We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quiet beach”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The location is awesome. The beach view was wonderful. Beach access easy. It was the "off" season but the beach was never crowded. Great beach for campfires. Would definitely stay here again. Maid service didn't happen, but we were ok with that - not everyone would be ~ we were able to get fresh towels from the office though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank id_funnyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Surf Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here in the Budd building in June 2013. We had a second floor room with a balcony overlooking the beach and it was perfect for our family of three. The room furnishings could use a refresh, but it was clean and the price is low. It was perfect for our small family - a separate bedroom where our toddler could go to bed early while my husband and I enjoyed the gas fireplace in the main room. If you have little ones, be sure to get a second floor room so that they can't escape. The first floor opens directly to a patio with access to the street/beach. Our two year old figured out how to open the sliding glass door within minutes of arrival, so the private balcony was a welcome security measure. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Plus, we just love Manzanita. A quiet town but plenty of cute shops and restaurants for meandering without the crowds of Cannon Beach or Seaside. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you have little ones, be sure to get a second floor room so that they can't escape. The firs...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

With two young kids, we needed a place with two separate sleeping areas. This is a hard criteria to meet when only going away for one night. This place fit the bill just fine. The rooms were adequate, especially given the proximity to nature's playground. The junior suite states it has a kitchenette, which is a bit of a misnomer. It has a microwave, toaster and electric skillet and a large mini fridge. With a little planning, eating in would be easy. The location makes up for the lack of true kitchen facilities.

A bigger issue was the smoking. Old school ash trays were mounted on the walls outside of most rooms and the smell of smoke was noticeable at times. A better smoking policy could help with this issue, in addition to removal of the wall mounted ash trays.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this place for a short get away to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Location couldn't be better. Quiet. Great views. We were in the new building that was separate. I Have been here before in the older section and would come back again. It is nice to have the kitchenette even if you just use for bubbly and snacks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WitchyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was very impressed with our accommodations, it was very clean and spacious. We prefer rooms that do not allow pets, since beach, sand and dogs can make a real mess. This was a non-dog room, and it was great.
We highly recommend Sunset Surf, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eivind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I would recommend staying here, the location is perfect expecially on the second floors of buildings. For the price you can't beat it, the rooms are basic, they have been somewhat updated but still need a little help with decor. The room we stayed in was clean. My only problem was receptionist was not too friendly checking in, and I don't like all the hand printed signs which make a first impression not good. I feel there should be a bathroom in lobby if your room is not ready. The nearest restroom is 4 blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

These are fairly priced rooms with a terrific ocean view in a quiet little town. The room we stayed in had been recently updated with a nice kitchenette, tv, and comfy bed. The view is a 10. The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful. We'd happily say there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
260 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,100 reviews
19.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Manzanita
The Inn at Manzanita
#4 of 4 in Manzanita
101 reviews
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range: £56 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing