We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Lodge on the Wild & Scenic Rogue River”
Review of Paradise Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise Lodge
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stay at Paradise Lodge a few times every summer during our commercial rafting season on the Wild & Scenic Rogue River. Most of the lodge was remodeled this past winter and the whole place looks great. Rooms are comfortable and clean, the food is delicious, and the deck offers a great place to relax after a day on the river. Looking forward to many more nights at Paradise Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillVolpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived via Jerry's Rogue Jet Boats, which was a blast! Ok, I haven't noticed anyone mention this in previous reviews, so I'll mention that there is a bit of a walk from the boat up the hill to the lodge when the river is at a low level as it was when we went just this past weekend. Fortunately, there are grab bars so you can pull yourself along...lol As you pull up on the boat, they always do a flip around on the boat. I think it might be to alert the staff that they are there and if anyone is going to be getting dropped off, send the kid down so he can pick up your small suitcase. Oh ya, pack light, ya'll. You won't need much...lol So, we arrived and were taken to our room which was on the far side of the property. It's a gorgeous, bucolic property, seems to go on forever. At dusk the deer come out and munch on the grass. They're not afraid of us, which is very cool. We kept our windows open all night and enjoyed it immensely. Oh, a word to the wise, don't lock your door and leave. They don't give you a key cuz they don't expect you to lock your doors..we found out. LOL We thought we had lost the key or the nice kid who brought our stuff to our room had forgot to give it to us. So, we headed back for lunch at 1 and mentioned it to the other kid behind the counter and he said no one locks their doors. I said, "Oh gosh, we live in the big city, I don't go to the laundry room without locking my door!" LOL they hooked us up tho, and found a key, but just be forewarned...the food is great, served buffet style. We plated up and sat outside, it was just gorgeous weather. Most of the other folks on the trip were staying there after rafting down the river with Noah's Rafting Trips. It was really fun chatting with all the friendly people. One of the owners happened to be there that weekend and we had a nice conversation with her as well. All in all, I'd go back in a heartbeat. Know that you will not have any cell service there, and I was really OK with that..go and enjoy yourself. Bring a book...it''s VERY dark at night, no ambient light, so bring a flashlight for finding your way back to your room or else they'll lend you one, cuz that's how they roll. They do have solar powered, I believe, little street lamps to guide you along, but do bring a flashlight. Oh, and leave your hair dryer and curling iron at home, can't use it, it'll use too much electricity for their generator....

Room Tip: The newer rooms are at the rear of the property, which is where we were housed. I think they are slo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent 3 days at the Paradise Lodge and had a excellent time. We arrived by Jerry's Rogue Jet boat, which I highly recommend. Our room was large with 5 beds and a deck with a view of the Rouge river. The room was comfortable and clean. We also had 5 deer that hung out in the meadow outside our room and slept under our cabin at night - the kids loved that. The food was extremely good and plentiful. We spent our days hiking to a small beach and skipping rocks and swimming. The lack of cell reception and electronics was the best part. Our family talked, played games and reconnected. The staff was friendly, accommodating and capable. We enjoyed watching how they received their food and supplies by boat since there are no roads to the property. There was no lack of wild life, we saw bears, deers, snakes and many bald eagles while at Paradise Lodge. We were all sad to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Location couldnt be better. The room, meh... We had the dog friendly room, so not expecting too much. BUT... the smell of rat, mouse bat feces was overwhelming. The food was fine. Not spectacular. I am vegetarian, noted that 3 times on reservation process. So when the family style meal came, it meant I didnt eat the meat (which my wife said was on the dry side). Still. Nice location. Oh, the staff was cussing like sailors in the kitchen and would help you get another beer or whatever you asked for, but acted totally put out about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room off of the main lodge maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is our second stay at the Paradise Lodge. Since our last time, it appears they have done some upgrading. Our large knotty pine room had a fireplace, easy chair, two beds, and nice bathroom. There is new wood flooring on the enormous deck at the lodge which overlooks the Rogue River. The food was excellent. All-in-all, a very nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

If you ever want to unplug and just get some good family time away from the iPods, iPads, iPhones or whatever else your kids can't seem to unplug them selves from, I'd highly recommend taking a long weekend to Paradise Lodge on the Lower Rogue River. They offer 4 different ways to get there and we chose the jet boat ride. The driver was VERY knowledgable and told us all about the historical facts on the way there. Our kids were amazed and out enjoying real life as apposed to virtual life (like Mind Craft). Once we got to the lodge they escorted us to our rooms which were clean and homey. They have a brad new deck which looks wonderful. We then got oriented with the place and found out what was on the menu for dinner. They have AMAZING family style meals which are absolutely delicious and healthy! All of their employees were wonderfully helpful. The cook came out and asked how the food was and talk to us like he was family. Their staff even took us on a bonus boat ride to another property across the river. The next day our kids went out exploring the different trails, cows, trees and creeks. What an experience! Meanwhile my wife and I got to just enjoy some time together on their wonderful tree swing and talk about things we haven't talk about in a while (quality time). I could go on but the point is, I would not hesitate to schedule another trip there every summer. The prices are very reasonable (see http://www.paradise-lodge.com/lower-rogue-wild-and-scenic-lodge/index.php) for their pricing — but really... how can you put a price on getting some good quality time with your family and create lasting memories?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The location of the lodge couldn't be better. We expected rustic, but we didn't expect neglected. It appeared the lodge, deck, and many of the buidlings were in disrepair. No mirror in the bathroom, lights seemingly randomly located in rooms, and the deck was in need of complete replacement (someone actually stepped through a deck board - and we noticed many piece-meal board replacements). One of the staff members was courteous and very helpful (a young woman). The other three made us feel quite unwelcome - one bad-mouthed other guests in our presence. They didn't even give us a quick "here's what we have and where things are" upon arriving. The food was OK, but not great. For $160 per night per person, we would not go back. It's too bad, because it is a gorgeous setting with the potential to be top-notch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodEatsnStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
9.9 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#7 of 35 in Medford
263 reviews
11.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
15.1 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brookside Inn & Suites White City
15.0 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
419 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sovana Inn
Sovana Inn
#1 of 5 in Medford
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge

Address: mile 58 on the Rogue River, Medford, OR 97504
Region: United States > Oregon > Medford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Medford
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing