We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here one stormy November weekend when our friends were renting a house nearby. It was clean and the staff was friendly. It's right across the street from the beach, which is great. We had a full ocean view (actually the entire ocean-side wall of our room was glass, which was kind of surprising at first, but there were curtains to cover it.) We misplaced one of the keys (real keys, not key cards) and the staff just said "oh well, if you find it, mail it back" (which we did). My only complaint, which is minor, is that I couldn't get the hair dryer to work. I fully expect they would have provided me with another one if I had asked.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portlandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    294
    65
    20
    10
See reviews for
204
268
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Sunset Surf Motel is a little jewel nestled in the friendly, charming little town of Manzanita, Oregon. Our stay was a "study/relax get-away". Four of us decided to find a place to get some work done and spend sometime reconnecting with nature. This was the perfect place to do that! We enjoyed our stay so much that no one wanted to leave :)
We stayed at the Sunset Surf Motel in Nov 13. Our room was very large and comfortable. There was a beautiful view of the ocean and a balcony to sit and enjoy the sounds of the waves rolling in and out. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed for cooking: appliances, utensils, plates, glasses, etc. That was a real surprise! Next time we will only take food with us :)
Yes, there will be a next time!

Room Tip: Higher floors can see the ocean from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sunset Surf and thank you for the feedback. It is always wonderful to hear from our customers and we definitely look forward to your visit next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The ocean view rooms with balconies are the only ones to write about at the Sunset Surf. The location and price is great and the rooms with the kitchens are large. It is rather old and not anywhere near a luxury hotel and the ocean air has taken a toll on the place. Lots of foot traffic right in front, so the first floor seems like a fish bowl. You can walk just across the street to a magnificent beach were you are allowed to have a camp fire.
It's the only hotel in town with an outdoor pool (summer only). Well worth the price if its the beach experience you're after. Back rooms not so great. Unbelievable take out deli sandwiches at the Little Apple grocery store a couple blocks away. Rustic local feel at the Sandune with good but a bit too spendy pub food and a fireplace. Best tiny romantic spot: "Vino" for good wine and limited but artistic small plates. Walk to it in mid town & 2 good Mexican places. Best Breakfast by far at Wanda's a retro designed cafe on 101 toward Nehalem on the left,about a couple of miles by car. Bunk house has good, big, greasy spoon style breakfasts also toward Nehalem but too greasy for my taste. The Big Wave has mainstream food on 101. Down dirty and cheap pool and booze at the Lighthouse on 101.

Room Tip: South West top floor top not behind the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Manzanita. We are in the midst of upgrades to the rooms this offseason, and the building you stayed in (Budd) is in line for it this winter. We will be renovating the kitchens similar to the other buildings from earlier this year. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sunset Surf in November 2013. We were very happy with our room! It was much larger than we were expecting, and had fantastic views of the beach. It was literally right across the road. It was quiet and clean, and the staff was very friendly. The town of Manzanita was quite charming, and there was plenty of trails and parks to explore, even though it was November. If we are fortunate enough to get to Oregon again, we will be staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Budd addition-a block away from the main office, but the rooms were larger and stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalama, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were here last year in November and liked it so much we came back this year and plan to make it a fall ritual. We like to get the upstairs room because of the great view of the ocean. The rates are reasonable for the area (around $70 a night). Full kitchen,(stove,fridge, microwave and all the utensils.) Bed was OK but sofa a bit uncomfortable. Only warnings I have is the hot water is SCALDING hot so don't fill the tub and jump in and the WI-FI was going in and out but we weren't there to get online.. Once again,like everyone else, the view is wonderful and the beach is right across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigEIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was my 3rd visit to Sunset Surf in the fall, and I will return. The location is unbeatable with the beach right across the (very quiet) street, and spectacular views of the sunsets. The room has been refurnished, wifi is available, and the staff are accommodating. Nearby is the Little Apple grocery store with a great selection of deli and other foods, so meals are easy if you choose to eat in, although there are a number of reasonable restuarants. Other small boutique-like in Manzanita make for interesting shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblomkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The motel is a bit dated, there aren't a lot of amenities but the location can't be topped for being right on the beach.
One odd thing: it's hard to make a reservation at times. We called the 800# for three days and got No Answer!! Finally on the 4th day of trying someone answered. Then the young woman at check in was pretty indifferent and non engaged. They must have more business than they need. We have our favorite rooms so we are willing to put up with less than stellar front desk service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marialulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing