We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value on the Coast”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a great time at the Sunset Surf Motel, not only was the room clean and well appointed, there was a kitchen and ocean view. Manzanita is a really cute town and not far from Cannon Beach. If you are looking for a good rate I would definitely recommend this. We were traveling in the off-season so we got out Junior Suite (One bedroom) for only $62 dollars a night!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Best value right on the beach, balcony , dog friendly rooms, tubs, full kitchen, fireplace, comfy beds, stayed in a March and even in the rain was awesome to walk the sands of Manzanita! Kitchen well stocked, they give you plenty of fluffy white towels, can't think of a negative thing to say! Quiet in the Budd building upstairs!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EVowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our second stay in the Bud Building. The rooms are spotless, steps from the beach and shops, and it's extremely handy having a full kitchen. Unfortunately, despite signs prohibiting, my neighbors smoked on their balconies, and patios - which meant my fresh sea air was polluted with burning tobacco. Pets are allowed, so there are some yipping dogs - which often seem to belong to the smokers.

Overall a great place to stay if you want to be spitting distance to a beautiful sandy beach, and avail yourself of the good food in Manzanita.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenredpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We decided mid-day Saturday to spend the night on the coast so that we could have all day Sunday to have fun hiking and exploring. The room was small, but the bed gave us the best rest in quite some time. The shower also was very good. Even though we did not linger in Manzanita, this is a good location by the beach and visitor center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirtman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is our 3rd year in a row staying at Sunset Surf. We've come down to watch the Oscars and have a mid-winter getaway. We've always stayed in the Ashley building, top floor. While the location is great, it seems as though the hotel has not made improvements since last year. The kitchen and TV were upgraded last time we went. This was a good sign, it told us they were putting effort into fixing up the place. This time, I expected to see more improvements but didn't. The pillows and sheets were poor quality. They bathroom was fine but seemed like it could use a deep cleaning.

If this hotel were in Cannon Beach, I think we'd be back next year but since many of our favorite places to eat are not in Manzanita, I think we'll stay in bit bigger beach town next trip.

Room Tip: Top floor for best ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have spent one weekend at the sunset surf, after a few other weekends at other Manzanita establishments. Overall, it's a great value for those of us looking to travel with dogs (ours absolute LOVES the beach and any sort of roadtrip, so leaving her at home is never an option). I was a little disappointed to find that the "full ocean view" advertised on the room description was actually a full ocean view through the fenced-in swimming pool area (couldn't really see the ocean unless I stood on my toes and looked over the fence). But, I could have easily looked at a map and determined that the room wouldn't have the romantic ocean view I was looking for. Aside from that, the bed was comfortable, the fireplace was cozy (gas, runs on a timer that emits a ticking noise as the minutes pass...kind of disruptive, but you get over it). The kitchenette would make it easy to spend a week there (just the right number of accoutrement). My parents stayed a few months before us and we visited their room- top floor, full ocean view, completely ideal. Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay at the sunset surf. Just be sure to check the maps on their website to know exactly what room you're getting in to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_FSPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your review of the Sunset Surf motel. We're happy to hear you were able to enjoy the beach with your pets! As you have pointed out on the room description/classification, we're currently working to update our reservation/booking system to better reflect the upper/lower floors and the available views from each room. Once the update is ready, we hope it will provide a better description of our rooms to our guests.

Sincerely,
Sunset Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have been visiting this motel at least 3 or 4 times over the last 3 years. We always book the room above the reception: the king room in the original building. And we bring most of what we need to stay comfortable (extra blankets, pillows, dvds), since the couch is old and rattan style and not very cosy by itself. But we don't mind since the room is affordable, clean and the view of the ocean is breath taking. We were excited to hear that they did some -very needed- renovations.
Our drive is about 6 hours. When we arrived there, we were about one hour early before check in, but the room was dark and it didn't appear that we couldn't get in. Most hotels, I have been, haven't had an issue if it is not right after check out. Anyways, the front desk didn't let us in and we had to spend time otherwise.
As we opened the room, we smelled a very strong odor that seems to be coming from the cleaning products or from the renovated bathroom. It was so bad that it triggered a slight allergic reaction. First we wanted to complaint to the front desk, but we had bad experiences in the past with the front desk, so we suffered through the smell by leaving all windows open during our 3 day stay. Our stay was in February on a holiday weekend and the hotel was booked out. Not good changes to change the room which is the whole reason why we are using this hotel in the fist place.
The bathroom is renovated quite nicely, but as before the toilet seat isn't fasten and slides around on the toilet! Really? Too bad, that whoever did the renovation can't fix that problem. We found pubic and normal, dark hair in the fresh towels. Super gross!
The microwave blew sparks out the back and we decided to shy away from using it. And still the same awful carpet!
As I said before, we have been visiting this motel for almost 3 years, and we never minded the simple, affordable and clean rooms. One of the top reasons to go there. But this is most likely our last stay there.
Too bad that management can't hire nicer staff or train staff better and do more to the motel to maintain its status quo instead of letting it come down. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catnipgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write about the positives and negatives of your stay with us. We are saddended to hear about your comments regarding the room and service. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you, and let you know we will be working with the frontdesk and housekeeping staff that this does not happen again in the future. Also, as you had pointed out, we will be inspecting the toilet seats in the rooms and replacing them with sturdier seats (the seats plastic hinge seems to wear out quicker in certain brands we use, causing the lateral movement of seats) and also inspecting the microwaves (and replacing any that are defective immediately upon report).

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences and we will be doing our best to work on the things you mentioned. We hope you will be giving us another chance in the future and return to Sunset Surf for your future stay.

Sincerely,
Sunset Surf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
276 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,266 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
847 reviews
7.5 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range: £49 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing