We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manzanita beauty”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
2 reviews
“Manzanita beauty”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A great location; friendly staff & fabulous views. This motel has everything you need for a relaxing stay. The shops close by allow you buy groceries so as to cook simple meals or better still walk to the fabulous restaurants all in a few minutes from your motel door.

Room Tip: Opposite the beach & close to restaurants; top floor units facing the beach gave great views &am...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great green policies to cut down our carbon footprint
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austraveller2190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    310
    70
    22
    10
See reviews for
218
281
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Langley
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Was a nice surprise - clean and spacious with terrific ocean view - You can walk to the beach in 1 minute as its directly across the street. Local shopping and restaurants a short stroll away. I would definitely stay here again and loved the small town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a wonderful, inexpensive stay at one of the best beaches on the OR coast! Great location, close to everything, right across Ocean Rd. to the beach. Can't beat the ocean view pool for the kids. Dog friendly is a definite plus. Clean rooms, a little worn in places, but the owners have upgraded bathrooms, TVs, towels and bedding. Comfy pillows, newish beds (slept on better, and worse).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjalving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The motel is very cute and clean with a great view of the ocean. Perfect for late night or early morning walks. And walking distance to local shops, pizza, and groceries. The pool was warm even though it was in the low sixties and rainy.

This motel is perfect for a relaxing vacation, which is why I was surprised to be woken up at 9 but hammered that continued until we checked out at 11. I do not feel it was necessary to do construction work that early while guests are trying to unwind from the week and enjoy the ocean views. With checkout at 11, I would have appreciated the hammering to wait until then.

Room Tip: Second floor offers better views of the ocean, but for a cheaper price the first floor is fine - jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The room was the cheapest they offered and the size showed it. It was a "sleeper" which was basically a bed and tv on the wall with an average bathroom. Good value for sure but nothing to write home about, although it did have a partial view of the ocean which was awesomely unexpected (room 201). I felt uneasy about the dividing door to the next room since I was staying alone here. The only major complaint is the thin walls. In the middle of the night I could hear someone snoring in another room. Also around 5am I was awoken but someone showering. The running water was so loud! Thank god I had earplugs. I will definitely stay again anyway because of the great price but would opt for the full view and deck rooms next time. When I booked on the phone the woman was so friendly and helpful but when I got there and checked in the front desk woman was yawning and not that warm. I was expecting great service like I got on the phone so I was slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank one_cup_sake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The manager, Britni, is the best part of the Sunset Surf. We come from Reno to stay here several times a year because of the fantastic service she provides. The hotel I work at in Reno (Silver Legacy Resort) has over 1700 rooms & I would steal her in a heartbeat to come work for us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicktheace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your comment of us and of our manager Britni!

We always welcome positive feedback of us and our staff and appreciate you taking the time to write about us.

I'll be sure to pass the compliments to Britni and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit

Sincerely,
Sunset Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Room wasn't what we were told it was gonna be parking was terrible ocean view wasn't what we expected or was told it was gonna be .our room was made up the next day with no fresh towels or shampoo or dishes had to get management to get us clean towels and dishes .seemed to not wanna be bothered about making it right .couldn't count out simple change at check in never got a receipt for our room after asking several times for it .would not recommende anyone that has disabilities staying there as they do not have a.d.a rooms

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wb19652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I do apologize that we could not provide a better service for you during your stay. Whether it was the towels not getting replenished, or frontdesk staff members not providing the receipt as requested, I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team to improve their service.

Again, we apologize for the disappointing service that you experienced, but we will make sure improvements are made and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
257 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,021 reviews
19.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,561 reviews
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing