We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always stay here everytime I come to Manzanita.”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Ocean front (walk right out your door and the beach is steps away)with a great view. Great value, clean, friendly place to visit. Short walk to wonderful shops, spas, restaraunts, and grocery store. The staff is very accomodating and sincerely want your stay to be a good one.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ra6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel was fine, we've stayed here before, but we literally had the worst upstairs neighbors in the world. They kept us awake until 4 a.m. partying outside, stomping around upstairs, etc.

I know that this isn't the hotel's fault, but it would have been nice if the hotel offered a late night number or someone to call to report this. We asked the neighbors to call (totally skeezy people, by the way), but to no avail. I think we both slept a total of 3 hours and could not get out of there fast enough the next morning. Again, I realize you can't pick your neighbors, but the experience soured us on the hotel, and we won't be back.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor, ocean view room, or don't go at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Manzanita is a cute little, hide-away, a great spot to relax and unwind. Sunset Surf Motel recently updated their rooms and offer a good place to stay at a great price. It is literally right across the street from the beach. You can see the ocean from your room. It's quiet and clean. Well worth it. They also offer discounts (web specials) during off season.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We visited this motel a year ago for a one night stay. We decided to give this place one more try for our annual beach trip to watch the Oscars and boy are we glad we did! We paid $70 (tax included) for a room in the Ashley Bldg. It had a full kitchen and fire place complete with a great view of the ocean.

They are making some much needed updates throughout the entire property. Updates we noticed since last year include new flat screen TVs & remodeled kitchens. It looked like some of the rooms had new furniture as well.

This place is the best value we've found on the Oregon Coast!

Room Tip: I think they all have views of the ocean so you should be good. We've always stayed in the Ashle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very good location for beach lovers. Very affordable. Just a short 30 ft. walk across a little used street & you're on the beach. Also within easy walking distance of some nice places to eat and shop. The rooms are comfy and clean. Our room had very good appliances, cookware & tableware if we wanted to cook in. Absolutely no trace that we were in a pet friendly unit. Spotless! Our Siberian loved it. She also loved social networking with her fellow canines on the beach & in town. This part of Manzanita is very pet friendly. They have doggie sanitation stations here & there and some businesses put out water dishes in front of their place. Sunset Surf is definitely on our list of return visits.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms allow you to let your pet outside on a tethered leash
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Andersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. Pet friendly, across the street from the beach and walking distance to everything you need! Even on street level lodging had a great view of the ocean. The room was somewhat dated but clean and didn't smell. Perfect for our little family. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Amazing price to be right on the ocean! We had an ocean view for $60 (with the off season discount). It was a little noisy on the bottom floor (we could hear the people in the room upstairs walking). But for 60 bucks, right on the ocean-for a room with 3 2 queens and a spotless bathroom, I can hardly complain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
273 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,235 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
846 reviews
7.5 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range: £50 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing