We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surftides Lincoln City
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

On a long road trip on the West Coast, we planned a one-night stop at Lincoln City, and had booked the Pelican Cove Resort (which is one of the top rated on TA). However, they made an error and double booked one of our two rooms so found us rooms instead at the Surftides, which they assured us was a much better hotel, at their expense. As a result, we paid nothing for our rooms so I don't know how much it would normally have cost us.

We had an ocean front room, which had everything we needed, and served the purpose quite adequately. The staff we met were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was OK - the service was prompt and friendly though the food reminded me of Denny's (though not nearly as bad - I don't think anything could be).

However, to me the whole place felt down-market, even bordering on seedy. The fittings in the room and bathroom all seemed very cheap and old, and the carpet looked distinctly tired - worn and slightly stained in places. The place looked cheap - and as long as the prices reflect this, then it's probably good value for a low-cost, beach-front resort.

So, I wouldn't choose to stay there again, but it was free and it was a reasonably acceptable alternative to the place we'd actually booked, so I've given a neutral 3-stars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for Surftides Lincoln City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

We received a referral from a friend who goes down each year to Surftides. We were really happy with the ocean-front accommodation for our 3 person family. We had two queen beds with new denim duvets and great throw pillows with their mermaid logo. The floors were hardwood - which was great for sandy-feet entering from the beach. The room was simply decorated but funky. The lobby was well done as well. They offered movie rentals for in-room viewing and lots of travel information too. They even had skewers so we could roast marshmallows in the fire-pits.

The restaurant was fantastic. We ate breakfast there every morning and had a 15% discount card from the front desk and kids under 10 ate for $5! Room service was great too the night we rented Twilight.
All in all, it was excellent value for money and great for families. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CocoColada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked in for 2 nights this past weekend and the Friday was a great rate for a superior oceanfront with 2 queen beds. We decided once we saw the room and view that we would stay another night,. Saturday was pretty much double of what we got on Friday night - which was bit of a shock, but if you averaged out the two nights, still a decent deal for a place on the beach. One thing we noticed about this hotel was the ease of the beach access. Beach is accessible from the hotel without climbing down stairs or over logs!! Just right out to the beatiful (but windy!!) beach. Buy a good kite! You will have a ton of fun with it! The resturant on the property was very reasonably priced - although some mix up with the special and when you could get it and whether you could get it with room service - but the hotel comped our meal so that was good that they acknoledged that they could have given better service in that aspect. The food was really good and still good and hot when it arrived in our room. Room was cleaned daily and done well. this hotel is not brand new, but have done a great job at making it look modern and functional with a microwave, mini fridge and dishes provided in the room. They should provide a broom and dustpan in each room for all the fun in the sun sand we brought back to the room!! Beds were super comfy and although there was no air conditioner, room was plenty cool enough with the balcony door open - and I believe the Labour Day weekend was warm for this area. Staff was all very nice and tried to make sure all was right with our stay. All in all a great stay and we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get oceanview - it is awesome! Check with hotel regarding room costs for each night - they fluctuate...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Good location had a oceanfront room with a spa in it. The lobby and decor is great. Mist the on-site restaurant was very cool and a great place to eat and have a drink. Good place to get away from the city. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kleimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We go to the Oregon Coast at least once a year (usually twice or more), and love our stays at the Surftides. You can't beat the location right on the beach. We've stayed at other places, some nice, some so-so, but we always seem to come back to Surftides. It's close to the casino, and there's a safeway and Wal-Greens nearby--not to mention a Starbucks--a necessity for this caffeine junkie.. The attached restaurant, "Mist", is also VERY convenient, and offers good value --I highly recommend the "German Pancake" for breakfast--an airy delight! Also, we seem to get the greatest sleep when we stay there--it must be the sea air and the sound of the surf. Our next trip will probably be in October---just in time to do some storm-watching and take advantage of off-season rates--and yes, we'll be staying at Surftides.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borgnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Me and my husband stayed here for our anniversary. Booked a room with a jacuzzi, fireplace and ocean view. We had a spectacular time. We definitely got what we paid for. Arrived at 2 even though check in is not til 4 we checked and our room was ready. Front desk service was great.

Room Tip: Plenty of space. Clean.
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkicurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

we booked 2 rooms here, one oceanfront plus an adjoining partial view room. we also ordered dinner 'to go' from the restaurant, total spent for ONE night and 4 people was over $325 dollars! the room is nice, with a great ocean view (ive actually stayed here a few other times) but this time there were problems.... first of all the phone kept ringing all day randomly with no one on the other end. what the...? i called the front desk and the crabby dark haired older lady who checked is in, said the phone can NOT ring unless she puts a call through, and that she has not put any calls through to our room. ok so we must be crazy.. as soon as i hang up the phone with her it rings again and again :( i take the phone off the hook, so now the phone in our adjoining room starts ringing and ringing with no one there! 2 phones off the hook now, good thing for cell phones eh?. the toilets in BOTH rooms flush by themselves all day and all night for no apparent reason... why? who knew, so again we call the front desk to ask about this and the same crabby lady said that she would send someone to check it, no one ever came. hard to sleep with toilets loudly FLUSHING themselves the entire night, and we had a long drive the next day! my husband who was in construction said that the plumbing issue/flushing could be because the building is shifting, and has structural problems... nice! we are on a cliff here, so the whole night i pictured the entire Hotel falling into the ocean while we were in it :( the food was good, but the servers were as rude as the front desk crabby woman. the guest laundry does not have enough washers/dryers to accommodate this HUGE hotel and i spent most of the evening going back and forth trying to wash a load of clothes. many other people were also waiting and complaining, and not exactly how i wanted to spend my last night on the ocean :( i would not stay here again, and for this amount of $$$ i expect better... i couldnt WAIT to leave this place and of course crabby lady was @ the desk again when we checked out, good lord does anyone else work here?!?! she never said hello, good morning NOTHING, she was looking down the whole time, and barely acknowledged us at all.. she just took the keys, handed me a receipt without a word then turned away. so i said "NO.. i did not have a good stay, not that u care or bothered to ask and by the way YOU ARE RUDE, and u really dont belong in this kind of job.. in fact maybe u should get a job at a mortuary where that stupid sour look on ur face would make sense" she just glared at me and we left VERY DISAPPOINTED!

P.S. the beach access is a joke, we were @ the top on the north end, so you go down all the stairs then way down across the parking lot, down 2 more sets of stairs, then here and there and under the building? eeww creepy and dirty, then down another long stairway and finally you step onto the sand?? ugh!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoreMeows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,062 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,756 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#16 of 35 in Lincoln City
374 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surftides Lincoln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surftides Lincoln City

Address: 2945 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4391
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: £92 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surftides Lincoln City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront multi-acre boutique hotel offering priceless memories for families, weddings, romantic getaways or just being with friends. Design and all the amenities you should expect in your perfect vacation. Indoor pool, on-site restaurant, indoor Jacuzzi, Workout room, Bike rentals, Basket Ball Court, multiple fire pits and the list goes on. All the above on-site amenities also come with crashing waves, cry of seagulls, panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, warm sand squishing between your toes and of course priceless memories with your loved ones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Surftides Lincoln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surftides Lincoln City Hotel Lincoln City
Lincoln City Surftides Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing