We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our most pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Inn at Manzanita
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We are at present staying at the Ocean Inn. It is well appointed and well maintained. Our hostess is competent and pleasant. We will come again soon. Few inns we have experienced are as well done.

We are about 100 yards from the beach and 300 yards from a good pub. Can there be a better location?

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Byron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Byron B, Thank you for the nice complements. Yes, it is really nice being in a small town where everything is a few steps away from your door! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Inn at Manzanita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very nice people and service. We only stayed a bit after an extended camping trip, so it was nice to have the washer/drier right below our room (unit 8). Nice view. Covered parking. Full kitchen. Spacious & clean bathroom/shower. Great amenities in general with ideal access to the beach. We will most-likely stay there again. Plan ahead- the staff are very helpful (call a long ways ahead, we were luck to get the one we did!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear AP,
It's nice to hear when visitors have stayed on the Oregon Coast by camping and by local lodging. The area is excellent for both experiences. I am happy that our staff was helpful and the service was good during your stay. You are right by recommending that others call in advance for reservations as the summer does fill up in advance. There are though like you found, cancellations and a few one nights available here and there!
Thanks for your review and hope we do see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We love Manzanita for its beach, long & flat and great for walks, and for the smallness of the town. We have stayed in a number of places, including VRBO's and other Inns/Hotels here but this was by far the best. It is like a small apartment in terms of size and amenities. We had a deck off the living room with the beach in perfect view and proximity. The manager was very attentive to our requests, including coming the first evening after she was off duty to make our television work properly. I didn't see these before the remodel, but they are very nice. The kitchen was very complete (could just use non-stick cookware for making breakfast) and modern and the bedding linens deluxe. The maid did check with us daily for any towels, toiletries needed.

Room Tip: We had room number 2 which had a great view, nice deck, set back from street and would allow dog but...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana97219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Dana 97219,

It is always nice to hear when customers enjoy their stay here in Manzanita and with us at Ocean Inn. Unit #2 is one of my favorites because of the deck and it's closeness to the beach. I am surprised that there was no non-stick cookware for cooking. Every room should have a full set. I will have to check further into that and am very sorry. Guests with dogs love that unit as well, as they can be out on the deck enjoying the outside more than any of our other rooms. Thank you for this review. We hope to see you and your dog the next time you visit Manzanita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I just celebrated our 52nd wedding anniversary by returning once again to the wonderful Ocean Inn on the beach at Manzanita. We have been staying here for many years and truly rate it an outstanding home away from home. From the western most unit the beach sand is about 10 feet from the well maintained lawn and from there you can walk north or south on 5 miles of beach. There are 10 units here and nine of them have an ocean view. The 10th unit has been prepared for disabled quests. Eight of the units have full kitchens and the other 2 have microwaves. All 10 units have TVs and DVD players and plenty of room.

This is an ecological complex and has good facilities for recycling. Rather than routinely changing towels and bed linens every day, the excellent and friendly housekeeping staff ask each day about what services you need. There is a guest laundry facility.

Manzanita is a very small town with some special places to eat. One of our favorites is The Terra Cotta Café up near U.S. 101. In addition to wonderful dinners, the staff is very friendly. That seems to be typical of Manzanita and it starts with the office staff of the Ocean Inn who also are well informed about places of interest in Manzanita and the area to the north and south.

Remember, this is NOT Hawaii and the ocean temperature year round is 50 to 54 F. Also it is important to know the ocean waves can be unpredictable and powerful with strong under currents.

We find the Ocean Inn and Manzanita to be a delightful and restful spot to relax.

Dick and Sue Hall

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or restaurant, but we couldn't figure out how to put in NA.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Richard H, Happy 52nd anniversary and thank you for your review (and nice promotion) of Ocean Inn and Manzanita. We are glad you chose Ocean Inn as your special spot to celebrate your marriage and hope we will see you again for the 53rd if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here this past week. Enjoyed the room. Great beach access. Nice courtyard enclosed for moving in and out and cleaning up after beach. The room we were in had a private garage with a garage door. That was a nice feature also. The thing we didn't like was we really had No Maid Service. Each day we would catch a girl that asked for our towels and emptied the garbage can. But no one ever really cleaned the room. You know, no one ever made the bed, no one ever cleaned the bath tub, no one ever cleaned the bathroom counter or wiped the mirror clean or even changed the glass in the bathroom. No one ever vacuumed the floor or swept the balcony. On our last day we didn't have paper towels or clean washing and drying clothes in the kitchen. Now, like I said, I liked the view, but for the price we were paying $1300 for 7 nights, a little bit of maid service would have been nice. I didn't need turn down service, but maybe making the bed once in awhile...and the sheets were never changed as well. So will I be back? I'm not sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADVNCHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Alan R, I am sorry you are not happy with the level of our service. A number of factors may influence this. We do have maid service every day, however we do not do the dishes. That is in direct response to the majority of our guest who are here for a week and prefer to treat there vacation with us like you would be renting a condo or vacation rental elsewhere. Our policy for maid service is consistent with similar local lodgings. In regards to your bed not being made and sheets not being changed, there are sheet changes every 3rd day for weeklong stays and the beds are made every day service is requested. We do not however make beds or change the sheets if there are personal items on the bed. Often our guest request special housekeeping service which we are more than happy to fulfill. We take all guest comments seriously, thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed in unit 9 April 8-9 and thoroughly appreciated the accommodations. Even though it rained most of the weekend, we enjoyed our stay--the cozy wood stove, the view from the living room (and the deck when it wasn't raining :-), the comfortable beds, and tasteful decor.
And, we loved the little town of Manzanita -- walkable and shoppable without being overwhelmingly touristy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappytoSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear HappytoSail,
Spring visits to the coast are often rainy. I am glad you took advantage of the wood stove. It really makes a difference, seems to take the dampness out of the air and does leave you with a nice warm cozy feeling.
Manzanita does have that small town charm, with a variety of shops for necessities and for pleasure that are all right up the street. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed Friday-Sunday on the last weekend of spring break. We had forgotten that it was spring break, so our choices of rooms were limited and the town was a little busier than usual. Our unit (5) was just above the office and right off the street. For more privacy and a little more peace and quiet, we'd definitely recommend one of the units furthest from the street. The entire place had recently been remodeled, is tastefully done, and felt more like a home than a hotel room, with little touches like a quilt on the wall and nice furniture. The unit was super clean and perfect for two people. The kitchenette was just right for a long weekend, as there are several nice little places to eat nearby. There is a pretty decent view of the water from the balcony, minus one of the other units (1) and a power line. But, it's a stone's throw from the actual beach. We really appreciated the covered, off-street parking. The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming, and clearly take pride in their little slice of paradise. We'll be back for sure, just on a less crowded weekend.

Room Tip: For a little extra privacy and quiet, pick one of the rooms furthest from the street.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DD-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzagata, Owner at Ocean Inn at Manzanita, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Hello DD-PDX, that is not the first time the reference of "little slice of paradise" has been mentioned recently. We hope to make every customer feel that way with their stay in Manzanita at Ocean Inn.
Normally unit #5 is somewhat protected from noise, as it is on the second floor. Spring break week though, is a little louder than usual and noise does travel. I wish we could control that.
Thank you for all of the nice compliments, glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Manzanita
The Inn at Manzanita
#4 of 4 in Manzanita
102 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,579 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn at Manzanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn at Manzanita

Address: 32 Laneda Ave, Manzanita, OR 97130-9045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range: £66 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Inn offers you a unique lodging experience in the quiet village of Manzanita. Five miles of public beach just steps from the door of your suite tempt you from the shops and restaurants just around the corner. Ten beautifully appointed units, with ongoing remodeling since 2009, provide you an unforgettable lodging experience. You will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Inn At Manzanita Hotel Manzanita
Ocean Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing