We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinook Winds Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“OK stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is our second time to stay here. We got a room on the top floor this time. The view of the ocean was pleasant. The room was $151.86 for the night. We like having a shuttle bus pick us up and take us back to our room from the casino. We enjoyed the buffet in the casino. Did not care for the tight slot machines however.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBirdsWeAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    134
    118
    76
    81
See reviews for
92
265
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A bit of a fiasco when we tried to check in and were told that because the laundry facilities were "down", no rooms would be available until 6:30-ish -- not their fault, and they handled it as well as could be expected, including comping part of our bill -- but it was a pretty big hassle for all concerned.
We had a ground floor ocean front room, so...nice view.
Otherwise, the room was just "okay" -- spacious, but a little musty and dated.
We also had people jiggling the door handles late at night -- there is a back door, access to the beach, and we had several people approach loudly and try the door around 11-12 at night, which was a little unnerving.
I had hoped to leave the window open a bit for the ocean breeze, but with so many people out and about, I decided not to.
Same thing happened with the front door that night.
Oh -- and apparently someone was jogging in place in the room above us when we were trying to get to sleep.
We had people with walkers with us, and found that even the ground floor rooms are difficult to get to -- there are stairs down, and although there is a ramp, it is a looong walk that way, especially for people with limited mobility.
The casino is a short walk from the hotel (there is also a shuttle), but is the noisiest, most crowded casino I've ever been in, and good luck getting a beverage - the beverage servers race by at warp speed, so by the time you've heard them yell "beverages!!", they're half a mile away.

All in all not a pleasant experience.
My advice would be, if you want to go to Chinook Winds Casino, stay someplace else and drive there.

One good thing -- the restaurant has really good biscuits and gravy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln City hotels

Portland, Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

They promise 'certain rooms' - it won't happen lately. They used to! Medical condition & fear of heights - open stair case - extra 19 steps, they will offer assistance with bags. I don't want help, I want to be on vacation - to hassles.
Hotel Seafood Grill has great new 4:00-5:30 PM offer. Waitress was so honest! Prime Rib, less than $12 - great! I passed on soup - salad was so fresh. Listen to servers!
Casino has new machines.
I had fun!
I just read latest reviews - I didn't take my computer - maybe why I enjoyed. Nothing works - well 383 plug in bathroom didn't. Maids promise to correct - don't.

Room Tip: First floor, people walk by & look in - I would never do solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

One of the worst weeks spent at this hotel. Booked a month out out and was not advised that the internet was down until they had our money at check in. We were advised it was "spotty". We were unable to use the wifi during the entire stay. One the 2nd day I card to complain & was advised it was an amenity & I was not being charged extra! Amenity or not, these are the items that are factors in booking a facility. Had I known that it had been down off/on for a MONTH! I would have booked elsewhere. I will not return. There are many quality hotels in Lincoln City with working wifi

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Katvisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this property. The front deskwas very nice and cooperative. They did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. The restraunt was also very good and the staff very attentive. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS A WIFI SYSTEM THAT NEVER WORKED.. There is no reason for this to not work.

Room Tip: high rooms have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Unless you like frustration, don't pick this property. I booked an ocean front suite with fireplace and dining area with refrigerator. I arrived early. Was told room was on hold on upper floor but I could not check in until check in time. I left and returned at specified time. The room had not been held and I was given an obstructed ocean view room on the second floor. They had nothing else available. If that were not bad enough, the fireplace and refrigerator did not work. They sent maintenance but he could not do anything to fix the problem so he just left. I needed to refrigerate a medication, so I had no option but to place it on ice all night. Since nothing was working and the room was not what I paid for, I requested be moved for the second night to a more suitable room. For some reason, registration did not understand that I really wanted the room type that I had reserved and paid for. To facilitate the move to a new room, I removed all of my belongings from the room so they could clean it for the next guest. I was told to check back in to see if a suitable room was available throughout the day. I reminded them that I was on vacation and did not intend to spend my entire day waiting for a room. I told them my expectation was for them to check rooms every hour until they found one that matched my original reservation and hold it. Finally a call that one was available. And before noon. End of story? Although reassured that everything was working in the room and the view was unobstructed, I could not get the shower to work!!! Thank goodness my husband was finally able to get some water flowing. The WiFi did not work at all during my stay in either room. For my inconvenience I was told I would get a $30 credit for both nights. On checking my bill, I was credited for only one night. Going back? Probably not. Only good thing about the hotel was the location and view which I did not get to enjoy until the afternoon of my second day.

Room Tip: Don't take any low number rooms in A building. Don't plan on Wifi. Never worked during my st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Las21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on our honeymoon. The room was fine- nothing spectacular - but the view was just amazing!!! Right on the beach! We had a lot of fun playing in the casino: they had a large variety of games and, unlike a lot of other casinos in the area, roulette was open the whole time we were there. The staff were VERY nice on the gaming floor. The restaurants were something else entirely. The buffet was the worst one we have had at a casino. The staff seemed miserable to be there. The food was awful. The salmon was so hard I could tap on it and it clinked. The turkey was dry and there simply wasn't much selection. There were a lot of desserts, but like everything else: subpar. The only thing I really enjoyed was the fry bread (which was delicious). In the cafe downstairs we had a portobello burger that was pretty good, but if we ever go back we won't be eating at the casino. We did eat at the restaurant at the hotel and it was OK - expensive, and not spectacular, but it was OK. Had a GREAT view =)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BSilva077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#19 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinook Winds Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinook Winds Casino Resort

Property: Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Address: 1501 NW 40th Pl, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4811 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinook Winds Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chinook Winds Casino Resort Hotel is an outstanding option for beachfront accommodations in Lincoln City. Our warm and friendly staff is ready to welcome you to our resort with multiple restaurants, arcade, child care facility, casino, 18-hole golf course, fitness center and complimentary on-site shuttle service. Hunt for glass floats on the beach, curl up with a cup of coffee and watch the waves, hit a bucket of balls in our indoor driving range, take in a show or enjoy the 24-hour gaming action. It is all available to you at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, where it is better at the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chinook Winds Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing