We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, quaint and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joseph Mattey House
Ranked #4 of 8 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous, quaint and quiet”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area. About a 10 minute drive to any number of locations, Denise and Jack went out of their way to find us reservations at the top rated restaurants in the area (and Oregon), as well as helping us with vineyard recommendations. Their home is lovely and we loved the porch swing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnobauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
246 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Jack & Denise Seed are top-notch hosts, the house is a quiet, romantic escape from the rat race. The antique, old world atmosphere should completely relax you from walking the lovely grounds to sipping a glass of wine in front of the real wood-burning fireplace. Breakfast is a near banquet; count on it to be fresh, delish and creative. The rooms have beautiful views and are decorated with real-wood furniture and lace doilies. The Mattey House is central to wine tasting in the Willamette Valley. There are dozens of good wineries to visit and the restaurant scene is pretty good, by my limited, but soon-to-be-expanded experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Lovely grounds, rooms and hosts. Just the right combination of peacefulness and pleasant visiting with the hosts and other guests. Breakfast was fabulous and a good way to start a day of wine tasting! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkleflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

What a marvelous B&B. Smack in the middle of Willamette Valley (that's Willamette damit!). Denise' breakfasts were marvelous and she and her husband Jack have been here >15 yrs and know just about everyone in the wine and restaurant business (and where the best food and wine are). They provided winery (incl complementary wine tasting cards) and restaurant suggestions and they were all wonderful. Ask Jack to tell you his jokes - marvelous. And then the conversation at breakfast and in the evening. Terrific.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed 2 nights and 3 days here and I have nothing but kind words. Beautiful house, cozy rooms, amazing breakfast, and Jack and Denise are such gracious and wonderful people could not have asked for a better place to have spent the weekend. I definitely recommend The Mattey House!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels2u42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My first experience staying in a B&B, I couldn't have picked a better one. FRom the beautiful 1800's home, antique furnishings, to the comfortable living room and fireplace, (not to forget the stuffy, fall asleep chairs in there), to the room we shared overlooking the onsite vineyard. Now the breakfasts, WOW ! Delicious home made scones every morning, egg dishes, fresh fruit... just excellent ! And then there's the Innkeepers, Denise and Jack ! What lovely people ! Friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable of the area wineries and restaurants. I'm hooked on B&B's, and will always find myself comparing wherever I stay to this lovely experience. I highly recommend it.
Gary & Marsha Peterson
Roseburg, OR

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winedude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

My wife stayed at Mattey House while touring neighboring wineries. Jack and Denise are wonderful hosts- by the time you leave you'll feel you've been with old friends. Breakfasts were excellent. Our room (the Chardonnay) was extremely comfortable- we slept much better than at home. Refreshments were available all day. Jack and Denise's recommendations of restaurants, wineries, and places to visit were right on. We had a memorable stay and cannot wait to return.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alnan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McMinnville hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
3.9 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.4 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
5.2 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
8.6 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph Mattey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph Mattey House

Property: Joseph Mattey House
Address: 10221 NE Mattey Ln, McMinnville, OR 97128-8219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1892 Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in 10 secluded acres, surrounded by stately trees with vineyard to the front. Centrally located for all local wineries, restaurants, art galleries and other local attractions. Easy drive to the coast. Four rooms all with private bathrooms. Air conditioned and free WiFi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing