We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Inn at Manzanita
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Haven Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Cabins(Manzanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Resort(Rockaway Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Motel(Rockaway Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Stay Motel(Rockaway Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
105
14
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
14
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stoveliving roomfull kitchenoff street parkingdark chocolateoregon coastcoastal townperfect weekendnice balconynice sizevery nice place to stayshort walkcannon beachcomfortable bedswe loved our stayrestaurants and shopsgreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed in unit 9 April 8-9 and thoroughly appreciated the accommodations. Even though it rained most of the weekend, we enjoyed our stay--the cozy wood stove, the view from the living room (and the deck when it wasn't raining :-), the comfortable beds, and tasteful decor.
And, we loved the little town of Manzanita -- walkable and shoppable without being overwhelmingly touristy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappytoSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear HappytoSail,
Spring visits to the coast are often rainy. I am glad you took advantage of the wood stove. It really makes a difference, seems to take the dampness out of the air and does leave you with a nice warm cozy feeling.
Manzanita does have that small town charm, with a variety of shops for necessities and for pleasure that are all right up the street. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed Friday-Sunday on the last weekend of spring break. We had forgotten that it was spring break, so our choices of rooms were limited and the town was a little busier than usual. Our unit (5) was just above the office and right off the street. For more privacy and a little more peace and quiet, we'd definitely recommend one of the units furthest from the street. The entire place had recently been remodeled, is tastefully done, and felt more like a home than a hotel room, with little touches like a quilt on the wall and nice furniture. The unit was super clean and perfect for two people. The kitchenette was just right for a long weekend, as there are several nice little places to eat nearby. There is a pretty decent view of the water from the balcony, minus one of the other units (1) and a power line. But, it's a stone's throw from the actual beach. We really appreciated the covered, off-street parking. The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming, and clearly take pride in their little slice of paradise. We'll be back for sure, just on a less crowded weekend.

Room Tip: For a little extra privacy and quiet, pick one of the rooms furthest from the street.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DD-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Hello DD-PDX, that is not the first time the reference of "little slice of paradise" has been mentioned recently. We hope to make every customer feel that way with their stay in Manzanita at Ocean Inn.
Normally unit #5 is somewhat protected from noise, as it is on the second floor. Spring break week though, is a little louder than usual and noise does travel. I wish we could control that.
Thank you for all of the nice compliments, glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

After reading all of the good feedback on this hotel on trip advisor I called to make a reservation because you can’t make them online. When I said that I only wanted to make a reservation for Saturday night they said I couldn’t because they would rather book both Saturday and Sunday. When they asked the owner if I could just stay Saturday they came back saying sorry I would have to book both nights. Before calling I checked room availability and they have a total of 10 rooms. It showed that 4 of the rooms not only did not have reservation for the day I wanted but for the 2 weeks leading up to that date all 4 of the rooms didn’t have any reservations. I ended up booking at another hotel. If you are looking for a 1 night trip to Manzanita better looks somewhere else.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank JohnLH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear JohnLH3,
I am glad you were able to find a hotel that fulfilled your needs.

Please know that Ocean Inn does take reservations for one night on weekends. Considerations are taken and exceptions are made under a variety of circumstances as the dates get closer to desired date of occupancy. Our policy is not uncommon and is consistent with many hotels of like kind, including a similar hotel in Manzanita.

We are sorry you are not happy with our policies and hope you enjoy your stay at the hotel you have chosen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a family friendly Inn, in Manzanita. We stayed in Unit #1 directly on the beach. The accommodations were very nice, excellent service and views were great. The only downside was that it was on Laneda and Ocean, which is the main access road and foot traffic which goes right in front of this unit, but still an excellent option for any small family or couple.
I love Manzanita, and found this to be an excellent option. I also think this would be fun to rent multiple units and have your friends/family come with you.

Room Tip: Try and get Unit #1 or #2.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jarnzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Jarnzen, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
You are right, being located on the main street does encounter some noise from foot traffic. I wish there was a way around that. Unfortunately your unit is the only one where it is noticeable.
Renting multiple units at a time for friends and family is a great idea. The front building is set up nicely for families to rent multiple units. We have regulars who do just that. In the busier months booking ahead is the only way to get more than one room at a time in the front building. They go fast, some are reserved up to a year in advance!
Thank you for your kind review and we hope you will choose Ocean Inn on your next visit to Manzanita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Ocean Inn is at the edge of Manzanita overlooking the beach. Several units have wonderful beach views, though not all units do -- be sure to ask when reserving. Our unit #8 was larger than #5, which also had a fine view . . . . with a kitchen, large high ceiling living room with covered balcony. Quite spacious. We really appreciated the heavy high-quality construction, since many Oregon coast vacation properties are built with flimsy floors and walls. Friendly staff but no one remains "at the desk" all night long. Manzanita has a long beautiful sandy beach . . . . You are right there!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view unit!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjmU4374LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Torla 42,
Being right on the beach is one of the benefits of staying with us. All of our rooms do have a view except one, and you are right, some are much better than others.

When we built the back building which has room # 8 and room #5 we had in mind that we wanted them to be spacious rather than having more rooms. A lot of people like the larger feeling rooms, and we are glad you are one of them.

Yes, unfortunately the office is closed at night, but we are just a phone call away any time of night. I do hope that you were informed at check-in that if you needed anything after hours to just call the office and we would get whatever you needed or answer any questions you may have had.

We thank you for staying with us; hope to see you again and thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews