We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful complement to Opal Creek Wilderness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyons
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elkhorn Valley Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Lyons B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful complement to Opal Creek Wilderness”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were planning on camping somewhere in the vicinity of Opal Creek when my husband found a listing for Elkhorn Valley Inn B&B. We were able to make a last minute reservation midweek to sleep in the Whispering Rose Room in a feather bed. The view of Elkhorn Mountain from the back porch was spectacular - totally forested from one end to the other. Our Innkeeper, Larry, prepared a scrumptious breakfast including rosemary potatoes. The silence of the surroundings, the wide sky for skygazing begs us to return.

Room Tip: 4 rooms in the main house and one cottage. Only 1 room and cottage have private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
southwest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Such a perfect place for a mother-daughter getaway! Everything was delightful --the Garden Gate room with it's private upper deck, wonderful host and hostess, outrageously delicious breakfast, gorgeous setting -- it was all perfect! We hope to return with our husbands.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbareSouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Adorable B&B with beautiful surroundings. The innkeeper(s) were so on top of things and willing to go the extra mile for our comfort. Delicious breakfast each time! Well worth the money and the trip! The horses were a nice bonus!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suziql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If there is a "5" star rating for B & B's this one definately is!!!!..A beautiful and serene surroundings. Spectaular view of treed mountains. Coffee, tea and homemade cookies available anytime night or day. And now the review for the breakfast!!!! OMG!!!!..absolutely fabulous. Stayed 3 nights and each breakfast was a different homemade delight...fresh picked from the garden blueberry pancakes...scrambled eggs with sourcreme and meat that melted in your mouth....sausage quiche...,homemade banana bread sourdough bread. Fresh orange juice, yogurt with fresh blueberries,fresh fruit everyday...I could go on and on...It's just plain wonderful....Hostees and Host Robin and Larry are so gracious. Myself and 3 others stayed in the 2 rooms that have their own deck and such privacy. Hiking and golf close by. This is just a marvelous R & R spot. You won't be sorry!!!!

Room Tip: any room at this B&B is great...and the cottage is lovely...didn't stay in the cottage but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this B&B, in great part due to the friendly innkeepers. Larry and Robin are truly nice people and the setting is so serene and the air smells so fresh. We stayed in the cottage so we could use the BBQ to make our dinner. We have been coming to the area to play golf at the Elkhorn Valley Golf course, which we also recommend for its beauty and picturesque setting. The breakfasts were also really tasty and made with great care. I have not had cinnamon rolls made fresh in a long while. We will be back again to pair our love of the outdoors and the hospitality of the B&B.

Room Tip: The cottage allows for extra space to relax and enjoy as well as cook your own meals beyond breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana97219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St John, Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I just returned home from my third visit to the Elkhorn Valley Inn B&B. I had very pleasant memories of my previous two visits and decided to return, this time with my husband and adult son.

The setting for this charming country home is spectacular and the surroundings are so very quiet. The only ambient sound is the soft trickling of water in the creek that runs behind the house. And it's on the wraparound porch above this creek that breakfast is served, weather permitting. From here you see only the lush greenness and the mountains beyond.

On previous visits, once alone and another time with my young granddaughter, I stayed in Robin's Nest, one of the upstairs bedrooms that had its own bath and a cozy gas fireplace that warmed the room nicely when the night got chilly. From this room I had access to a deck with a chaise and a wonderful view. At the top of the stairs leading to the room is a shared space with comfy chairs, a fireplace, TV and lots of movies and books. Down the stairs is a nook with Robin's homemade cookies and hot water with a selection of teas and cocoa.

My latest visit was to Rene's Cabin. We loved it! Plenty of room for the three of us, very adequate kitchen, gas fireplace inside and a wood burning one out on the patio. We enjoyed being outside, sipping wine by the fire while our dinner cooked on the grill, maybe catching sight of a deer or two across the lawn.

Best of all is the hospitality of the hosts. Robin and her son Larry are extremely accommodating about food preferences and anything else they can possibly provide. One or the other of them is nearly always nearby, but never intrusive. They seem to anticipate your needs before you do. Larry even tended our outdoor fireplace when he noticed it was burning low. Breakfast is always tasty and nicely presented, whether served outside or in the country kitchen with its big wood burning fireplace.

I hope to return the next time I'm visiting Oregon! Thanks, Robin and Larry.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stjohnsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Approaching from a winding road which switches from pavement to gravel to pavement again, taking care to watch out for a few dangerous potholes, you will spot a roadside sign: “Elk Horn Bed and Breakfast.” Enter here. If it is a colder season, two or three smoking chimneys may greet you in the spacious driveway

Built in the 1930s and situated on 55 acres of pure, country joy, this lovely house was purchased a decade ago turned into a bed and breakfast. Two creeks run across the backyard, just below the 50 or so foot drop off of the back patio. It is a lush, green ampitheater of tall pines and grassy meadows. The pleasant sound of flowing water abounds, as do the songs of birds and the ribbits of frogs. I have even heard rumors of salamanders running around.

The rustic yet modern feel of the home will comfort you, bringing back memories of of so-and-so’s lovely country home – or perhaps your own, if you are lucky enough to have one. We stayed in the Robin Nest, a long and wide room with a fireplace, king-sized bed, and plush carpets. Larry will give you a tour. If he is not in, you will meet his mother, a should-be prize winning pancake chef. I will not give away her secret ingredient.

You will not go hungry when you stay here. Both quality and quantity are the core values of the fine breakfasts served. The blue-berries are homegrown. Larry will tell you how two varieties are required for proper pollination.

It feels like home. Larry is a true gentleman and a fine cook. He may even put on a concert on the back porch with his acoustic guitar. And he should not shy away from those vocals. He has the golden, baritone voice of a country/folk singer.

Highly recommended by both the lady and I, we cannot say a single negative word about the whole experience. A great nest from which to venture out on hikes, we climbed Henline Mountain all the way into the snow caps and may go back in the summer when all of that has melted.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons
22.9 mi away
Silverton Inn and Suites
Silverton Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Lodge at Detroit Lake
22.6 mi away
Oregon Garden Resort
Oregon Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Bird & Hat Inn
Bird & Hat Inn
#2 of 3 in Stayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Valley Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Valley Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Elkhorn Valley Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33016 N Fork Rd SE, Lyons, OR 97358-9743
Region: United States > Oregon > Lyons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lyons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover hospitality and charm within the beauty of God's nature amid the quiet sanctuary of the Oregon Santiam National Forest. Tucked away from the bustle of the city, our B&B will help you reconnect with nature. Fall asleep to the sound of Fish Creek outside your bedroom window as you relax into a cozy bed next to a private fireplace. Wake refreshed as you experience the warmth of the new day sunrise over Elkhorn Mountain and enjoy a hearty home-cooked breakfast. Come join us! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing