a tiny ocean front room seemed to be a bit much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank milwaukiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WecomaManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello milwaukiegal,

Thank you for your comments during your stay at The Coho. We apologize that there was not sufficient space to make your stay comfortable. The challenge is a design issue that we will try to address. We will install a new hand held shower with a longer extension. Our ADA bars is to building code that we will try to address to make it more useful for our valued guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.7 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
874 reviews
1.8 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#16 of 35 in Lincoln City
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 1635 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32" LCD HDTV's, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast/gluten free items with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing