We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach getaway”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beach getaway”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It's been 20+ years since we stayed in this same hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at how well it has been kept up. There have been modern updates to cabinets and bathrooms, flat screen TV, nice decore and comfortable beds. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with our entire stay. Since it was peak season and we were booking last minute we had to stay in two different rooms during our three night stay. The first night we were in a room with queen bed and direct view of the ocean. It had a kitchenette with two burners, microwave, sink, small fridge and plenty of dishes and pots and pans. I only wished I had remembered to pack some bacon and eggs to cook up in the morning! This room also had a gas fireplace, table and two comfortable chairs, plus a couple plastic chairs outside the room to enjoy on the deck. It was situated near the pool which can be a plus or minus depending how you look at it. The second room we stayed in had a fully remodeled bathroom, which was larger than the first room we stayed in. The room itself was much larger, too, but did not have a fireplace. Still, it had a queen bed, closet nook table and two chairs, flat screen TV, small fridge, microwave and coffe maker. I tried to make coffe but the water from the tap tasted like chlorine so we happily went to the nearby coffee shop for good coffee and pastries. The view from this room was considered partial view, however there was a window on both sides of the room so you could sit at your table and see the ocean out the back window or sit on the bed and see the ocean from the front window. It was away from the pool and seemed more private than the first room.
What I love about this location is you are just across the street from the beach. The main shops on Laneda street are close by but far enough away that you don't get the noise or commotion from tourists (unless you are staying at the Laneda bldg which is on the corner of Laneda and the main road to the beach - in which case then you are closer to the great coffee shop!). As far as I know this is the only hotel in Manzanita right on the beach. You are directly across the road from the beach, there are no buildings on the other side of the road, just beach!
They also have a pool, as I mentioned, which looked very clean. I saw the management cleaning it every morning and plenty of people enjoying it. And they have two grassy areas with picnic tables. I envied a couple having their morning breakfast and reading the newspaper there one morning. Another evening I noticed a gentleman setting up a charcol grill and setting out party plates, must have been a birthday celebration.
They have pet friendly rooms, but I specifically asked for a non-pet room. Our room was spotless and no sign of pet hair or pet smell in the room ( I have allergies so this was important to us).
As far as the beach goes it is a great beach. We walked to the north and back on the beach for a 4+ mile walk, then the nxt day walked south for 2 miles before heading back (we could have walked farther if we wanted but our legs had had enough). Another day we drove to nearby Oswald West State Park, hiked down to Short Sands Beach (great beach!) and then hiked up to Cape Falcon, which is about 2.5 miles from the parking lot. Wonderful view even though we were fogged in.
All in all, a great location, clean hotel, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    304
    70
    22
    10
See reviews for
213
278
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly.Prices are reasonable .Like the upper rooms with full kitchen and great view. Stayed here five times over the years. Always satisfied. Great family place. Love the heated pool.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank redbeard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Excellent location, good pool (warm), lots of stores and restaurants close by (walking), really close to a couple of must see's just north (Hug), &?. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Expectations were met.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very friendly staff. Incredible view of the beach. Fantastic value. Full kitchen. Full fridge. Very clean washroom. The pool looked beautiful but we didn't have time to swim in it. This place is amazing!

Room Tip: Budd building, 2nd floor with balcony.
See more room tips
Green Features: Sunset Surf motel has good environmentally friendly practices, they had a recycling bin under the kitchen sink, next to the garbage.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyRussellton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Pros: Overall, a really nice place for the price. Decent size room, solid building, quiet, pretty comfortable bed, great location right on the beach, just a block off the main drag. Has all the basic amenities, w/kitchenette stocked for 2, probably can get more dishes on request. Everything clean, and in good condition - a rare find for older beachside Motels. Powerful shower, sliding glass door for nice view in some rooms. Heavy curtains keep out the afternoon sun and night lights (the lawn pool & parking lot area very well lit @ night). Gas fireplace an pool for folks who like those kind of things.
Cons: Just 1. So looking forward to the cool ocean breeze and sound of waves to sleep to... but our room but our room's sliding glass door had no screen, and there were no other windows save a tiny one near bathroom - not enough to let any airflow in. So room got very hot and stuffy, unless we kept the door and curtain open a foot or so (not most secure/private feeling for sleeping) -- or, as we learned later - could have borrowed a fan from the Office (which we didn't think to ask for, so can't say how well they work). Some rooms have screened windows - so will ask for one of those next time. It's a short summer here, so probably not an issue much of the year. But it's odd they don't have locking screens on their sliding doors for the rooms w/o other windows.

Room Tip: No A/C - Ask for a room with screened ocean-facing windows if you're coming during hot weather a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfandmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful view. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Very reasonable. We loved staying here. I stayed here with my husband and his mom. We stayed in 34 which has two beds, one in the living room and one in a separate room. This was perfect for our situation. It also had a small kitchenette, which was very convenient. The balcony is not private; people do walk past your room, but it didn't bother us and was worth the view. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great classic west coast beach motel. Room was an ample size and quiet. Choose a room on the 2nd floor for the best view - worth the extra $. If you do stay on the first floor of the main building, make sure you are not near the pool which will completely block your view of the water. Staff was extremely nice and very helpful in recommending area restaurants. It's on a road which is a bit busy, but we found it quiet at night.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ for the second floor room. Worth it for the perfect view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
253 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,931 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
19.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing