We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food Cart Ever!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicken Coop - CLOSED

Chicken Coop
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: This is a food truck owned by a guy who has been making chicken since 1969 at the famous Donahoo's Golden Chicken in Ontario, CA. Everything is made fresh at the truck using free-range chicken.
Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Food Cart Ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Do you love home made southern style chicken and rolls just the way grandma made them? If so rush don't walk to the Chicken Coop. This is a food cart located in the "canery district" between 7th & 8th just north of Alpine street. I consider myself a bit of a food snob and have more so-so chicken than good or great chicken. This place makes it all from scratch. In fact they make no chicken ahead so if you are in a hurry call your oder in ahead or wait the 12 minutes while they make your order enjoying the smell comming from this spotlessly clean food cart. Picture home made rolls that are so sweet it is a crime to put on the butter and honey they provide. As to the chicken it is just possibly the best I have ever had. My wife & I recently moved to McMinnville and found this town comitted to excellent resturants and farm fresh produce. The Chicken Coop will not dissapoint you, give it a try. They are open Monday - Friday 11:00am - 7:00pm. As to the price value it is a great value and actually on par or cheaper than KFC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank senorlatteoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon USA
1 review
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

The Chicken Coop grilled chicken salad is what I regularly order. The chicken is flavorful with herbs and spices and fresh crisp seasonal greens, lovely lettuces! What a treat for your taste buds! The homemade Blue Cheese Dressing is excellent!! Tonight I tried the chicken Dinner with the all white meat! Totally fabulous! Lots of food for the price! Friendly service, affordable, clean and great ambiance for outdoor dining or...call in and drop by to take home!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danicollectables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good find in McMinnville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I read good things about this cart, so I thought I'd try it... I ordered the chick fillets, fries and a roll.... made to order, so I sat a while. The box meal was hot and really good. The fries were awesome, as was the roll. The fillets were small (more like large chicken tenders) but oh, so good. As someone else noted, crispy outside and wonderfully tender on the inside. A really good meal!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bertzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

By far the best chicken salad in the area. Hand made to order, takes a little longer then normal FAST FOOD but worth the wait!!!! Try it with their Fresh Baked Rolls. By the way address is incorrect, should be corner of 8th & Alpine McMinnville, next to the Saturday Market. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
194 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Best chicken in Oregon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I love fried chicken and consider myself to be an expert. Despite just being a food truck, Chicken Coop makes world-class fried chicken. It's moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. The lunch version comes with fries, salad and a homemade roll. My wishes are minor...they use free-range Druper Valley chicken which is great, but not real meaty. The rolls aren't always warm. And instead of a salad, I'd prefer a soda. Minor issues. You need to eat here. It's awesome.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank millron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicken Coop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing