We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
portland
1 review
“birthday surprise”
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My wife surprised me with an evening at the beach for my birthday, and had found the Coho online. Based on the very reasonable price, we pulled up almost in surprise to find a clean, oceanfront hotel. The room was very clean, and had a nicer look and feel than a basic hotel room. It was a very nice place, good breakfast, and friendly staff, though they had newly started selling wine at the counter, and there didn't seem to be much info/knowledge about the wines when I asked.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandWineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    501
    125
    23
    10
See reviews for
402
906
74
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The Coho's website does not disapoint. The rooms are clean and modern. The employees were all very friendly as well. The biggest concern was not having a TV in the guest room to ensure some good old mom and dad quiet time. Our two night stay was a little more than we usually spend on a hotel. The balcony was enjoyable. We didn't realize beach access was a block away. The shower was a little airplane bath room feeling. All in all, it was a nice stay in a comfortable room although, we always seem to end up on the second floor with noisey neighbors above us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrandja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Lincoln city is definately NOT one of my favorite destinations, but it's a nice place to spend the night. Nice, clean, modern hotel with excellent patios. Great to kick back and drink wine in the evening.

There are so many tacky outdated rooms on the Oregon coast that it's refreshing to see something reasonably priced and well done. Nice simple color palette. No hideous bedspread.

Coffee and pasteries are free in the morning, but the coffee sucks, and it's in tiny little cups. The place is so crowded that you would think they were giving away free steaks! I would just avoid it and go out for coffee. But, it's a nice perk if you have kids.

The antique mall across the street makes awesome lattes and it's a pretty good shop as well.

We paid about 135$ for 2 people with tax included and got a 1 br with balcony and mini kitchen. They upgraded us for free. We didn't use the bedroom at all but it was nice to have such a large space.

The views from the patio are incredible. We saw a massive group of sea lions that looked like they were migrating. We also saw a couple of whales. Being up high affords a better view, but having a lower level patio might be nice because you don't have the bars from patio in your way.

I was pleased to find this place and the price was right. I'd stay again definately.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrkg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YD73, Hotel Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2009
Thank you so much for your review. I am very sorry you did not like the coffee we had at that time. We just added Fresh Ground Sisters Coffee Company coffee that we provide at check-in with French Presses in each guest room. We are also working on setting the breakfast room up in a more efficient manor. It has been very popular since we added the waffle bar. We very much look forward to your return. Best regards, Tim Crenshaw -Hotel Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We have young kids, so when we saw the kids' suite with bunk beds on the website, we decided to try it out the next time we went to the coast. The new furnishings (especially the new beds and carpet) felt great and just a refreshing, assuring way to spend a weekend away from home. We walked down to the beach which was convenient, and also flew some kites that were provided to us by the hotel. The indoor pool is a requirement for us (again, the kids), and having a fridge and microwave also made our stay relaxing, since we prefer to eat in and being able to bring milk, snacks, etc. is great.

We found the rates reasonable and will definitely consider returning to this hotel.

Also, having wireless WIFI seems to be a requirement, and I certainly used it. Also thought the flat panel TV and DVD player were nice, classy touches.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portlandjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I was seeking a perfect one-night getaway from the scorching 95 degree Portland heat. After speaking with a representative from one of the hotel booking websites, the gentleman set me up with the Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City. As I headed to the coast, it was painfully obvious that everyone else in the metro area was desiring the same thing-to head for the ocean air (my trip took three hours instead of the normal hour-and-a-half!). But the long drive and price of admission were completely worth it. The studio I stayed in was immaculate and modern, and only 50 feet away from the ocean. Best of all, it was quiet. It was also nice that breakfast was included the following day. I would recommend this place to anyone seeking a reprieve from the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjsblue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The best part about this hotel is the incredible oceanfront view from every room.
The Coho is an older-style motel type building that has been rennovated recently in a kind of funky-shagadellic 60s/70s retro style. The rooms were very clean and everything was obviously new, but seemed like it came from a different decade, which I really liked.

Rooms were basic, older-style square boxes, but with flat-screen TVs, fridges, comfortable beds etc. And the view! Sitting in the room watching the sunset over the open ocean was truly amazing. Staff was friendly if a bit eccentric. Breakfast was OK, continental style with mostly cereals and coffee.

The Lincoln City beach is fantastic, a long sandy stretch several miles long and a great place to visit.

Cons: I didn't see an elevator so access to the rooms was via stairs. Some rooms had balconies, but ours didn't, just a window.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escape-Is-At-Hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Great bargain ! New trendy decorations, very comfortable mattresses and new linens. Everyone was so polite from reservations to furnishing extra towels and wine glasses. Beautiful ocean view and best beach we experienced. Definitely the highlight of our beach exploration trip. Loved the arrangement with two bedrooms and kitchenette and bathroom was spacious and new. Great furniture and new large screen TV, though we didn't need it with the balcony and gorgeous beach. Would definetly reccommend to others and stay there again. Even the maintanence men offered to help us with our luggage. Thanks Coho staff!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooksietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Property: The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 1635 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32" LCD HDTV's, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast/gluten free items with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing