We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend getaway.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
PDX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A weekend getaway.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We won an overnight package at this hotel, and used it on a Friday-Saturday stay. We went online to choose what day based on the type of live music that was playing. The package included one night, $60 dinner for two, two no-charge glasses of wine, and $20 breakfast for two. This package costs a little over $220 if you were to pay.

Our first complaint was the town. On a Friday you'd think that McMinnville would be open at least until 10pm-11pm, but it seemed as though most places closed around 7pm.

The parking to the Hotel was about two blocks away. Hopefully the single unloading parking spot is free when you get there.

The room was VERY small, but we did get a view overlooking the street. They do give you earplugs at night due to the noise from outside, and from the pipes creeking and screeching as well (ceiling).

We tried to sit and watch the live music, but there were no seats! We couldn't stand either because the music was in a dining area. We asked if we could put chairs near the pool table, but we received weird looks for asking, so we just ate dinner.

The dinner customer service was decent but not great. They provided no real help or fast service. As usual with all McMenamins, the food was terrible (the same with breakfast). They really need to upgrade their menu to match the ambiance of their locations. It was difficult to keep in the budget of $60 & $20 for two people too.

Checkout is at 11:00am, so we went for breakfast at 9:00am. We thought it would be neat to eat at the rooftop restaurant and bar (outside on the roof). It ended up being very cold and they do not have space heaters on the roof either. When we returned to our room at 10am, they had shut off our key cards. We had to request that they be reactivated so that we could acquire our possesions that were still in our room.

Also, please be sure to KEEP TRACK OF YOUR SPENDING. At checkout we had a really ruff time trying to figure out why we owed so much. According to our calculations we owed $30 more then our overnight package, but the front desk said we owed $55 more. We took our our receipts and showed them, and they corrected THEIR error! We were glad we kept track.

Finally, they required a credit/debit card at the check-in. They charge the card as you go along, but they still have not removed the $200+ from the card. It still shows 'pending' two days later after checking out. I will now need to call them and remind them to give me back those funds...

We made the best of this trip, and ended up having a decent time with each other. However, the hotel experience itself was terrible & we did not like the food at all. We will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask about the noise. Some rooms have pipes that make a lot of noise, and others are located in an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    120
    65
    33
    14
See reviews for
34
173
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa,ca
Level Contributor
214 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Mcmenamins Hotel Oregon is a hoot. great art small clean rooms w comfortable beds. all for 75-100 a night depending on whether yr OK w a bathroom down the hall. we were and it was no problem.
The Mcmenamin hotels are an institution in oregon and washington state w nearly 70 properties. They take old properties and convert them into hip hotel bar restaurant complexes and they do a pretty good job. They have their own brewery and the pub food is slightly better than average.
Our room was small but fine for one night. No TV which was also fine with us. bottom line: if yr comfortable with hip clean funky digs this is a great place to stay. if however yr looking for the plasticated comfort of a chain hotel w TV and beige walls you will do better at a comfort or holiday or hampton or red lion or manor etc INN.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We'd stayed here before and enjoyed it - but standards seem to have slipped. Our room was quite small - OK - but a pull knob was missing from the drawer containing the bathrobes to use going down the hall to the restrooms, so we struggled with that. One of the urinals was out of order in the Men's restroom - not good when the hotel is busy. Tough to sleep - an HVAC unit above our room kicked on with such force that the room's light fixture rattled each time.

But the worst part was breakfast - poorly done. One order with poached eggs came with only one egg - badly undercooked. The waitress was frustrated - the dish called for 2 eggs. She later brought a second egg - which was hard-boiled. The huevos rancheos dish consisted of cold black beans right out of a can over the tortillas.

McMenamins has a great concept, and we enjoy their places. But Hotel Oregon is suffering from what looks like inattentive management.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cleve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these McMinnville hotels

Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a hard time finding a reasonably priced place to stay in the wine country of Willamette Valley. Hotel Oregon gave us a unique place (much more unique than just staying at another Holiday Inn Express) to stay at a good price. We had dinner on the rooftop bar (great view!) and breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. The only complaints we had were that the service both times we ate was slow and neither restaurant seemed too crowded for to justify the slowness. About 10pm, the hotel got a little loud, but this didn't continue all night. Plus, we stayed on a Fri, so people were up at the rooftop bar, etc. Our room was on the small size as well - however, we had last minute researvations & that pretty much was what was left. Because we were taking our trip w/ a budget and we made our reservations last minute, we were in one of the rooms w/o a private bathroom. This wasn't bad at all - the bathrooms on our hall were super clean & right across the hall from our room. Hotel Oregon was a fun place, and we'll definitely look into other McMenamins properties next time we're in Oregon!!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good value, opt for the "dorm style" bathrooms. They're r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarheelTravelGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

There are not a ton of options in this area for a hotel so we were glad that there was a McMenamins in the area because McMenamins properties are always interesting and unique. Hotel Oregon was no exception to this. There are paintings everywhere and one of the best features of the property is the rooftop bar. The rooftop bar is really fun, many various levels to it.
As with all McMenamins properties this is a renovated building which means that some of the facilities are a bit lacking. We had a shared bathroom, which is never ideal, but of course better than having to go down the hall to get to the bathroom.
We really liked the location, there are many restaurants and wine tasting rooms within a few blocks. The attached McMenamins restaurant is good and serves their typical food as well. Our only problem with the restaurant was we once went in and sat down at a table with dirty dishes and waited for any type of service for 10 minutes and it never arrived, we ended up leaving without anyone paying attention to us in spite of the fact that the waitress walked by us at least 5 times. Clearly hit and miss though because the next day we went in, sat down, and were waited on immediately.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oregontraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I had heard about McMenamins hotels before so after seeing there sign on the highway we thought we would give it a shot. The hotel is very affordable, and like all there properties, very unique. Our room was simple but comfortable and we didn't experience any of the noise that has been commented on in other posts. The washrooms were shared, which was weird, but they were very clean and well kept. The pub on the roof has a great view and the beer is pretty good too. Can't beat the location; great restaurants and shops and close to lots of vineyards for exploring.

If you are looking for affordable accommodation and have an open mind give this place a shot, you won't be sorry. If you are looking for a more Holiday Inn experience this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopefullylost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, LA
Level Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

To stay here, you MUST have a sense of humor and be flexible. Thank goodness we had stopped at McMenamins Edgefield (which is worth a stop by the way), so we were not so surprised by the unusual appearance of this place. The art work is worth the cost of the stay-be sure you pick up an art guide and follow it around each floor-absolutely fascinating. It will take about 2 hours. The pub on the roof has great beer, wine and food. I had the portabella mushroom sandwich and it was delicious. My son had a fabulous burger and my husband had an excellent salmon salad. The McMinamins Viognier is probably the best I have ever had. Be sure to try their liqueurs, and brandies if you are an after dinner drinker. Now to the rooms-not quite like the web pictures, but ok. The King room was much smaller than I expected and we had to move furniture around to open out the roll away for my son. There is an armoire, no closet and no iron or ironing board. In the bathroom there is no hair dryer(you can get one from the front desk), NO counter space and the hot and cold water come out of separate faucets in the sink. The tub is a claw tub with a curtain to draw completely around it for a shower. It was quiet, the air conditioner provided white noise, so we were not bothered by footsteps clomping up the stairs(no carpet, anywhere), and because we were there on a Monday night, the pub upstairs was not loud. The staff is VERY nice and helpful. My son ate breakfast downstairs the next morning and he said it was very good, but expensive. We went next door to a very nice bakery-people not very nice, but the coffee and pastries,especially the breakfast bread pudding was terrific. By the way, you can park down the street in a parking garage for free. Be aware that if you come to the wine country like we did on a Monday, none of the great restaurants like the Painted Lady are open, but like I said the pub upstairs was very good and who cares anyway after a full day of wine tasting. Anyway, if you can do without the amenities that one is used to and have a sense of humor-please don't miss this unique little offering from the McMenamin's group.

Room Tip: Only the King rooms have private baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LATaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.4 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#5 of 6 in McMinnville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn
4.9 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Hotel Oregon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Property: McMenamins Hotel Oregon
Address: 310 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McMenamins Hotel Oregon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On McMinnville's charming, old main street, Hotel Oregon strikes an inviting pose - as it has since 1905. Once home to a restaurant and lounge, banquet hall, Greyhound bus depot, Western Union, soda fountain and beauty parlor, the handsome four-story building we call Hotel Oregon is a delightful destination in the heart of Oregon's wine country.Warm lighting in the first floor pub, cozy tables and an impressive 40-foot long back bar invite close conversation over the glint of a fresh pint or maybe a game of shuffle board in the Paragon room. Artwork and wall hangings inspire thoughts of the past and a trip to the subterranean bistro-style Cellar Bar or magnificent Rooftop Bar (with its breathtaking 360-degree view of the region) are a must for any visitor to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your McMenamins Hotel Oregon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Hotel Mcminnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing