We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience on the Oregon Coast”
Review of Coast Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Cabins
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique Experience on the Oregon Coast”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Coast Cabins are charming, tucked away in beautifully landscaped grounds. They range from just enough room for two, to a home-sized unit with all of the amenities. They also manage condos in a development containing retail, a fitness club and a spa, "downtown" in Manzanita. We most recently stayed in one of those. It is very well appointed, with a great kitchen, which is not a bad idea in Manzanita, because restaurants are limited and there is a very good market just up the street. It can be configured for either one bedroom, one bath or two of each, if you need more room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R5440352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    9
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
37
175
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

i love how people complain about their TV not having the shopping channel. YOU'RE AT THE COAST PEOPLE! stay home if you want to watch TV.

there is no better place on the entire oregon coast. period. this is not a USFS fire lookout or cabin. it is Dwell meets DWR. their shampoo and soaps are from London.

yes, you are paying more, but you are getting true luxury. the owners care, and go out of their way to make you feel like you're staying at their actual home (a small note, and a bottle of wine for our anniversary!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1972Yetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We could not have needed or required anything more than what was already provided for us in our cabin. The time and thought that was put into every touch of our cabin was mind blowing. We have travelled a lot and stayed in a lot of different places but our stay with Coast Cabins was by far our favourite. Being welcomed with a glass of wine upon check in was such a beautiful touch. The "romance package" that was put together for us specifically was phenomenal and I would not have changed a thing. Not only was the cabin and everything about it perfect so was your quaint little town of Manzanita. We loved it there in every aspect of the word.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Cabin 4 is my favorite of the three I have stayed. None are large, but that is also the plus, they are so well done and thoughtful. The architectural quality continues to amaze us even returning here in winter. Coast Cabins should be done in more places, unfortunately few people have the vision it takes to do what this wonderful place requires.

Room Tip: Cabin 4 is the best of the three in which I have stayed. Our family is all adult, kids are welcome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doctormm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Such a great retreat with the kind of details which make you just relax and enjoy life without all of stress of your workaday world. From the check in without checking in, the bamboo landscaping and the communal fire area (which was even going during the storm!), the outdoor hot tub, private areas around the cabin to the feeling of just leaving it all behind. Exquisite! Thank you Pawel and Gary

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Gorgeous property. Very zen. I stayed at the South Tower, however, and even though it was the least expensive, it was still expensive, and there were some basic things that kept this from being the five star experience it should have been.

What I liked - great bathrobe, great shower, great linens, ipod dock in bedroom (have one downstairs too please??), dishes, s'mores kit, flashlights, upstairs windows to look out in the morning (lovely view of trees at sunrise), gorgeous semi-private patio area (although completely unusable in December).

The bed was the absolute most awful experience to sleep on - absolutely no support (and I don't seek out a firm mattress). Aesthetically it looked gorgeous and everything was very soft, but I woke up every morning with back pain. It was so bad that I tried figuring out the hideabed sofa but for the life of me, could not figure out how to get it open (instructions would be nice in the welcome guide!), so slept on the loveseat. Please, replace it with a newer model as it felt like mine at home was when it got to be 10 years old.

Other smaller but still important items of improvement needed:
* the door to the toaster was visibly broken and would not close. replace it :)
* the bath mat was threadbare and tattered. replace it :)
* my personal stuff was moved around when housekeeping came in the first day. after that i had the privacy ring on the door. and they opened all the curtains which i'd closed, leaving my laptop and other personal items fully on display!! they also turned the heat all the way off so it was freezing when i got back to the room.
* the street noise is pretty bad every time a car went by, it sounded like I was outside.
* most of the direct tv channels did not work - spring for some of the movie channels if you're going to have a tv in the room at all.
* putting out two bathrobes when i just booked it for myself. pay attention to these details, as i came here to get away after a breakup and don't need any hints of what i'm missing!
* the bathroom is always cold unless you keep the door into the living room wide open (not my preference since the sofa is next to the bathroom door).
* really slow, inconsistent wifi reception (unfortunately, i did have to do some work while i was there - this was so slow it felt like dial-up...when it did work).
* the wood in the outdoor fireplace was wet so i couldn't have a fire = was told i could go to the group fire area which i was not interested in for my solo retreat.

Room Tip: Don't do the South Tower - it's closest to the road. Would recommend everything on one floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EcoGrrl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastCabinsManzanita, Owner at Coast Cabins, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Dear Ecogrrl24,

Sorry to read about your recent break-up. We sincerely wish that you had mentioned your complaints to us during your stay. This way we could have happily shown you how to turn up the heat in the bathroom, how to tune to all the premium movie channels on the television, and given you a friendly tutorial on the use of the in-room safe or on any of the in-room systems. We would also have happily removed the goose down featherbed from the mattress revealing a much firmer sleeping surface for your aching back. If you still wanted the sleeper sofa, we would have made that for you- had you simply made this request. A quick call to the front desk would have resulted in a new replacement toaster, more or less housekeeping per your instruction, a new Restoration bath mat (or five new bath mats if you had so desired). We would have taken away whichever robe did not fit you. And, a fire would have been lit for you, in any kind of weather as even if the wood looks wet it is seasoned and burns quite well.

The entire staff at Coast Cabins strives to make ourselves available to our guests without being intrusive. We apologize that you didn't feel as though you could approach us with your complaints and it is regrettable that you were subsequently unable to enjoy your stay with us. We do hope you will try us again.

With warm regards,
Pawel Wojtanowicz
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We just had the best last minute getaway to Coast Cabin 3. It's a beautiful property (love the bamboo on the grounds!) and the "cabin" was beautifully appointed. Best night of sleep we've had in months! Really impressed with the lovely touches (rose in the fountain, awesome bath products, cushy dog bed). Loved the private hot tub and toasting smores by the fire pit. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
11.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,540 reviews
11.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,728 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
664 reviews
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Cabins

Property: Coast Cabins
Address: 635 Laneda Ave, Manzanita, OR 97130-9092
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Cabins is a timeless and intimate hotel hideaway in Manzanita Oregon. With amenities galore, we offer the perfect retreat for couples, individuals and groups who seek comfort with style in modern and elegantly casual surroundings. Our Spa cabins feature private outdoor hot-tubs and patio areas. Located 13 miles south of Cannon Beach in beautiful, laid back Manzanita. Our gorgeous accommodations are designed to help you relax, renew and enjoy the beauty of the Northern Oregon Coast without sacrificing your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Cabins Hotel Manzanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing