We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, quiet a clean but could really use someTLC.”
Review of McMinnville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McMinnville Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Overall it was an okay value for the price. Room was very spacious and clean but tired and bland...I didn't bring a hair dryer as one was provided. Problem is it didn't work unless I kept a finger on the on switch -that didn't leave me with a hand to style my hair!! The problem wasn't able to be resolved during my stay - how unfortunate that they couldn't provide a replacement dryer. The other problem was that the t.v. was set to come on at 2:35 am each morning....I guess I could have crawled under the desk to unplug it... The continental breakfast was very basic but convenient. They might add some fruit and a toaster and bread for toasting would have been a nice option too. Next time I visit I expect I'll try another place. This place could be so muc nicer. The rooms are large and the setting lovely. Add a picture or two, recalk the showers, splurge on slightly nicer soap and towels; maybe even a tea bag or two. And ensure the "ammenities" work. I found the ice machine but the soda machine was completely empty of every option. Having a fridge and microwave were definite assets.

Room Tip: Ask where you can find the ice machine when you check in. Bring a hair dryer because the one in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eileen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

We are very sorry about the TV and the hair dryer incident while you were staying with us. We have taken care of those issues since then. We are also looking at options for other choices for breakfast. We certainly hope that you would return back on your next trip to McMinnville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here during the IPNC wine event for several nights. The hotel has been renamed and renovated (this is the former rundown Safari Inn that people still remember so I see why they changed the name) and is very comfortable. Yes, the room layout is still the old layout but it has new furniture and is clean and comfortable. Heed the advice of others and bring pillows (fortunately we did). Seriously, they need to invest in some softer ones. Bed very comfortable and the air and wireless worked well. Refrigerator was available in the room. Price is reasonable and the desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not interesting (standard sweet rolls, waffle making, cereal in a small alcove that got congested if more than 3 people were there) but we had breakfast at our event so it didn't bother us. Similar to a Choice Hotel. We wanted exercise so we walked to town (about a mile) and to our event at Linfield College (about 1.6 miles). But for those who don't like to walk, it was easy to take your car (the parking lot at the hotel was huge).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank activeboomertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

We are very glad you had a pleasant experience while staying with us for the IPNC. We will explore the options of getting other brands for pillows. We would love to see you again for this year's IPNC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Room was on par with a Travel Lodge or Choice Hotel (Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, etc).
Free parking, wifi & breakfast.
Room was clean & spacious. Recently touched up so it was nice.
Great blackout blinds...we slept in!
16 blocks from Main Street so you have to drive into town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SocialStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Thank you very much for your stay with us at the McMinnville inn. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to McMinnville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The trouble started at check in. The clerk seemed concerned about our reservation for a week's stay in a queen nonsmoking room. She said I don't like to put people in that room (103) because it is next to the smoking rooms. She said you should have called us instead of using one of the Internet booking sites. I said I used the hotel's own Internet booking website. She couldn't find another queen nonsmoking room but said there was no one in the smoking room next door so the room should be okay. I asked if the room we were getting is a nonsmoking room and she said yes, so we headed off to it and brought in all of our stuff. After 15 minutes we decided the smell was intolerable. The room reeked of tobacco (and there was also a large discolored patch on the carpet). It absolutely should not be classified as a nonsmoking room.

We went back to the desk to report the problem. She said the management knew the room was a problem and had tried to fix the smell but hadn't been able to. We said we needed a room that was really a nonsmoking room. She checked the room inventory again and said we could only have another room if we paid for an upgrade to a king room, which would add $100 more onto our bill. She let us go check out the other room, and it smelled way better. It was now almost 10:30pm and we were so tired, so we agreed to pay more for a clean smelling room.

The terrible smelling room was the worst of our problems, but there were other issues too. The first morning in our king room we woke to discover tiny ants crawling on the furniture and floor. It seems a left over cookie had attracted them. The ants persisted for two days, but thankfully we did not see them after that.

The soaps they provided must have been old or dropped. Three of the soaps we opened were all in broken pieces.

The continental breakfast ends at 9:00am, but we didn't need the posted sign to remind us because the hovering office staff waiting to put away the muffins was plenty of notice.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here again, but if you must and you can handle dragging your bags up the stairs...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jennifer_CL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a pleasant stay with us during your visit to McMinnville. We have taken care of all the issues that you had to deal with while you were here. We certainly hope that you would return back and let us prove that your next stay will be pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed overnight on 7-10-2014. Other than some confusion over the name of the place - GPS insisted it was 'Safari Motor Inn' - had a good stay. Everything was clean, room was quiet, staff were all friendly. Obviously has had some recent renovation and upgrades. Huge room, monster parking lot (according to manager, the place used to be a lot larger). Breakfast about what you would expect, but there were waffles, and an espresso place across the street.

Room Tip: The whole place is set back from the highway, so pretty quiet. Rooms on the SW side might be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twowheelsReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Thank you very much for your stay with us. We are glad that your stay was comfortable with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Choosing to spend a night in McMinnville while on a wine tour of the Willamette Valley, we were quite comfortable at the Inn. It appears that the whole motel was just redone, so everything seems new and clean. Very large rooms, good beds, far enough from the highway that noise wasn't an issue, and a small frig were appreciated. It's a pretty easy walk to downtown. Breakfast was weak, but there are options in the area (e.g.Wild Wood). For the clean room, budget price, and convenient location, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Thank you for your stay with us during the summer. We are always improving on the recommendation of our guests. We will look into having more choices for breakfast. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well let's see, first, when we checked in the room smelled like it hadn't been opened in some time. The air so stale and the HVAC was off so turned it on low and it rattled badly. So turned it on high and the rattling went away but it still was not a quiet unit by any stretch of the imagination. Left to go out and about and when we returned and used the toilet, it wouldn't flush. Lifted the lid and no water was in the tank. jiggled the mechanism and water finally started flowing. after filling up, it would stay full for only 5 minutes and then had to refill. This went on constantly. Took another look and the clapper valve was something that was thrown together piecemeal and it was a total cob job. There was no way this thing would work properly. The floor was especially sticky and not good. Went to bed and there was no fitted sheet. Just a flat sheet that was tucked in. We got up the next morning to a dry toilet tank, again. Got it filled and it again, ran every 5 minutes. Climbed in the shower and had to laugh. If you were over 5 feet tall the shower was too low for you. I am 6'2" and the damn thing, cranked up as high as it would go, hit me in the center of my chest. You have to love taking a shower bent over.The water goes from 0-180 degrees in 5 seconds so beware. You will scald yourself if not careful. When you get the temp right, pray no one else uses hot water in the complex as the temp can fluctuate wildly. Went down and spoke to the Front Desk. He said there was no Maintenance that day and thinks he can fix the toilet and Housekeeping would take care of their issues. We left for the day. Came back that evening and the floors were still sticky(yuck) but looks like the crapper issues were gone. No so fast Scooter!! Used it 3 or 4 times and the same thing started all over again. Oh Joy!! The redneck clapper valve was still there and all they did was bathe the post inside the toilet with plumbers grease so it would slide easier, it didn't. Still no fitted sheet on the bed and we were going to extend our stay another night, but no way in this hole. Pay a little more and get a "real" Inn. This place is for the birds, spiders too. Had a huge one on the wall when we checked in. Made a nice splat mark on the wall that housekeeping left there for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimc, General Manager at McMinnville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. We are always improving through the inputs and the guest comments such as yourself. We assure that all the problems have been taken care. We would like for you to return back to us and experience a much pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
2.2 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country
12.9 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
0.9 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMinnville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMinnville Inn

Address: 381 NE Highway 99 West, McMinnville, OR 97128 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — McMinnville Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McMinnville Inn is a family owned hotel in the heart of the wine country in Willamette valley. We are only a few minutes drive to our historic downtown where world class restaurants and tasting rooms are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your McMinnville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Mcminnville
Safari Hotel Mcminnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing