We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”

Porters - Dining at the Depot
Ranked #7 of 298 Restaurants in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beautifully restored 1910 National Historic Landmark Train Station. Seating for several hundred, romantic outdoor dining and stunning craftsman style full bar. Happy Hour food specials. Dinner Entrees starting at $10.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Went two days in a row. Great food. Sat a bar and enjoyed the atmosphere. Great steaks. Brought a friend back the second time.

Helpful?
Thank Katmandu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for being here.

Your friends at Porters Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    152
    52
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Historic setting”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A nice use of an old building. I liked the idea of the art competition; a great way to involve the community. Friendly staff & nice food

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for your review. See you soon.

Your friends at Porters Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medford, oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Re-Visit Makes Porter's Our Newest Favorite”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

For an unknown reason, we just didn't think of Porter's for dinner too much...so, on a delightful summer Saturday evening we went again---after months away. No reservation and asked to eat on the patio. Heavenly setting in the shade, saw some neighbors, 'snappy' waiter, crisp wine and dinner we raved about. I had the Poke appetizer and hungered for more---superb. Wife had a curry stuffed pepper--which smelled and tasted great. I had a small steak, rice, and veggies---melt in my mouth. We finished with a shared bread pudding which had me damn near licking the plate. The attentive owner stopped by and chatted. All in all, we now have a new FAVORITE and will be back far more often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank medfordcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for that wonderful review. We'll look forward to having you back soon and often.


Your friends at Porters Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh, the steak!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fantastic experience. Every time we travel we look for a nice restaurant to see if we can have one really nice meal in the town we are in. I have never been so satisfied. Perfectly cooked and one of the best steaks I've ever eaten (and I have eaten at several famous steakhouses). Fantastic local wines too. We didn't need a reservation on a weeknight but on a weekend I bet you would. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mpenni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks so much. Hope to see you again soon.

Your friends at Porters Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We went to Porters at the suggestion of our hotel clerk. Arrived early. Waited. Waited. (Although there no other people waiting.)Finally the hostess tells us if we do not have reservations it will be about another hour wait or we could go to the bar. We go to the bar however when walking through the place you see several empty tables. Makes no sense that we could not be seated as there are no other customers waiting. We promptly left and went some place that wanted our business.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortersMedfordOR, Manager at Porters - Dining at the Depot, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
So sorry to hear about your experience. It is our sincere hope that all our guests leave satisfied and wanting to return often. In order to insure a quality guest experience we do not want our seating capacity to exceed the production capacity of our kitchen. We close sections of seating seasonally in order to provide the quality of service our guests expect and deserve. During the warmer months our patio is open adding an additional 120 seats. During that time we close a portion of the interior dining room eliminating approximately 40 seats. This is why the section leading into the bar was empty on the evening of your visit. Sorry for the confusion.

Your friends at Porters Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porters - Dining at the Depot also viewed

 
 

Been to Porters - Dining at the Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing