We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just appetizers”

Porters - Dining at the Depot
Reserve with OpenTable
Porters - Dining at the Depot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 314 Restaurants in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Beautifully restored 1910 National Historic Landmark Train Station. Seating for several hundred, romantic outdoor dining and stunning craftsman style full bar. Happy Hour food specials. Dinner Entrees starting at $10.
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was a "girls' afternoon get-together" for us. We sat on the patio and had appetizers and beverages. My appetizer was stuffed potato skins which doesn't look like a lot of food when she brought it, but it was plenty by the time I polished off the second one. The service was good; waitress polite and punctual and perhaps that came with the fact we were "early birds." (We were out of there by 5:30PM.) Maybe the trick for such a busy restaurant is simply to go early.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CATHERINE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed the experience. Hope to have you back soon.

Your friends at Porters Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 341 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a group of eight which gets you an automatic 18% tip added to your bill. This was a family dinner or I would have passed on the restaurant as auto tips almost always means poor service. The service was indeed poor at best as was the food. Getting drinks was almost impossible. My meal was wrong and the only think edible on the plate was the main course. The appetizers and the soup were good. The restaurant its self is a beautiful building. If you must go have wine or beer and an appetizer and call it good the dinner is not worth having at half of the $90.00 me and my wife spent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KerryReich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Porters is in a converted rail station; the waiting area is an elegant, white-linen eating area while an adjacent room is a cozy, wood-paneled room and outside, a magical patio to dine under forsythia and grape vines.

We have enjoyed superb Ahi tuna and also prime rib in the dining room but our favorite thing is to come for Happy Hour (4-6 and after 9 pm-to close daily and all day Sunday), also called "Get Giddy for Three Fiddy." A minimum drink purchase enables ordering from a variety of plates all priced at $3.50. The french fries are awesome! The veggie and hummus plate a healthy and tasty alternative. The best buy is the burger and Porters does it the way you order. Caesar salads, pizzettes, chicken satay, and other treats round out the Happy Hour menu, but you can also order off the regular dinner menu. One stand out is the fried calamari - oh so good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maimeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for those nice compliments. We hope to have you back soon.

Your friends at Porters Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice outside patio, great old time railroad theme inside. Can be noisy in there. Lounge has
delicious inexpensive small plates late afternoon-early evening. Only place around here that has wine flights. You can order any wine that is served by the glass in red ink on the wine list, and get
(maybe 3 oz) of each. Three or four is great with dinner. Great way to try different wines. The
dinners are excellent, and there are choices in every category.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the experience.

Your friends at Porters Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Food and service are always professional and tasty. I would recommend eating out if you are looking for a classic steak dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RMD083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Come see us again soon.

Your friends at Porters Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porters - Dining at the Depot also viewed

 

Been to Porters - Dining at the Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing