We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surftides Lincoln City
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I booked a partial ocean view non smoking room with one king bed. This was a one night trip for myself and my young son for Mothers Day and beach play time. The cost of the room was $74 after tax - a steal for an ocean FRONT property. An actual oceanview/oceanfront room would have been $120+ at the Surftides for the night and since I hadn't planned on being in the room a lot, partial view was fine with me.

We arrived at the hotel early, around 1pm and was told the room was not ready yet - I didn't expect it to be since checkin is 4pm but thought I'd check anyway. The man at the front desk was very nice, wish I asked for his name.

So, my son and I went down to the beach. The access is very easy and a short trip down a flight of stairs and you're on the sand! The beach there was very nice. Plenty of room for the hotel guests to spread out, didn't feel like anyone was invading our space etc. It was a perfect 74degree day and no wind, loved it.

We went back up and were able to check in at 3:30pm. The room was 602, first floor of 600bldg. Not one of the remodeled ones of course. I would recommend asking for 2nd floor to get a tad more of a view. Evenso you could still see the ocean and hear the waves.

The room description on the website was:
Partial View Room, Single King Bed
This room is located in our 600 Building and offer a partial view of the ocean.This room is not an ocean front room. Pets are not allowed in the Pool Area, lobby, Area, or Fire Pits area.

I wasn't expecting more than that. However, I was pleasantly suprised when we got in the room and found a fridge/microwave, sink and some dishes, silverware etc. The bed was very comfy. Soft, but not too soft.

Good size table and chairs in the sitting area, we played board games all night and forgot to check out the firepits for smores...oh well, next time!

We ate at Mist that night, taking advantage of the $5.99 steak dinner. Not a lot of steak there. But you could order two I guess haha. The garlic mash was yummy. The creme brulee? AMAZING! Children's men -- $4 for: mac-cheese (not kraft, more homemade YUMMINESS), cheeseburger, don't remember what else.

Swimming pool - older but goes from 3ft to 9ft and is indoors so it was a hit.

Oh the rooms have Keurig coffee makers, 4 pods in room to use, you can buy more for $2 each at front desk- or bring your own. They serve Tully's coffee.

Overall === we had a great time and would stay there again.

the fan was not working in the bathroom, minor detail that did not detract from our stay. i mentioned it to the front desk upon checkout.

Room Tip: If in 600bldg, ask for 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

We went to Surftides for our 20th Anniversary. Things could not have been much worse than they were. When we checked in to our room, the young man at the desk was having difficulty with everything and it took forever. We got to our room to discover the fireplace would not work. Instead of moving our room, we had to sit and wait for maintenance. He didn't fix the fireplace, he wiggled some wires until they sparked... this was the only way to make it work. As it was winter, the fireplace was a necessity, but it seemed a fire hazard. He no sooner left than the toilet wouldn't stop running. So, we had to wait for that to be fixed. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed when we arrived and the same dirt was on the floor when we left. The place was FILTHY.

The next day we returned to the room and it was unmade. They were annoyed that I wanted it made. It became evident that I had to do it myself. They change the linen every two days, unless they don't and they didn't -- after the third day, we left this hell hole.

Staff - was clueless and surly and uninterested. They had no restaurant recommendations. They had no interest in correcting problems.

Towels were the size of hand towels and paper thin. It was ridiculous.

Also, while the hotel sits on the beach, in spite of their advertising, you have to go down a flight of stairs.

It was the most disappointing stay EVER.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We normally do not stay in Lincoln City. Depoe Bay is where we go, but wife got a groupon so we just spent two nights there.

Wife enjoyed the easy beach access. A lot easier than most of Newport ocean front places. Room was nice. great ocean view watched two sunsets. We used frig and microwave, which was good, though we prefer more of a kitchen when we are at coast.

I grew up near Newport, sort of remember the various stages of the Surftides. The funny looking pool cover most memorable. I had not realized full history though, started in 1930s had a few major changes, but still in a family ownership, though not original family. And I like going to family owned places.

Wifes vote, great for two night stay, but will probably get more of a kitchen for any longer stay. we don't eat out much.

Pillows were a bit too large. had to sleep on edges or use extra in hall closet

Front desk efficient but not real welcoming

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our room was lovely - large, comfortable, nice balcony to enjoy the ocean. My bad rating is due to the bad customer service which transpired.
I had bought a groupon for one night and it was a getaway for my husband who had a stroke two and a half years ago. In the morning he awoke and said how free he felt to be out of his usual room in our house and he was sad to be leaving so soon.
I said I would check on prices for one more night.
So at 9am I went to the front desk and I asked the motel clerk if we could possibly get a good price on the second night at the rate of the groupon special that was two nights for $129. and she said yes they could do that. We were ecstatic!! I called work and told them we were staying an extra night and we got showered and ready for a day of touring.
Then I got a call from the front desk saying that we were scheduled for an 11 o'clock check out and why were we still in the room. I immediately went to the front desk to clear up the confusion.
That is when all mayhem broke out - long story short - they told us the motel clerk was incorrect to say we could get the room at the groupon price and we would have to pay $157. for an extra night - needless to say that was not the deal that I had agreed to nor would I have agreed to it. After much talk - they refused to honor the price that the clerk had told me and we had to pack up and leave as we could not afford the price they were now suggesting.
It was devastating and a poor show of customer service and of honoring their word as the clerk is their spokeswoman when she is in the capacity of front desk clerk. So we went down the road to PELICAN SHORES which is a smaller - less corporate establishment and found a room for $80.
The day was salvaged, but the bitter taste still lingers for Surftides.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lauda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

April 24th 2012 stayed at this hotel and found the rooms to be sapcious with an ocean view. The room had microwave, Kurig coffee maker, king bed, sofa and fire palce. The staff welcomed us and loked after our needs. The weather was not good with low clouds ann rain. After reading some comments about being outdated I thought we were in a different hotel as our rooms were very good and comfortable. There were nine of us at the Mist restaurant, all said the food was very good, with large portions, most had trouble finishing there meal. In the morning at no extra cost was breakfast, with juice, yogurt, bagels and fresh fruit. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were there the last three days of April and had a nice view of the ocean. No discount certificate was used on this. We had a fireplace in the room, but definitely did not need it. Despite the heat being shut off, the balcony door open and a box fan running 24 hours of the day (provide by the hotel), our room remained in the mid- to upper-70's at all times. The carpeting in the room was old and stained in places and they had yet to convert our room to a flat screen TV, The room next door, that I glanced into while it was being cleaned, did have one. Room was luck of the draw, i guess. Facilities were good, except sauna would not heat, steam room was closed and hot tub was very sandy. Pool was great. Restaurant was excellent, free coffee in main area and cookies at times. We might stay again if the broken stuff was repaired.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We were given a certificate from groupon to get away to this resort. The rooms were a bit outdated, but comfortable with a table, desk, tv and kitchenette with microwave, sink, Kurig coffee machine and a fridge. We had a private balcony which was right over the sandy beach. Each evening we were given a courtesy call to check to make sure everything was going well and even an invite to join other guests for live entertainment in the lounge. The housekeeper even came in and washed our dishes for us and gave us fresh towels and changed the trash out. I was impressed with the recycling bin and an ipod docking alarm clock, which shows that they are doing what they can to be up to date. The beds were great, pillows soft and we slept with the balcony door cracked open to hear the ocean. The sound of the ocean drowned out noise from other guests, etc. There was a pool, but we hardly left our room. We were there to rest and rejuvenate, that is exactly what we did.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naders1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,095 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
1.1 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#18 of 35 in Lincoln City
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surftides Lincoln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surftides Lincoln City

Address: 2945 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4391
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: £91 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surftides Lincoln City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront multi-acre boutique hotel offering priceless memories for families, weddings, romantic getaways or just being with friends. Design and all the amenities you should expect in your perfect vacation. Indoor pool, on-site restaurant, indoor Jacuzzi, Workout room, Bike rentals, Basket Ball Court, multiple fire pits and the list goes on. All the above on-site amenities also come with crashing waves, cry of seagulls, panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, warm sand squishing between your toes and of course priceless memories with your loved ones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Surftides Lincoln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surftides Lincoln City Hotel Lincoln City
Lincoln City Surftides Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing