We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest parking lot of any motel in McMinnville”
Review of McMinnville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McMinnville Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed overnight on 7-10-2014. Other than some confusion over the name of the place - GPS insisted it was 'Safari Motor Inn' - had a good stay. Everything was clean, room was quiet, staff were all friendly. Obviously has had some recent renovation and upgrades. Huge room, monster parking lot (according to manager, the place used to be a lot larger). Breakfast about what you would expect, but there were waffles, and an espresso place across the street.

Room Tip: The whole place is set back from the highway, so pretty quiet. Rooms on the SW side might be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twowheelsReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Thank you very much for your stay with us. We are glad that your stay was comfortable with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Choosing to spend a night in McMinnville while on a wine tour of the Willamette Valley, we were quite comfortable at the Inn. It appears that the whole motel was just redone, so everything seems new and clean. Very large rooms, good beds, far enough from the highway that noise wasn't an issue, and a small frig were appreciated. It's a pretty easy walk to downtown. Breakfast was weak, but there are options in the area (e.g.Wild Wood). For the clean room, budget price, and convenient location, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Thank you for your stay with us during the summer. We are always improving on the recommendation of our guests. We will look into having more choices for breakfast. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well let's see, first, when we checked in the room smelled like it hadn't been opened in some time. The air so stale and the HVAC was off so turned it on low and it rattled badly. So turned it on high and the rattling went away but it still was not a quiet unit by any stretch of the imagination. Left to go out and about and when we returned and used the toilet, it wouldn't flush. Lifted the lid and no water was in the tank. jiggled the mechanism and water finally started flowing. after filling up, it would stay full for only 5 minutes and then had to refill. This went on constantly. Took another look and the clapper valve was something that was thrown together piecemeal and it was a total cob job. There was no way this thing would work properly. The floor was especially sticky and not good. Went to bed and there was no fitted sheet. Just a flat sheet that was tucked in. We got up the next morning to a dry toilet tank, again. Got it filled and it again, ran every 5 minutes. Climbed in the shower and had to laugh. If you were over 5 feet tall the shower was too low for you. I am 6'2" and the damn thing, cranked up as high as it would go, hit me in the center of my chest. You have to love taking a shower bent over.The water goes from 0-180 degrees in 5 seconds so beware. You will scald yourself if not careful. When you get the temp right, pray no one else uses hot water in the complex as the temp can fluctuate wildly. Went down and spoke to the Front Desk. He said there was no Maintenance that day and thinks he can fix the toilet and Housekeeping would take care of their issues. We left for the day. Came back that evening and the floors were still sticky(yuck) but looks like the crapper issues were gone. No so fast Scooter!! Used it 3 or 4 times and the same thing started all over again. Oh Joy!! The redneck clapper valve was still there and all they did was bathe the post inside the toilet with plumbers grease so it would slide easier, it didn't. Still no fitted sheet on the bed and we were going to extend our stay another night, but no way in this hole. Pay a little more and get a "real" Inn. This place is for the birds, spiders too. Had a huge one on the wall when we checked in. Made a nice splat mark on the wall that housekeeping left there for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. We are always improving through the inputs and the guest comments such as yourself. We assure that all the problems have been taken care. We would like for you to return back to us and experience a much pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The room was clean, it's convenient, the staff were very nice and for the cost of $10 my cat did fine! For the price, it served the purpose and we'll stay there again when needed. Hugh parking lot! Typical motel breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Thank you for your stay with us on your business trip. We would love to see you again and yes we are still a pet friendly hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in Oregon to attend a family member's graduation. When you search for accommodations in McMinnville Oregon, you don't get many results. When you search last minute, you are really limited! That being said, it basically came down to the McMinnville Inn and Motel 6. Based on reviews, motel 6 was out.

Front desk staff is very limited: Basically, it is one employee at any time. Check-in went quick enough however in between phone calls. There is an old Dell computer in the lobby with a printer that can be used to print travel documents or directions. There seems to always be coffee on hand. There is a free breakfast and while it is very small, it does the job. The selections include a waffle maker; 2 cereals; pastries and mini muffins; coffee; juices and Milk. One rather odd experience was during the only morning we ate breakfast there with our teenage children, the front desk clerk kept hovering around watching us. It certainly wasn't to be attentive because when the almost empty syrup bottle ran out, I had to go get one from another table. We were not loud or messy so it was quite odd and uncomfortable. He wasn't doing it when a group of adults had been eating there.

Anyway, on to the important part; the room. First of all, it was clean which is probably the biggest concern most people would have. This is definitely an older motel that has had some updating. The good part about that is that the rooms are HUGE and from an era where they didn't try to squeeze every dollar possible out of every square foot. The bad part is that some of the edges are still a little rough. There was a little bit of a musty smell which wasn't bad but an hour or two with an ozone generator might have done wonders.The room had a sink in the bathroom and outside of the bathroom and both were redone in granite and new porcelain. The bad was that there was no transition piece from the carpet to the tile which left a ragged bit of carpet and carpet tacks sticking out (They did send a nice guy over to hammer the tacks down). Also, the knob on the bathtub faucet pull lever to divert water to the shower head was an electrical contractor's wire splice twist on cap. The shower head in our tub was very low as well which is probably a result of the era in which it was plumbed.

There is a desk and large piece of furniture that houses the micro wave and large dorm fridge as well as a few drawers for clothes. The TV was a 32 LCD. There are a few lights but the room can be rather dark if you do not open the blinds.

If cleanliness is the primary concern for most travelers, then the Bed is likely the second. The bed itself was decent but on the firm side of hotel mattresses. The linen was nice and clean. The thing that killed our sleep however was the pillows. They were massive and gave about as much as a zip lock bag full of air. They were all the same unlike some hotels that will give you two different types of pillow. I don't really know who would pick these massive bean bag chair things to lay their head against however (note, I didn't say lay your head ON). A note to travelers is to bring your own pillow if at all possible, even if you have to carry it on the airplane.

The location is good. It is just at the point where McMinnville turns from modern big box store strip mall sprawl to the charming historical 3rd street area. The high school is about 2 blocks away and the biggest amenity is the best darn Taco stand I have ever eaten at just on the other end of the parking lot outside of the Tequila Grill. There is a grocery outlet across the street that is excellent for getting waters or anything you may have forgotten except a nice pillow.

As much as I would like to blast this hotel because of the poor sleep I got with the pillow, it really is probably the best choice in McMinnville outside of the Bed and Breakfasts.

Room Tip: They are all the same, just bring your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OhhWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Thank you very much for your stay and the input about the property. We have remodeled and upgraded a lot of things and still are in process of making more changes. We always try to make it better for your stay with everything we can do. We are exploring the options for different kinds of pillows at this time. We certainly would love to see you again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here during our visit to Oregon wine country. It was easily accessible. We did not want to spend a lot of money since it was just a place to sleep. The room was large and included a sofa. the bed was very comfortable. the bathroom was a nice size with plenty of hot water. The staff was very friendly. The downsides were that the lighting was very poor. we had a hard time reading in that light. (I understand from the clerk that they have ordered new lamps.) Also, the towels were very small. but it was well worth the price.

Room Tip: We had a room in the corner of the "U" and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123sismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

We appreciate your stay with us during your wine country visit. We are exploring options to have better lighting in the rooms.

We thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into my room for the first time. The rooms are very large. It seems like the room had been recently updated. The beds were comfortable with big pillows. The room was clean and at a good temperature when we checked in. The TV's are a little small but they are flat screens. I woke up and went to the continental breakfast. It had the basics, nothing extravagant but enough to get you through the morning. The staff was extremely pleasant. They try to help everyone and was more than accommodating. They would sit and have conversations with you and make you feel welcome in the town. The location was great. There are a variety of things within a short distance. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

We really appreciate your kind words toward our property and the staff.

Thank you for your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
2.2 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country
12.9 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
0.9 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMinnville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMinnville Inn

Address: 381 NE Highway 99 West, McMinnville, OR 97128 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — McMinnville Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McMinnville Inn is a family owned hotel in the heart of the wine country in Willamette valley. We are only a few minutes drive to our historic downtown where world class restaurants and tasting rooms are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your McMinnville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Mcminnville
Safari Hotel Mcminnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing