We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil experience with top of the line service!”
Review of Paradise Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise Lodge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil experience with top of the line service!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Awesome experience with this excellent resort! We stayed in the "Generals Quarters" and loved being unplugged for our all to short two-night stay. Grounds are breathtaking! Staff is professional, every one of the six person staff is a vestibule of knowledge about this historical resort, the Rogue River, tourist attractions in addition to being accommodating and Cruise-ship like attitude to their guests. Nothing was above or below asking them. Each staff member was pleasant and happy to answer needs quickly. Rooms were spotless and pristine! Food was amazing! I'm a vegetarian and entrees were served with an abundance of super side salads, gourmet side dishes, breads and delightful desserts guests were encouraged to sit family style and each party had name plates. Beautiful family times with guitar music for those who brave imitating Jimmy Buffet, Santana or Joe Satriani. Board games frisbee golf, volleyball and quiet conversations with a generous glass of wine off the wrap around and spacious deck! Definitely a beautiful spot to revisit. Read an entire write up in Weddinglinks and Beautiful events

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What an awesome and tranquil place to be in the Rogue River.
Sure is a missed opportunity by those employed there and the owners.
Customer service is non-existent and one is constantly reminded by the staff that they have no roads for supplies. At one moment there is no ice-cream and then the next there is, LOL.
The signage clearly states "no outside alcohol" (don't bring your own, yet I no one in my group was ever offered a beverage of any type, so unfriendly.
At one point we joked around with one staff person how we were always in the way, and she said we were, LOL.
Furthermore, I couldn't trust the cooked meals there, as there are cats everywhere, hopping around the miscellaneous garbage and supplies...just doesn't seem sanitary and I'm a pet person.
Just seems totally messed up, kind of a dump, and in need of a Hotel Hell episode with Gordon Ramsay.

Room Tip: New rooms across the field are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank plandoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy S, Owner at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I'm so sorry to have read about your experience at our Lodge! We constantly get great feedback from our guests. My staff and I want to make every effort to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience and return to the beauty of this tranquil place on the lower Rogue River.

Beverages are always available to guests. We offer free coffee and lemonade. Soft drinks and bar drinks are readily available at the bar that is tended all day and evening. The state won't allow our guests to bring in "hard" liquor into the Lodge proper, but guests can always bring their own wine into the Lodge with no corkage fee. The signage is a state requirement when you sell hard liquor. Our cooks also make every effort to have a clean kitchen and the best of food available to our guests.

It sounds like you were a walk-in guest and I'd like to offer you an opportunity to visit with us again and I'll ensure that you have the best of customer service available. Please contact me (Cathy Schleining) at 541-779-8390 to schedule your reservation. Ice cream is on me. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Paradise Lodge is a wonderful jet boat ride away from Gold Beach and arrives about noon time. Well worth a visit! You'll be happy to get off the jet boat plus have a comfortable room and good family style meals. We found it to be a nice rustic lodge with good accommodations. Please be aware - there is no TV, no hair dryers or curling irons allowed, no air conditioning, some rooms have no fans but all rooms have heat. Our hot summer day turned into a very cool summer evening - pulling the blankets over the bed. We had rooms in the new garden house and they are lovely and better than adequate. This is a remote river location and they run the generator during specific hours so expect to turn in by 10PM. The generator capacity limits the power consumption. Very comfortable beds, good showers. Best part was the river deck and views. If you get a river front room - you can sleep listening to the river rapids. Very soothing and tranquil. We loved the garden house - away from the river but newer with a wooded setting. Activities for us during our overnight stay was walking to Paradise Creek to take a dip in the cold water pond complete with many salamanders and crawfish. Great cool down for a hot day. Others went to the river swimming hole to take a dip in the warmer Rogue River and raved about it. Good bar for adult beverages and lemonade and water with ice bucket always available. We brought in our own wine and they graciously uncorked it for us for our dinner. We hiked to Jackson Creek and enjoyed reading about the history of the lodge and the famous guests (Laura Bush!). The men hiked to Blossom Bar to watch the rafters challenge the class 4 rapids. Food was perfect for the setting and satisfied everyone with quality and quantity. Breakfast was a feast - hope for French toast! We found Bill to be especially gracious and welcoming. Some rafters came in to spend their last night on the river and they were oh, so thrilled to be here! Fun chatting them up and grateful we didn't have to take a raft to enjoy the lovely Paradise Lodge. We'll be back this fall. Please note: room rates include meals.

Room Tip: Choose river front to hear the water or the garden house for new, modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJaneSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Family of 6 got 3 rooms next to eachother. Good food and Good place to spend the night. Clean and in good condition. Gorgeous views of the Rogue and Paradise Creek was cute too. Saw a few bears across the river. Overall good experience at Paradise Lodge.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We hiked the Rogue and stayed here for night three. It was the most expensive and I wish we would have just hiked on further to the next. Great hammock and grounds but staff acted like we were interrupting their vacations for any questions or needs and they took our plates so fast from dinner and breakfast without even asking if we were done. Also our boxed lunches were nothing more than a sandwich and an apple for an additional $18 each where the others included this. Like I said great stop but is too commercialized and they don't seem to care about their customers like the others did.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily4768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stay at Paradise Lodge a few times every summer during our commercial rafting season on the Wild & Scenic Rogue River. Most of the lodge was remodeled this past winter and the whole place looks great. Rooms are comfortable and clean, the food is delicious, and the deck offers a great place to relax after a day on the river. Looking forward to many more nights at Paradise Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillVolpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived via Jerry's Rogue Jet Boats, which was a blast! Ok, I haven't noticed anyone mention this in previous reviews, so I'll mention that there is a bit of a walk from the boat up the hill to the lodge when the river is at a low level as it was when we went just this past weekend. Fortunately, there are grab bars so you can pull yourself along...lol As you pull up on the boat, they always do a flip around on the boat. I think it might be to alert the staff that they are there and if anyone is going to be getting dropped off, send the kid down so he can pick up your small suitcase. Oh ya, pack light, ya'll. You won't need much...lol So, we arrived and were taken to our room which was on the far side of the property. It's a gorgeous, bucolic property, seems to go on forever. At dusk the deer come out and munch on the grass. They're not afraid of us, which is very cool. We kept our windows open all night and enjoyed it immensely. Oh, a word to the wise, don't lock your door and leave. They don't give you a key cuz they don't expect you to lock your doors..we found out. LOL We thought we had lost the key or the nice kid who brought our stuff to our room had forgot to give it to us. So, we headed back for lunch at 1 and mentioned it to the other kid behind the counter and he said no one locks their doors. I said, "Oh gosh, we live in the big city, I don't go to the laundry room without locking my door!" LOL they hooked us up tho, and found a key, but just be forewarned...the food is great, served buffet style. We plated up and sat outside, it was just gorgeous weather. Most of the other folks on the trip were staying there after rafting down the river with Noah's Rafting Trips. It was really fun chatting with all the friendly people. One of the owners happened to be there that weekend and we had a nice conversation with her as well. All in all, I'd go back in a heartbeat. Know that you will not have any cell service there, and I was really OK with that..go and enjoy yourself. Bring a book...it''s VERY dark at night, no ambient light, so bring a flashlight for finding your way back to your room or else they'll lend you one, cuz that's how they roll. They do have solar powered, I believe, little street lamps to guide you along, but do bring a flashlight. Oh, and leave your hair dryer and curling iron at home, can't use it, it'll use too much electricity for their generator....

Room Tip: The newer rooms are at the rear of the property, which is where we were housed. I think they are slo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
9.9 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
11.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
11.3 mi away
Best Western Horizon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Waverly Cottage
Waverly Cottage
#3 of 5 in Medford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
10.2 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Medford
Rodeway Inn Medford
#1 of 35 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge

Property: Paradise Lodge
Address: mile 58 on the Rogue River, Medford, OR 97504
Region: United States > Oregon > Medford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Medford
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing