We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Great.....”
Review of 3rd Street Flats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3rd Street Flats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Almost Great.....”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I love the rooms decor and spacious living areas, very lovely. Now to the more practical issues. Flat 4 has a bathroom the size one might expect to find in a prison cell, knees hit the wall if using the toilet, sink is so low and tiny a toddler could access it without a lift from a parent. No tub, only a tiny shower, can't find anywhere to place toiletries. (not so bad if a single traveler, but still ridiculously small compared to the over sized rooms in the rest of the flat.) Several other fun problems manifested as the day went on. We had to go to the store and purchase soap for the kitchen, paper clips to close the curtains,(decorative only, not functional) as the sun blazes in at 6:00 a.m. and the blinds only go half way up the massive windows. Also purchased shampoo and condition, no tiny little bottles here, and earplugs to drown out the very loud street noise. I really wanted to love this place, too many basic comforts have been overlooked, won't return. The price was also twice as high as a suite in a neighboring hotel. Think we're leaving early and forfeiting a nights room fee, need a good night's sleep and a bathroom I don't get bruised in each time I enter.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lodgingproreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3SF, Owner at 3rd Street Flats, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, whether they are raving about their stay or sharing concerns. While you said you liked the décor in the 4th Flat, you did highlight a few concerns, and we’d like to address them for you. We are very sorry that the experience was not up to your expectations.
You are 100% correct, the 4th Flat does indeed have a small bathroom. 3rd Street Flats is housed in the historic McMinnville Bank Building, built in 1885, and bathrooms were indeed an after thought, added long after the original construction. The building has oodles of history and character, but does not have large bathrooms. Because our building is on the historic registry, this couldn’t be addressed during our remodel. When we get a chance to talk to guests ahead of time and they ask about bathrooms, we let them know that if it’s a big bathroom they are after, there are probably better places for them to stay. If they would like their own apartment in the heart of downtown, and don’t plan to spend a lot of time in the bathroom, we’re a great fit.
And since we are a vacation rental and not a hotel, we do not provide shampoo and conditioner. To help guests understand this distinction, we provide this information in the ‘Tips for a Great Stay’ portion of the email they get after booking. We also provide large bottles of shampoo and conditioner in our laundry room, for guests who have forgotten theirs at home. We are however sorry that this information missed you.
All of our flats are intended for two guests, but when people request additional guests we accommodate them with inflatable bedding. The bedroom in the 4th Flat has wooden blinds and a curtain, and truly no one has ever mentioned the bedroom not being dark enough. The living room however has floor to ceiling windows that do indeed just have privacy shades. There is also a large skylight in the dining room, so if people are sleeping in the living room it will indeed be bright when the sun comes up.
And because we are located in the heart of a vibrant downtown with 13 wines bars, and many other bars and pubs, we can not guarantee that late night revelers will not stop for a minute or two under your window. We rarely have issues with noise, but we surely cannot promise that noise will not be an issue-and we don’t, when asked. We would always direct guests who want to come to wine country for peace and quiet to contact one of the B&Bs located on a vineyard, far away from the fun atmosphere of downtown McMinnville.
Finally, as to your feedback on price, we feel very comfortable with our rates. The suite at McMenamins down the street is a king sized bed in a bedroom with a small sitting area and a bathroom. It does not include a kitchen with a breakfast bar, a living room with a fireplace, a dining room with a built in bar, skylights or a complimentary bottle wine and chocolate on arrival. McMenamins is great and is priced well for what they offer, but we feel we are as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
74
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband & I stayed in the 1st flat for two nights and it was perfect for us.
From the moment we walked in there was a comfortableness that surpasses any hotel room or even bed and breakfast as you know you have complete freedom and privacy. It really is like your own apartment.
We loved the tall ceilings and the comfortable furniture. I also found it very pleasant the way one room was painted in warm colors and the other in cool. It was a nice transition and has a calming effect.
All over are small touches that make a big difference, from the wine and chocolates that greet you on the table to the locally made soap in the bathroom (which smelled amazing).
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I'm ever back out that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank photogirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed in The 2nd Flat for two nights. The room had a really creative vibe to it, and the pictures on the website accurately portray the room. Nice big kitchen, though we didn't really use it much. I thought it strange that despite the name of the flat "Olio e Aceto" there wasn't any oil in the kitchen (however, Harvest Fresh is less than a block away, and you can buy oil there). The kitchen did have an array of herbs and plenty of kitchen utensils though. Also, note that there's no fan above the stove, so be careful of what you cook.

The bedroom was quite small, but intimate and nice, and the bed was very comfortable. It's not an easy bed for two if both of you get up in the middle of the night, but we didn't have that problem.

The bathroom was even smaller, but quite functional. Cool claw foot bathtub with a shower option that I would suggest they remove. It was quite difficult to shower without getting things wet or surrounding yourself completely with a plastic shower curtain, and with the tub flush to the wall, where you do place things? It was awkward and not terribly feasible. It might work better as a tub-only unit. Anyway, it just added to the funkiness of the flat.

Being the late fall, we used the heaters in the flat quite a bit. We couldn't find the control for the heater in the bedroom, so we called the management. Someone helped us out ten minutes after the call. Other than that we didn't hear from anyone in management and we didn't need to.

Note that the location is very close to good restaurant options and Harvest Fresh, but there was some street noise every night, from drunken students to overly thorough street sweepers. It wasn't a big deal to us, but if you are noise-sensitive you might want to note this.

Parking was less of an issue than I originally thought. Street parking and lot parking was generally available, and because it's two hour parking from 9am to 6pm, it really means that you only need to clock watch if you are parked from 11am to 4pm.

Finally, note that you need to navigate 25 steps (with a small landing around the 17th or 18th) to get to the flats. There's no elevator. The steps are not tall, steep, nor slippery, and there's a handrail. While not accessible, it wasn't very challenging to do.

Overall, we really enjoyed the 3rd Street Flats. It was a great alternative to B&Bs, and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed one night at the 3rd Street Flats in their smallest flat #1. It was very comfortable and quiet. Enjoyed the 'apartment-like' feel of the unit as opposed to staying in a hotel room. LaRambla restaurant is downstairs and around the corner; very good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinLady_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed in Flat #4, the largest flat, for two nights. The flats are located on the cute main street of downtown McMinnville, which is a good base for exploring the Willamette wine country. There is a grocery store across the street from the flats, and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. (Note: Most restaurants in downtown McMinnville are closed on Sunday and Monday night. La Rambla, a tapas place on the same block as the flats, is open both nights and serves good food).

Flat #4 has good-sized living room, a full kitchen and a separate dining area. Flat #4 would have rated a "5" rather than a "4" if I could describe the bathroom as "small," but a more accurate description is "miniscule."

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Terrific flat, great location, attentive management. We stayed three nights in late August while visiting the Willamette wine country. The Flats are lovely, comfortable and very convenient to McMinnville and the entire wine region. We stayed in the 4th Flat, the largest. It was great to have a real apartment to ramble in, and a real kitchen was nice. We stayed on Monday and Tuesday, slow nights in wine country, so cooking at home was an option. Beds are great, large windows, quiet, and well ventilated by the large lovely windows. A huge plus is a washer/dryer down the hall. The decor is Very Nice, perhaps a little too decorator. It felt a bit like we were living in a show room and avoiding large vases and piles of pillows. My two complaints are minor; 1. No directions for the TV - we're luddites and needed the instructions. 2. Dim lights in the kitchen, due to a temporary building renovation that occurred during our stay, the windows were covered with plastic while the exterior of the building was painted, dimming the abundant natural light through those enormous windows. Several fixtures had burned out or were missing bulbs so the kitchen was darker than usual. On the plus side; management had provided an AC unit for our use while the windows were sealed, the AC unit was quiet, efficient and appreciated. The painters were very polite and took the time to tell us when and how we could open the windows. An inconvenient situation was made pleasant by an observant management team, who made sure we were aware of the issues when we arrived and provided free wine tastings for the inconvenience. Their attention to details like that was noted and appreciated. All in all we would happily return to 3rd St Flats, for a longer stay, to see through those amazing windows, and of course more wine. We would strongly recommend the Flats for anyone familiar with the European tradition of flat rentals. So much nicer than a hotel room.

Room Tip: The 4th Flat is the largest if you like elbow room or will be entertaining. If you're a serio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights while visiting wine country. These flats are so unique. A word of caution....we stayed Sunday and Monday nights. Lots of shops and restaurants closed really early or were not opened at all. When we travel there again we will time our stay outside these days so we can enjoy the town a bit more. I will stay here again, no doubt. Absolutely lovely and comfy to boot.

The only negative thing is I am now addicted to the dark chocolate caramels with sea salt!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McMinnville hotels
0.0 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
0.9 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#3 of 6 in McMinnville
115 reviews
4.9 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3rd Street Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3rd Street Flats

Property: 3rd Street Flats
Address: 219 NW Cowls St., McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 3rd Street Flats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in Sunset Magazine ~ A new style of accommodations in Oregon's Wine Country, 3rd Street Flats offers guests the stylish touches of a hotel, the hospitality of a bed & breakfast, and all the amenities of a vacation rental. Inspired by our own European travels and a desire for authentic travel experiences, we offer guests the chance to rent their own apartment in the heart of Historic Downtown McMinnville. Stay for a night or stay for a week, but stay long enough to fully experience the amazing food and wine that's all just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 3rd Street Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing