We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Rest”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay here had a very professional person at the desk also quite helpful for setting us up with access to cab and quite enjoyable meal down town. We were heading home from a 101 trip on a Saturday after July 4 weekend. Room was clean and comfortable. Also had some pool time to cool down after motorcycle tour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    36
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
30
31
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is an older motel that recently underwent a complete renovation, leaving the rooms fresh and clean with new fixtures, furniture, and bath/shower. When a friend who attended college in McMinnville told me that the hotels there were all very dismal, I didn't have high hopes for the GuestHouse Vineyard Inn. But I was incredibly impressed with the refurbished hotel -- a more than sufficient place to stay that I would return to next time I'm in the area.

Positives:
+ Reasonable rates (government rate of $70/night)
+ Very clean and spacious rooms with new everything (furniture, sheets, towels, etc.)
+ Thoughtful housekeeping -- they always left a note asking "are you sure you don't want service" when we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door
+ Pet friendly ($10/night)
+ Reliable WiFi service
+ Refrigerator and microwave in all rooms
+ Ample parking

Negatives:
- Could use more (and more accessible) power outlets

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargirlssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouse M, Front Office Manager at GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest (Stargirlssc)

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review, I'm happy that you found our accommodations to be very comfortable and that you had a pleasant stay. Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

This is my first time at the GuestHouse. First impression, clean. Definitely a comfortable stay.

Carpet is soft. Fairly new microwave and fridge. Very nice lady at the front desk. She was informative and definitely showed that she cared if your stay would be good or not.
They even have a lock safe for your valuables in your room.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nella180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouse M, Front Office Manager at GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest ( Nella 180 )

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are very happy that our staff and amenities could make your stay comfortable. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Fernando Ramirez
Office Manager
503-472-4900
like us on facebook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We were travelling through the area on the long weekend - with no reservations. As you can image, there was not a lot available. We did get a room here. The room was OK, nothing special, the bed was OK and the room clean. It is a little hike from downtown so not much to do in the area. A breakfast was included but the breakfast room is tiny and when we went down in the morning there was a line up at the door.

For the price is was an OK stay but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ok for a stop over, but not much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouse M, Front Office Manager at GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Mr. Ed S.

Hi my name is Fernando Ramirez I am the Guest House Vineyard Inn office manager and I am writing to you in response to your review for your stay in February.
I'd like to start out by saying thank you for choosing to stay with us and I'm glad that we could get you a room on such a busy week although I would like to apologize for your stay being just Ok as well as the busy breakfast room. We do offer additional seating by our public computer just outside of the breakfast room, but I do apologize that we aren't able to accommodate everyone at that time.
Again I would like thank you for choosing to stay with and if you have any more questions please call us at (503)-472-4900 and we hope to see you again.

Fernando Ramirez
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 10 days. It was the only place in town available for 9 consecutive nights. Since I last stayed at this "hotel"...as close to a motel as you can get without actually having outside access doors...it has changed hands. It was a Best Western hotel and is now an individually owned and operated chain location Guest House Inn. The hotel is exactly the same as it was before except the linens have changed and there are actually nicer televisions. The staff is certainly more friendly (for the most part). The one bright spot occurred the night before I checked out. During what I suspect was a hurried change of linens, a very important item (a small stuffed animal) was gathered with the sheets and removed from the room. This plush bunny has traveled with me all over the world and I am very attached to it. Silly to some, but important to me. My sister and I tore the hotel room apart looking for it and when i could not find it I went down to the front desk. Initially the young man at the front desk said he would leave a note for the housekeeping staff. I didn't know what else to do so I went back to the room. I ended up coming back down and asking if I could search through the sheets myself. There was a shift change at that moment and the young man told me to wait just a second. He returned with my stuffed bunny in hand and a smile on his face. I was incredibly grateful for his going above and beyond and I contacted the owner of the hotel to tell him as much. So THANK YOU for that!!!

Also the WiFi worked well and I was able to use netflix on my ipad without a problem.

As for the rest of the stay. It just wasn't all that great. The place was fairly clean. The housekeeping staff always seemed very annoyed if I was in the room when they wanted to clean it, which was always before noon. They started their day on the 4th floor. I'm sorry but I don't plan my day around when housekeeping wants to clean. Even when I left a note asking for more coffee it was only left once. The pillows were HORRIBLE. Flat and lumpy all at the same time. The bed covering was a sheet with a thin cotton blanket over that and another sheet. I was often very cold and my request for another blanket was ignored. I am also annoyed that the staff was in such a hurry that my bunny was gathered up with the sheets. He was right on top of the bed. Couldn't miss him. Just another instance of not paying enough attention.

The walls in this hotel are VERY thin. You can hear your neighbors television and conversations and anything else that might be going on. Not very restful.

The "free" breakfast was a JOKE. It was supposed to be from 6am to 10am. The Juice and milk dispensers were always EMPTY by the time I got down there around 8:30. There was a waffle maker and batter available but everything else was BARE BONES. There were three pieces of bread total. Two white and one wheat. Two little muffins left and one pastry. No bagels that there was a label for. One banana that was brown and bruised. The coffee dispenser was always empty. I suppose I can understand being there right at 6am when breakfast starts if I want a variety of choices but I guess I always assumed that refilling the food stations as they emptied was part of what I was paying for. These rooms aren't bargain basement cheap. The oddest thing was that there was a man there who I finally decided must be an owner. He was going in and out of the staff only door. He stood over me as I made a piece of toast for myself and my sister. He literally stood inches from me watching me like a hawk. It was the strangest thing. I finally asked if I could help him with something. He said nothing and went back through the office door. I then heard someone in the office telling him to stay out of the breakfast room until it was 10 o'clock. So was he watching us b/c he wanted to keep what was left and resented our being there? It was weird and uncomfortable. Don't be in the hospitality business if you don't know the meaning of the word. Being a cheapskate and making guests feel uncomfortable while they are eating food that is part of the room charge is inappropriate.

Overall I was not impressed with my stay here. My husband and I vowed our last stay at this place was truly our last. I had no choice on this trip and I hoped that the change over would make things better. It did not. The Comfort Inn is still my hotel of choice when staying in Mac. I most likely won't be back to the Guest House Inn.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel if you want a good room. I recommend The Comfort Inn and Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CampbellScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

This is a very comfortable and clean hotel. Loved the room and public area. My only complaint was very thin walls, floor and ceiling. Next door room came in at 2:30am and I was awake for an hour as they settled in. They were not especially loud, just normal arrival activity. Then awakened at 5am with someone tapping on the door across the hall. Again, the guest was not loud or obnoxious, just thin walls.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank lyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouse M, Front Office Manager at GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Lyn V.

Hi my name is Fernando Ramirez I am the office manager at the guest house vineyard inn and I am writing in response to your review for your stay in January.
Thank you for your good review although I am very sorry that you were able to hear other guests regarding the noise through the walls we do apologize and hope this doesn't affect your choice to stay with us in the future.
Have a great summer and thank you for choosing to stay with and if you have any more questions please call us (503)-472-4900

Thanks
Fernando Ramirez
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times over the years, most recently in December 2012. Let me begin by saying that the change from Best Western to something else has changed nothing about the experience of staying at the Vineyard Inn. It was a clean, pleasant place before, and it still is! The beds are comfortable, the rooms have small refrigerators as well as a coffee machine and microwave, and the people who work there are both friendly and competent. For the price, there isn't a better place to stay in McMinnville!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBostonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouse M, Front Office Manager at GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Hi my name is Fernando Ramirez and I am the office manager for the guest house vineyard inn in McMinnville, Oregon and I am writing to you in response to the review you wrote in January.
I am very glad to see by your review that you had a very good stay and the staff and I thank you very much for choosing to stay with us when you travel to McMinnville we very much appreciate your business and will do our best to keep guest like you and future guest as happy with their stay as much as you were.

Thank you and if you have any questions please call at (503)-472-4900 or find us on Facebook.

Fernando Ramirez
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
2.2 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 6 in McMinnville
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
318 reviews
14.5 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 McMinnville
Motel 6 McMinnville
#6 of 6 in McMinnville
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville

Property: GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Address: 2035 South Highway 99 West, McMinnville, OR 97128 (Formerly Vineyard Inn Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently under renovations. Public areas expected to be done by the end of September 2017 and all rooms expected to be done by the end of November 2017. We look forward to the changes and hope you do too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mcminnville
Mcminnville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing