We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers bucket list continued -Still fairly reliable and the staff are exceptional-who needs a TV?”
Review of Quality Inn Madras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn Madras
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Madras
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is central for visits in the area. What has become the annual sojourn to central Oregon now involves staying at the BW Madras rather that Prineville or Sisters as it offers very attentive staff, serviceable breakfasts, clean pleasant rooms with good beds. Sadly, though, the ever so important hot tub was no operating. This is a 1st and wish we had checked with hotel before arriving. The hot tub has played a part of the evening relaxation especially when you've been out on field trips and need some extra R & R. The pool was open. It is adjacent to 1 of 2 buildings with room; but this year it was more of a curse than a blessing with extremely loud children screaming in the water, around the pool, outside the pool fence and the passage ways and within feet to other occupants rooms. These children were staying at the farthest set of rooms from the location of the pool. Not sure how the hotel could gently convey a request the PARENTS of the pool users to be appreciative of the other guests and to try and attend to them when they left their room; rather than to leave them on their own. Not sure what the laws are in Oregon for kids to be out without parents -but with the configuration of the buildings and an alley that runs through the property- there must be some kind of security issues or regulations, if not laws. This was really brought home the night 3 pseudo homeless young and wired people were roaming the parking lot, sidewalks and alley for several hours from light to sundown. Finally it was time to strike up a conversation and say hi. Aside from being visibly nervous and taken aback they responded with rapid, incoherent babble and eventually slide away into the night.
But the kicker was soon to come. The night the travelling bikers took up residence at the pool was an experience. I always thought glass bottles or glass of any kind were not permitted around a pool. On this occasion the pool was suddenly occupied these men and women of leather chaps and 'cool helmuts'. The event as experienced, voluntarily or not, by fellow travelers whose rooms situated on 2 floors around 2 sides of the pool would have been exposed to the sounds of 'a party' of perhaps 4, sounding like 8 guests until 10 or 10:30 ish when they would be forced (by the turning off of lights) to take 'it' somewhere else (like say your rooms?) however .... there was a form of interlude to the 'happenings' at the pool when the pizza delivery person to pool-side (resembling something out of SNL) withstood the reprimand for the lack of anchovies. In desperation the poor delivery person brought to their attention the best she could in attempting to salvage her tips by stating " I brought extra jalapenos !" whereby the 'tribe' actually brought the sound level down a bit and joined in caucus to determine the tip while several occupants of on looking rooms were forcibly made witnesses. I would think this activity, while as 'guests' at the BW Madras, or anywhere, could prove to be awkward to suggest a modicum of awareness of others within a block radius and their need for peace, by any employee. All of the attributes of this BW overshadows the fact that all traffic, which includes long haul semis, moving south in central Oregon, is but a few feet from the lobby door. The grounds plan must have taken this into consideration and for that reason rooms are situated to another end of the property - well done! However the 'party-hearty' or 'come alive for a $1.05' inspired 'persons' could not be preplanned in the event of their invasion to an establishment; not at the BW Madras, not at the Four Seasons Vancouver or the Sheraton Villa Burnaby. Full service hotels have 'security' personnel to handle 'the thoughtless' whereas this little motel has but 1 or 2 employees attending to the needs of their guests. It's a pity that some folks behave poorer than had "they'd been raised by wolves" .
At the time we were guests there was a crew in from Utah on a combination work/vacation trip in a couple of company pickups who bided their leisure time on a limited patch of grass off the parking lot. Every evening they quietly set up their fabulous bar-b-q, made dinner and enjoyed adult beverage. Their effect was the opposite of the 'weekend wanna-be bikers'. The hardworking G. O. Boys offered remnants of that evenings steaks to the visiting dogs at BW. They were remarkably kind, considerate, always friendly and almost made others feel like, for a very short time, you were part of a community. They worked hard and the played nice with others and we really really hope to see them their again. Word to the BW Madra - please get that hot tub working as there are folks working, retired and inbetweeners who could have truly used it.
We will return - and to think - who needs a TV ? A stay here can be like being in the middle of a reality-tv show ? The entertainment can be up to YOU.

The beds are good. The rooms are clean. The location is the location. The staff are accommodating and kind. We will call ahead to the desk to ensure the tub is up and running on the next visit. .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT1Madras, General Manager at Quality Inn Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your constructive criticism and we were able to get the hot-tub open during the first week of July. We do appreciate the patience of our guests while we were under construction and getting the pool and hot-tub re-opened. We hope to see you next year and will have the pool and hot-tub opened on-time, weather permitting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Madras
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel providesa very nice interlude while travelling highway 97. The hotel is easy to find, parking is good, staff are friendly and the free breakfast is exceptional. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT1Madras, General Manager at Quality Inn Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words and nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay while here in Madras and look forward to your next visit. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It was very good to have a nice hot breakfast before we left. The food was freshly cooked and very tasty. The staff are all very nice and helpful. We ate at the local Italian restaraunt, and it was the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT1Madras, General Manager at Quality Inn Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words and I will pass this on the nice comments to the rest of the staff and the owner and Geno's. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Pool was closed - under repair with floating debris. When I told the staff that we were not warned about the pool closure, I was told it was on the website. I have since viewed the web and see at the end of the description the comment that it may not be open before July 1." The fact that it was closed for repair should have been clearly indicated. The room had popcorn ceilings and exterior grounds were non-existent. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT1Madras, General Manager at Quality Inn Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

I apologize that your expectations were not met during your stay. I know that we are an older building and we still try to enhance our guest rooms with new styles and beds we did do a major overhaul of our guest rooms back in 2008 and in the next couple of years we will undergo another room renovation in order to keep our rooms updated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately for us there was a family in the next room, there must be tissue paper walls because the noise coming through was VERY loud. A shame because otherwise I would have had no complaint at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT1Madras, General Manager at Quality Inn Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind words and I do apologize for the inconvenience of the noise from the neighboring guests. If at anytime this happens again on your travels please call us down at the front desk and let us know. If it is negatively impacting you it is probably affecting others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

For my partner and myself, staying in Madras is a good alternative to Redmond or Bend when the focus of activities centers around Cove Palisades or Smith Rock State Parks. It's also the first "city" you enter after coming over Mt. Hood on Hwy 26 from Portland. Madras is small, cute, and generally less expensive than Redmond or Bend, and there are a small selection of interesting restaurants. So, staying in Madras at the Best Western for us turns out to be a mixed blessing. Our recent two-night stay was our second stay at this property.

First, the disadvantages:
1) The Best Western Madras is an old building. The design dates from a time when motels had open corridors and room windows opened onto those corridors; hence, no privacy unless window shades are closed. It's hard to work around these limitations, but with newer mid-level establishments like Hampton Inn, Fairfield Inn, Comfort/Sleep Inn, etc. (none of which are in Madras) the Best Western Madras Inn faces a higher bar that is tough to meet or exceed. Our room (204) was at the top of the stairs, and in the morning everyone on the second floor going down to the breakfast room on the first floor passed our window. Conversely, in the evening everyone did the same in reverse going to their rooms.
2) The construction around the outdoor pool at the moment is creating a mess, and this will hopefully be finished soon. In the meantime, the property is not pretty.
3) The bed is adequate. Unlike other more "luxurious" establishments, however, you will not want to take this bed home!

Advantages:
1) Location near Crooked River National Grasslands, Cove Palisades and Smith Rock State Parks and within walking distance of several decent restaurants in Madras.
2) The shower in the room is undoubtedly the best feature of the hotel.
3) 24 hour fitness room is very nicely equipped!
4) Complimentary wi-fi is, indeed, quite fast; but, one must log on frequently during a single session.
5) Complimentary breakfast offers a wide range of choices, though items tended to run out quickly. Coffee, however, was weak and needs to be strengthened, especially for Portland tastes.
6) Friendly service. Staff at the front desk were courteous.

At the right price (less than $100 per night with tax) the Best Western Madras can be a decent value. Over that, there are probably better choices for the money in Redmond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther away from the office and you will lessen the possibility of many people walki...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitravelerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT1Madras, General Manager at Quality Inn Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your Constuctive Criticism, I do appreciate an opinion that allows us to look back at ourselves from a new pair of eyes and reassess the direction that we want to portray our property. I do hope to see you again and maybe here some more feedback on how we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed in Madras with my sister, brother-in-law, their baby, while we were visiting our grandmother.

Our room was clean and comfortable, and fairly well-decorated. Toiletries and coffee were "budget" quality and meagerly stocked, but you could request more at the front desk. We expected this from a modest motel in Madras, OR. We mostly chose this motel because of its location... and because a Best Western is usually a pretty reliable place to stay.

What we didn't expect was the construction all around the pool area, which is central to the property. This gave the whole property a pretty sketchy, ugly atmosphere. The central courtyard was dominated by gross, dirty, half-drained pool and hot tub, and construction equipment strewn about at random, all surrounded by tall chain-link construction fencing.

On Monday morning there was construction *right* outside our window. (Our room was on the second level, so this was not pool construction.) First of all, the noise woke us up. Second, we didn't feel comfortable opening our curtains because there was a construction worker on a ladder doing some patching of the stucco directly outside the window. At one point my sister couldn't even get down the stairs because there was a huge 2-story ladder blocking the bottom of the stair case! Really professional... I would think that the hotel management would be smart enough, and considerate enough, to not put guests in this particular room if they had construction work scheduled to occur right outside the room's window. There were plenty of empty rooms surrounding us.

Customer service at this motel was so-so.

The maid came early (10am?) on Sunday morning, and knocked... and knocked... and knocked, all while we were yelling through the door that we weren't ready. So we opened the door and told her that we were not ready yet. (Oops, we'd forgotten to put out the "do not disturb" sign.) We got ready and left shortly after that... and the maids never came back. We discovered, when we returned late in the day, that the garbage had never been taken out, and TP and towels had never been restocked. (Remember we had a baby with us, and my sister was using disposable diapers for this trip, plus we had some messes, so maid service was needed!)

The gentleman at the front desk was friendly when I called from our room, and he promptly came up to collect our garbage and bring us fresh towels. But I was not thrilled about having to "take out the garbage" and replace the can liners, partly because I thought I was paying maids to do this, and partly because I happen to be hugely pregnant. Haha.

The next day we got some breakfast, and we were happy to find that they left the breakfast room open past 9am when breakfast was scheduled to end. We missed the hot breakfast, but there was plenty of coffee, cereal, milk, oatmeal, bread for toast, pastries, and fresh fruit. Plus the TV was airing the 700 Club, so the conservative Christians out there would have loved it.

When my sister checked us out, she mentioned that the girl at the front desk was pretty unfriendly. Not directly rude or hostile, but curt... sighing and rolling her eyes when the phone rang.

Overall we expected more of a Best Western. We realize that this is not a luxury hotel. But our experience was marred by a bad construction scene and sub-par customer service. We probably should have just stayed at Cross Keys Station.

Room Tip: Request a room as far from any current construction as you can get.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookleyPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT1Madras, General Manager at Quality Inn Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your response, unfortunately we were in the middle of improvements during your stay and it negatively impacted your stay. I apologize and want you to know that the construction has been completed and hopefully we can see you the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madras
0.5 mi away
Inn at Cross Keys Station
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn
23.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Redmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Madras OR
Motel 6 Madras OR
#3 of 5 in Madras
62 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Warm Springs
568 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hub Motel
Hub Motel
#8 of 8 in Redmond
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Madras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Madras

Address: 12 SW 4th St, Madras, OR 97741-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Madras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Madras
Price Range: £57 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Madras 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn Madras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madras Best Western
Best Western Madras Hotel
Quality Inn Madras Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing