We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dated”
Review of Steiger Haus

Steiger Haus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMinnville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steiger Haus
Ranked #7 of 8 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“dated”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I actually left and canceled my stay once I saw how dated it was. Think grandma's- 1970's. The host was pleasant and allowed me to cancel. I am thankful for that. It was inexpensive, so I did not expect great things but....just sayin....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, ORegon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed for one night and our only mistake was not staying two or more. This B & B is within walking distance of downtown but you feel like you are in the forest. When I opened our door to our deck there was a huge doe just lying in the grass like she was planted there. The room we chose was the Morning Star suite and it was perfect. Little kitchenette, great sitting room, huge bathroom with a jetted tub and toiletries. Just very cozy and the deck access was great. Breakfast was delicious and the conversation with other guests was pleasant and comfortable. Susan is so warm and welcoming. Look no further, just book it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandria54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We found Susan and Dale, the owners of Steiger Haus to be wonderful hosts, full of information about local restaurants, wineries and activities. Our room was spacious and had a deck overlooking a very pleasant garden. Breakfast was outstanding. We had been told by friends that Susan was a lady who “loved to cook.” They were right. She went out of her way to provide a delicious gourmet breakfast every morning. Steiger Haus is walking distance from downtown McMinnville which is a delightful place to walk and browse the shops. Nearby, Linfield College, provided a pleasant campus for a pleasant morning walk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acnye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Enjoyed a brief stay at this B&B, staying in the rooftop room. The owner was lovely and very nice about us turning up rather late - couldn't tear ourselves away from the outlets at Woodburn. Small room but enough for us for 1 night. About 10 minutes walk from town.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2004

Spent a very worthwhile and relaxing night here last summer. The Steiger Haus has a good location as a base for visiting the various wineries around the area and a beautiful backyard area for enjoying a bottle afterwards. Excellent food and hospitality. We stayed in a basement room, which was spacious, if just a tad dated in its decor (a nitpick that keeps me from giving it 5 stars).

I would definitely go back here and recommend it unhesitatingly.

Helpful?
7 Thank svicious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 October 2003

Steiger Haus is a beautiful Inn on a wonderfully landscaped property near downtown McMinnville. It is a short walk to all downtown locations. It is also withing walking distance of Linfield College.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McMinnville hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
0.4 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.0 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.3 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
3rd Street Flats
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 1 in McMinnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steiger Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steiger Haus

Property: Steiger Haus
Address: 360 SE Wilson St, McMinnville, OR 97128-6441
Region: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable wine country inn located walking distance from Linfield College & McMinnville's historic downtown shopping dining & winery district. A relaxing and affordable place to unwind on the deck or the spacious garden. A two course scratch made breakfast begins your morning featuring local meats & produce. An honor bar with local wines is also available during your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing