We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good American business!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Inn Medford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shilo Inn Medford
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good American business!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Great value- and it might be on the aged side , but it was clean.! Nice staff , and what I appreciated was to hear the employees say" Merry Christmas" , served breakfast until 10:00 , had fox news on , gives military veterans a discount and serves Seattle best Coffee!
However I would say it would be better if they went to the disposable cups instead of plastic wrap over cups and glasses .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    23
    27
    23
See reviews for
36
33
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Reserved a 2-queen room at this hotel for Thanksgiving (11/22/12) and the night after. Right away when we got there we noticed the smell of must and marijuana in the halls. There is an "elevator" going up to the rooms, but it was very rickety and creaked a lot, kind of scary. We got to our room and noticed how dark and unclean it seemed. The beds were Rick hard, and as I checked for a mattress pad/cover and clean bedding--without bedbugs--there was only a fuzzy blanket somewhat covering the mattress, and it was stained with a yellow-brownish something. I was immediately grossed out. When I used the bathroom, I noticed hairs in and on top of the bathtub. Another huge minus. The furniture was very dingy and old, the doors were scratched up and had a hard time shutting them. We weren't going to complain until the morning, we would just sleep in the bed that WASN'T stained. We were exhausted from traveling 5 hours on hardly any sleep and then a long day of cooking and family time. Thank goodness our kid did not stay with us as planned or we definitely would have left sooner. So we lay down to try to get a few hours shut eye, but I was still watching tv and had to use the bathroom. I walked in and immediately noticed a small two tone brown bug on the molding by the floor. I looked closer and recognized it instantly--it was a COCKROACH. It moved, but didn't run. I didn't kill it because I immediately went down to the office and told the front desk lady what was going on. She came up and I showed her all the issues, including the bug, and she offered to move us to the room next door. I went in and inspected that one, lo and behold the sheets were dirty in that one too! She said the bathroom was fine and we were welcome to use it if we didn't want to move from our current room, as we weren't about to use the bathroom there. She was NOT apologeticand said she couldn't do anything until the manager got there in the morning. She basically didn't seem to give a hoot that we were pissed about a filthy room! We slept in the bed that seemed to be "clean", on top of all the sheets and under just the top blanket. At 7:30 the next morning, my boyfriend went to the front desk and complained. He came back saying they said nothing, no apology and that I would have to go down for any refund since I signed for the room. So we packed up and headed down, the front desk girl seemed somewhat friendly, said simply "sorry about that" and gave us a full refund. We are now at the holiday inn express and they checked us in to a room right away, at 8am, when we explained we had nowhere to stay. A clean, comfortable room at that. Bottom line--DO NOT STAY at Shilo inn Medford. EVER. Spend $20-30 more and stay somewhere that doesn't have cockroaches and dirty facilities and bedding. It was disgusting and we will never stay at a shilo again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Medford, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear MichelleJ8,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our hotel. I am deeply sorry to hear about the events from your recent stay. Due to your comments a retraining for all departments and employees will be held to ensure that we strive for the cornerstone foundation of Shilo Inns - Friendliness and Cleanliness. We hope that if you are in Medford again, you'll give us another chance to show you the "Affordable Excellence" we are proud to call Shilo hospitality.

Sincerely,

Ashley Keeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medford hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

I don't live in a palace but I have to say I was shocked at our very tiny room. It was smaller than the smallest bedroom in my own home. Still use keys to get in the room, could hear noise going on nearby. Older, small TV....very shabby to say the least. Only good thing was they had an elevator. Room was claustrophobic. Breakfast, better off skipping that and going to Elmer's. No recliner or sofa in this room. Poor experience overall.


Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnemucca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

After all the searching for a reasonably priced place to stay we settled on The Shilo Inn mostly because of a previious review reagarding their good Continental Breakfast. We got here rather late and the front desk staff was cheerful even though I probably wasn't after a long day in the car. Even though this is an older property it s kept very clean and the rooms were more than adequat with comfortable beds. They tried to anticipate our needs and provided us with extra towels for the girls (as girls alway seem to need them).

We had a small boat in tow and they suggested a better place to park where they would be able to watch it from the front desk which gave us peace of mind and a better nights sleep. The morning breakfast was very good. We made on own fresh waffles, fresh fruit, milk, juice, and yogurt. Yes we are pigs! But full ones so the 7 year old won't be whining for food by the time we get in the car to leave. Their checkout is at noon which is covenient for those wanting to do a little shoppiing before traveling on. A huge Fred Meyer is very close by.

The staff, including the manager, was very helpful in giving us ideas of things to do and see while we were in the area.

Overall I was very pleased with our stay and will most likely return on our way back south.

Room Tip: We could have stayed somewhere for less but a good meal to get you on your way is worth the few extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Medford, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Jerry A,

I am so glad that we were able to host your family here at the Medford Shilo Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us! We welcome you back anytime!

Thank you,


Lorrie Bartley
General Manager
Shilo Inns - Medford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My stay at Shilo Inn/Medford was great. The room was clean and the staff was very cordial and helpful. The location is perfect, especially since I was on a long trip from California back to Washington. This is the second time I've stayed st this property, and both of my visits were great. And who.can beat the price with free breakfast included!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My son had to be at the hospital in medford at 9 am for a operation on the 24th of Dec. 2011. we live 80 miles away in snow country so we got 2 rooms at the shilo inn so we would be at the hospitol on time. at 2:50 am the fire alarm went off, we had to go outside in the parking lot. after about 12 mins. we went back inside and just got back to sleep when the alarm went off again. we found out that there was no fire, but a water leak in the laundry and the panic button was hit instead of calling a plumber. I have called the main office to talk to Ingrid to see if we could at least be comped for our bad stay, but low and behold, Ingrid will never answer. We will never again stay at a shilo inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We went to Medford for a softball tournament in October. A mom from our team chose this hotel for our team. This Shilo Inn is an okay place to stay if you aren't going to be in your room much. Our room itself wasn't too bad (except for the wrinkled flat sheet where a fitted sheet should be), but the rest of the property was old and run down. The extremely small and old elevator was a little frightening to ride in. The decor is old and outdated. The staff was friendly for the most part, but one of the ladies working at the desk reprimanded me for using the ice water to fill a water bottle for my daughter, which was rude. The only reason I used it was because the ice machine on our floor was out of order. The price was adequate for the property, but I'd rather pay another $30 for a much nicer room. There's just too many places to choose from to settle for this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softballmom72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medford hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Medford Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#15 of 35 in Medford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South
Comfort Inn South
#17 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#10 of 35 in Medford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Medford

Property: Shilo Inn Medford
Address: 2111 Biddle Rd, Medford, OR 97504
Region: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Medford 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful southern Oregon off Interstate 5 at Exit 30 is the 48 room, Shilo Inn. Medford enjoys a desirable climate year-round and the Rogue River, parks and theaters are nearby with lots of activities and planned adventures just waiting for guests of the Shilo Inn - Medford. Children 12 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shilo Inn Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing