We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Ruby Cakes - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ruby Cakes
Restaurant details
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

How can you make a cupcake without butter or flour taste good? Ruby Cakes hasn't figured it out yet either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheLastStarFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gluten free and good”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We are a celiac family so desserts are usually non existent, or mediocre. But Ruby Cakes has wonderful cupcakes and a great choice. I am not sure how they did it but the bakery goods had a regular texture and taste of regular bakery goods. The scones were marvelous. We also bought bread and hamburger buns. We froze the hamburger buns and had them later and I was sorry I didn't buy more. They were great. This is a wonderful bakery for anyone and especially if you have to be gluten free.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun to try and some really killer tastes”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Ruby Cakes was fun to enter and try. I have eaten their products on 3 or 4 occasions.

I was entranced with their chocolate salted caramel. Although I would say, stay away from the Red Velvet unless you enjoy a Twizzlers taste.

If you are looking for gluten-free, this is is your fun place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onehandclappinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good but $$”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was surprised at the size of the place... really big! There are places to sit and eat right there. The muffins were really good.... as were the delicious scones. I did not purchase any cupcakes as they had a couple of inches of frosting on them...not to my liking. Items were on the pricy side. Would rather they lower the price on the items and give you a less fancy box to take them home in. Just my opinion.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bertzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect substitution!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Gluten and dairy free AND vegan? Yes! All the treats I have tasted have been delightful and a great alternative to the real thing. My favorite cupcake is the red velvet.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mac_Mom_of_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Cakes also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing