We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Reviewed 15 November 2013

When I booked a room for two nights we were told the old units have been remodelled and the king rooom with an ocean view was great. Upon arriving we checked into the room and looked around and thought, I guess its ok. We left to do some shopping and visit the casino and got back around 8PM and then realized, this place is not great, its really not clean and just felt dirty to touch anything. With the help of Chris and Shelly at the front office and some begging they gave a suite in the newer building, 100 percent better, fireplace, balcony larger and almost clean. Thank-you Chris and Shelly. For the casino, I found it very smokey and the payouts not good. We ate a lunch at the delli, the hamburger was so over done it was black, they replaced it with the same type, just couldn,t eat it but had to pay for it. Next day we had lunch at the buffet,it was great. We don,t plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: Only book the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Myron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

I haven't been to a casino in years and now I know why. Firstly, it was very hard to find. There was no signage and we had to stop to ask where it was. We drove right past the turn and had to go to the end of the road and come back because even 1 block away there was not a sign to let us know where to turn. We only stayed about 2 hours and didn't spend much money. It wasn't about winning for us, it was about a fun experience.

Slots were very expensive, even the 1 cent ones which never end up being 1 cent. Maybe I'm getting too old at 35 to think they are fun anymore. Pushing a button over and over again really isn't that fun. Having to deal with the chain smokers all around us was a huge bummer. I still feel like my lungs are recovering a week later. Even in the non-smoking section, the air was thick with smoke. Maybe better ventilation would be a plus.

The $5 blackjack tables were always full and there was only 2 of them while we were there. However there were two $25 tables that were completely empty for 2 hours...maybe those could have been switched over to $5 tables so more people could have played? Since I couldn't get in to play, we left.

Had to chase down the drink attendant to order a beer. She offered bottle or draft. The bottle was $3.50 each and wasn't even a bottle. It was a can with a spout on top. It tasted old and flat and we ended up not drinking it. Waste of $10 with tip. Time to spruce up the casino!

Seemed dark, dank, dirty and stinky. Hope it cleans up it's act if it wants to attract a younger crowd with money to spend on a fun time. Right now it seems like a lot of 65 and up club.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 360ccd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a former Shilo Inn which seems to have been built in the 1980's. There are 4 large stand alone units, with big signs facing the parking lot "A," "B" C and D. A 4 story complex south of the check in office was closed and under renovation. Because the operating units are old, they likely escaped the ADA requirements and none of the 4 operating clusters have an elevator. All units are accessed by outside corridors.

Inside our 3rd (top floor) unit was a nicely painted room, large table, 2 chairs, a desk and chair, flat screen TV, microwave and dormitory size refrigerator. The refrigerator has no temperature controls but was quiet in operation. The bathroom is small with tub and shower. Washbasin and counter are in an alcove outside the bath with the 2 cup coffee pot. You are provided 2 each: bath towels, hand towels and wash clothes, bars of soap. There is a threesome of shampoo, conditioner and hand cream in the miniature bottles found everywhere.

Large windows face the ocean and beach. The end portion of each is a slider and will open to allow in fresh air and ocean sounds. The thermostat is for electric heat and is slow to respond. It appears the heat is ceiling heat as there are no visible baseboard heating units.

The bed was comfortable but the walls lack any ability to stop noise from adjacent rooms. You will hear toilets flush and showers run next door. Pets are allowed in the first floor rooms which are a bit below the grade of the parking lot so it appears those are in the basement. The door is opened with a magnetic card and locks when closed. There is no additional safety lock.

A large heated pool is located in a separate building which furnishes pool towels. A hot tub and changing rooms are also inside. You can access the beach from the end of unit "D" and you can walk on a paved patio area from the ocean side of the units to the access point. Some of the first floor rooms have a door opening out onto this patio area and there are a few benches scattered along the area. Some rooms had sandbags located at those doors to prevent sea water / rain water from splashing in the rooms which are at least 15 feet above the beach level.

There is a restaurant included in the complex. Prices are $$ and $$$ depending on when you go and what you select. Room service is from this facility also. The Casino has several options for eating that may be less expensive.

Room Tip: If you can haul your luggage up 2 flights of stairs, get a 3rd floor room on the END of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrRodgers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Let's just say that if you are going to this casino to gamble and have some fun make different plans. Won't happen...second trip to Chinook Winds this year and both times the same story. Money spent but "NO" money won. Ended up leaving and going to "Spirit Mountain" where we actually got bonuses that paid.
Rooms are OK, just not the casino.

Room Tip: Have pet friendly rooms which for us is nice as we often travel with our dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We got a great deal on a junior suite at Chinook Winds Casino. The room was great and the staff was great. The sun did not come out while we were there. We played a round of golf at the resort course. It is a great executive course.

Room Tip: get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urgnurse96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was a fun place to stay since I only had one night.
Gambling, shopping, a walk on the beach, clean room and
great buffet!
Beautiful fall weather and the price was right!
Maybe I should have joined their players club to get a better
price but didn't know that till later.

I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ocean front is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lajollabarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a surprisingly good casino. It's right on the water, the staff is abnormally friendly (for a casino) and the soft drinks/coffee are free and abundant.

I'm a beginner gambler, so I was a little nervous to play $3 blackjack, but the dealer was so nice and informative that I didn't want to leave the table. It was a great first experience.

A few downsides: The clientele is a little crusty, the buffet is mediocre and the cig smoke is wafting throughout, but hey, it's all just part of the gambling experience.

Oh, and make sure to sign up for the players card at the concierge desk to get $5 in free slots. It's easy and worth it (I won $7).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.7 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#19 of 35 in Lincoln City
379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
750 reviews
2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln City
Inn at Lincoln City
#22 of 35 in Lincoln City
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinook Winds Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinook Winds Casino Resort

Address: 1501 NW 40th Pl, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4811 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: £49 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinook Winds Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chinook Winds Casino Resort Hotel is an outstanding option for beachfront accommodations in Lincoln City. Our warm and friendly staff is ready to welcome you to our resort with multiple restaurants, arcade, child care facility, casino, 18-hole golf course, fitness center and complimentary on-site shuttle service. Hunt for glass floats on the beach, curl up with a cup of coffee and watch the waves, hit a bucket of balls in our indoor driving range, take in a show or enjoy the 24-hour gaming action. It is all available to you at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, where it is better at the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chinook Winds Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing