We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit rock bottom”
Review of Pizza Hut

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Hut
Ranked #68 of 99 Restaurants in McMinnville
Restaurant details
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hit rock bottom”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Have to admit we didn't actually eat here, we left after seeing too many red flags. First of all, it was nearly empty on a Friday evening (first red flag), but we were still forced to wait a good five minutes to be seated (we were the first in the line that eventually stacked up behind us). A waitress passed and saw us several times (she was waiting on the only seated group there). By the time they finally sat us down, there were eight people waiting.

Other red flags: Menu was very worn, had not been replaced in a long time. There was beer on the menu, but they said they didn't serve beer there. They also sat all the people who had come in after us right next to us (nearly on top of us, the tables were uncomfortably close to the booths). Why not give each of us a little space? It wasn't like the place wasn't mostly empty. And the table was sticky too.

It was just a bit too gross and everything about the place felt wrong so we got up and left and went across the street to Izzy's for the pizza/salad bar, where they (gasp!) serve beer!

Pizza Hut used to be the epitome of clean, up to date restaurants and great pizza. Oh how so very far they have fallen. Why are they still in business?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slow and poor service.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We tried pizza Hut a couple of times when we first moved here because we love Pizza Hut but couldn't believe the lousy service and the looooong wait. They would take your order and then concentrate on to go orders! The lobby was filthy. The worst one we have been to, what a shame it is in our new town :(

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenLiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“OK Pizza, Some Cheap Deals on Large Portions”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My teen son and I have been to Pizza Hut several times in the last few months--and we are big fans of the $10 box dinner. The portion is huge--plenty for two big guys--you get 8 slices of deep dish pizza, 5 bread sticks, and 10 cinnamon sticks. The two deep dish, $20 box can easily stuff a family of four. If you're looking for fine dining, there are better pizza places where you will pay more. But if you're looking for fast food and big portions for less money than McDonald's or other fast food places, there is no beating Pizza Hut's box dinners! Servers are few, but very helpful and pleasant. Waits can be a little long since this establishment focuses mostly on drive through and delivery customers. Tip to locals wanting a to-go order: place your order online at Pizza Hut's user-friendly website, and pick it up 15 minutes later with no waiting at all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcwill5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“so many other pizza choices in town”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we have been here for 4 months now. This is our first visit. We stopped for carry out. When we walked in we were ignored by both people at cash registers so we found our own menu to start looking at.
We wanted an explanation of what was in their "box" special. "ummmmm".
Everything extra seemed to be $1.50.
Wait time for carry out was 20-25 minutes. No problem. We sat in dining room. People were getting up to ask for their own checks & carry out boxes. The salad bar looked downright scary. 35 minutes later it was done.
Pizza was average Pizza Hut pizza. No problem there.
We won't go back there tho when competitor's in town or friendlier & faster.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthiepoo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Hut also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing