We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful meal”

Geno's Italian Grill
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Madras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful meal”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Three of us dropped in for a meal, hubby and mom tried the soup and mom got a quart to go home with her it was that good. Can't remember the name but it was creamy tomato base. All together our 3 meals were under $50. The portions are good sized, with salad or soup and bread. Our waiter was wonderful, he knew the menu very well and was able to give great suggestions. We are looking forward to trying a pizza when we visit next time. Cheers

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good alternative to Mexican food in Madras”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stopped in Madras while on a trip through Oregon and were sceptical when we viewed the restaurant options. We had had enough Mexican food, so Geno's seemed like the best of a bad lot. We were pleasantly surprised. I ordered Geno's pork chops with a brandy reduction, apples and dried cherries, and they were delicious, as were the Tuscan mashed potatoes and zucchini. The restaurant itself was a surprise, much more urban and stylish than I would have expected in that location. Service was good, and we were more than satisfied with our meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salcal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metolius OR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding a real treat!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is the first time at Genos, we were treated like old friends, very pleasant wait staff, all with smiles. The owner went from table to table inquiring about everyones meal. The Food is Outstanding, the rib eye steak was tender w/the best flavor, oh my, the Halibut was delicious, yum, everything was perfect..this is not a chain restaurant, food is prepared fresh and delisious. will be back and will bring any visitors...cant wait to try other items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cap409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food/Great Service”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Eight of us entered a full restaurant and within minutes we were seated in an adjoining room which made us feel very special indeed. The food and service were exceptional.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, OR
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fuhgeddaboudit...”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is about as Italian as canned Chow Mein. You are greeted politely at the door, but that's the high point of your visit. You are seated at a folding fiberglass picnic table (think Costco) in folding chairs. (Your High School cafeteria did better!) This is the ground floor of an office building and the cavernous room has all the charm of your dentist's reception area, except the dentist has old magazines and padded furniture. .

The menu starts with several poor cuts of steak, made Italian by dropping Gorgonzola on top. (Wow!) You note that the prices have cleverly been increased by handwriting over the top of the previous prices -- probably in honor of tourists coming to town. The wine list includes nearly a dozen cheap wines, except that they are marked up by 3X -- bargain wines made expensive!

You would get better Italian food at Denny's or IHop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardener101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geno's Italian Grill also viewed

Madras, Central Oregon
Madras, Central Oregon
 
Madras, Central Oregon
 

Been to Geno's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing