We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spend one night at the Sunset Surf Motel in a studio room. We were quite pleased with the room and especially with the view. It was lovely sitting on the balcony and looking out at a fabulous sunset. The room, itself, was fine - nothing special - but, it was clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was very well furnished. The WiFi was not working, which was kind of a pain. And, unfortunately, the location is tough for cell phone coverage. But, I would not hesitate to stay at Sunset Surf again when I next visit the Oregon shore.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barbarasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi barbarasa,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! I'm happy to hear that you've found us and enjoyed the room and the view from our Ashley building studios. We hope to see you again on your next trip out to Manzanita!

Sincerely,
Sunset Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    288
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
203
261
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great place for a laid-back vacation. Quiet, family and pet friendly, great prices and the location is to die for !! We're coming back next year and staying longer !! Only glitches were that WiFi service was in and out and I would have liked a full length mirror in the room - even though at beach, still need to check "things" out.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusMarRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi SusMarRod,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. Guest satisfaction in our #1 goal and we love it when our guest has a great time staying with us. As you've said it, our location is second to none. I apologize for the WiFi service that has been in and out. We've had some issue with our ISP, but have since worked it out. Next time you come and visit, we'll make sure it works great throughout the whole stay.

Sincerely,
Sunset Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We brought our niece and nephew (4 and 2) for a couple of days of playing on the beach and pool. Location is great and the pool is clean and warm. We had a 1 bedroom with a kitchenette upstairs, so it worked out great for snacks, breakfast, and bringing home pizza! The maid service was sluggish one day and the card requesting service doesn't offer you the choice to NOT have your linens changed ( I don't care to waste). Great value for a young family on a budget

Room Tip: We had room 33, in the original building, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Needs some work. Offer option on towel/linen change. Clarify what is recycled
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katnwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Perfect location, and the hotel tries hard enough, but there are issues management will not solve. We were in the old building, which has non-code electric lighting and non-standard doorways. The shower head was clogged with scale, only worked on the pulsejet setting, and could not be aimed so one has to rest one's head against the wall to shampoo. Same scale at the kitchenette sink, which had a very low flow.

The maid service was iffy. Our dirty towels were not picked up when clean ones were supplied. I noticed that the maids are required to spend valuable time sorting through trash to recover recyclables. That's less time available to properly clean rooms. Trash overflowed in the kitchenette because of an undersized trash can.

There is insufficient handicapped parking, or parking at all, for that matter. The parking lot requires much backing and full-lock maneuvering and it's design is an accident waiting to happen. There is a large paved area at the front that could be used, but is kept clear, probably for appearance reasons.

This IS your grandfather's motel.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building.
See more room tips
Green Features: Trash-sorting is a waste of the maids' time. They need to spend that time cleaning.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I wanted to stay out of the main area for a trip to Cannon Beach OR. This is a great motel 15 - 20 minutes south of Cannon Beach. The front desk is friendly and helpful. I booked the sleeping room online with a very reasonable price. I got a room in the corner building at the back with partial ocean view. The room is bigger than I thought and it has a night stand double as table for baggage placement. The room has heating system but no A/C which is fine to me with the cool ocean breeze. I was told they have a heated pool for guests, but I did not use it. The access to the beach is just across the street which is a huge advantage to me. There are eateries of 5 - 10 minutes walk from the motel.

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We love Manzanita. and the Sunset Surf is right across from the beach where you can watch everything from your room as well as gorgeous sunsets. the people in reception are always great. the pool is so comfortable even when it is cold outside. We love this place and want to come back more and more. the room was big- good kitchen area and it was very clean. we will be back

Room Tip: 37-40 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Centa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It's not fancy, but for the price, it is a great place! The room was comfortable and the soundproofing is good - we were never bothered by noise from other rooms. I liked having a kitchenette so we didn't have to eat out for every meal and when we got pizza takeout, having plates to use was helpful. The swimming pool is surrounded by a glass fence so there is protection from the wind off the ocean and the pool temperature is great. Very friendly and helpful staff. We will go back!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms with ocean views are so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing